Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

And why can't we live on a boat? Bloody nanny state.

You can.

4335f744fd4a5005488145e28a504a22

https://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/n...m/news-story/8167a30b9ab96f44ac6540485a2cd5bf

Yeah of course people will always want to live close to the action (Manuka / Kingston etc, etc), but really for the outer suburbs the cost for land is madness considering there is open land everywhere!!

So is Canberra incomes higher because of the stupid land prices ?

I do know plenty of PS are at higher levels there then they would be any where else in Aust.

Additionally does the land prices limit the supply of workers able to move there thus increasing incomes ?

It's the public service salaries and levels that drive the high wages without doubt. In some cases the wage differences are understandable, because people work in policy departments and are often professionals. In other cases it's a joke. A friend of my other half's is a nice lady, but a career public servant, and has no idea how good her working conditions are given her ability and quals. A mate of mine is a CFO in a small department....you should see the trouble he had getting rid of a staff member who was not capable of doing any part of her job.

We should be clear about the land release stuff....this happens in every state....just more so in the ACT because the government has alternate sources of income to that from rates/land tax.

Kornstar

It's the public service salaries and levels that drive the high wages without doubt. In some cases the wage differences are understandable, because people work in policy departments and are often professionals. In other cases it's a joke. A friend of my other half's is a nice lady, but a career public servant, and has no idea how good her working conditions are given her ability and quals. A mate of mine is a CFO in a small department....you should see the trouble he had getting rid of a staff member who was not capable of doing any part of her job.

We should be clear about the land release stuff....this happens in every state....just more so in the ACT because the government has alternate sources of income to that from rates/land tax.

There are about 60 (not an exaggeration) people who need to be performance managed out of the government agency i work for because a previous manager had palmed off the recruitment to someone not qualified so they asked people who already worked there if they knew any neighbours or relatives who wanted a job with no experience necessary.

Of course experience is essential for the roles so they are now stuck with 60 people who they can't get rid of because it is a 9 month process that has to be completed to near perfection to stick........so they just suck it up.

The manager who palmed it off has been promoted twice since then, even with her superiors knowledge of her f**k up.

For the record i work in the IT section that supports the area and have nothing to do with the manager or those jobs, i just happen to be the expert who is directly affected by the 60 useless staff as i am continually engaged to find a solution to their issue and automate processes so they can't stuff them up.

TLDR - get a government job because they accept absolute mediocrity and it is near impossible to get fired.........

South Steyne ferry listed for sale at $2.95m

I've seen an episode on Grand Designs where people renovated and lived on their boat in Northern England.
I reckon this old lady could make the trip.
No rent needed then, and no need for any Bitcoin.
And if I sell my little boat I'll only need $2.94M! Nearly there!!

I've seen a couple of those shows with canal boats. They look pretty cool but obviously quite narrow.

Wow. How many f**kin merkins catch the train at 12:30am .... f**k me. You should all be home in bed

Took the Mrs to see Muriel's Wedding The Musical last night.

Was a lot of fun TBH.

Straya.