Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

I need some advice, ladies and gents.

My internet has been down since a week before Christmas.

My ISP sent a technician, and that technician said I needed to call and electrician to fix the cables.

I called the electrician, and they tested all cables - the cables are ok.

Rang the ISP again, they sent another technician, and this technician said it was a Telstra fault (but I had to show them the report from the electrician to prove it).

My ISP said they cannot make any promises, because it's a Telstra issue, but nothing has been done.

I set both Telstra and my ISP a deadline to get it fixed today by 5pm, or I am making an official complaint with the ombudsman. I received no response.

My question is - I'm not a Telstra customer. Can I call hem directly to get the merkins to fix the MDF?

Could a sparky fox the MDF? I've been told it's a Telstra issue, so only Telstra can fix it, but Telstra are f**ked.
What does the I stand for?

My ISP sent a technician, and that technician said I needed to call and electrician to fix the cables.

Rang the ISP again, they sent another technician, and this technician said it was a Telstra fault (but I had to show them the report from the electrician to prove it).

My ISP said they cannot make any promises, because it's a Telstra issue, but nothing has been done.

I set both Telstra and my ISP a deadline to get it fixed today by 5pm, or I am making an official complaint with the ombudsman. I received no response.

My question is - I'm not a Telstra customer. Can I call hem directly to get the merkins to fix the MDF?

Could a sparky fox the MDF? I've been told it's a Telstra issue, so only Telstra can fix it, but Telstra are f**ked.

I highly doubt it would be an internal problem if its been working fine prior.
Telstra provide the incoming line to house so it is there issue. Problem is when your not with telstra they put you at the bsck of their list. It should be up to your ISP provider to sort it out with Telstra and not you chasing them.
Id say some works been done in street and your cable has been bumoed or accidentaly dicconected. I assume its old 2 pair cable.Not nbn.

I highly doubt it would be an internal problem if its been working fine prior.
Telstra provide the incoming line to house so it is there issue. Problem is when your not with telstra they put you at the bsck of their list. It should be up to your ISP provider to sort it out with Telstra and not you chasing them.
Id say some works been done in street and your cable has been bumoed or accidentaly dicconected. I assume its old 2 pair cable.Not nbn.

I think you're right, mate.

I've lodged a complaint with the ombudsman.

Hopefully, they force Telstra to pull their fingers out.

This is iinet’s problem to sort out. They have a contractual agreement to use Telstra’s infrustructure, not you. It is incumbent upon iinet under Australian Consumer Law to deliver the service. They cannot pass the buck. Ask to speak to the next guy up and then the next guy up etc. until you get a merkin prepared to listen.

Quote this ....

Consumer guarantees
Under the Australian Consumer Law, when you buy products and services they come with automatic guarantees that they will work and do what you asked for. If you buy something that isn't right, you have consumer rights.

Repair, replace, refund
If a product or service you buy fails to meet a consumer guarantee, you have the right to ask for a repair, replacement or refund under the Australian Consumer Law. The remedy you're entitled to will depend on whether the issue is major or minor

https://www.accc.gov.au/consumers/consumer-rights-guarantees

Bandwagon

I deal with iinet through my business for phone and internet, rural area so all Telstra infrastructure. I've always had fairly prompt service when it comes to fault rectification.

I think the key is to to be reasonable, polite and friendly, but straightforward and no nonsense as to your expectations.

First and foremost, write shit down,, time date details of conversation and who you spoke with, Take note of their name, if you don't catch it, have them repeat it, and call them by their name in the conversation, the idea is to instil in them some kind of responsibility, but also to make them want to resolve your issue. Don't get angry, don't be rude, be personable, but also be firm.

Remember always the merkin on the other end of the line is a person, and if you treat them poorly you alienate them and their natural reaction will be f**k you, next. They likely deal with dumb merkins on the line all day, and if you act like all the other dumb merkins, they'll treat you exactly the same as they would all the other dumb merkins.

I deal with iinet through my business for phone and internet, rural area so all Telstra infrastructure. I've always had fairly prompt service when it comes to fault rectification.

I think the key is to to be reasonable, polite and friendly, but straightforward and no nonsense as to your expectations.

First and foremost, write shit down,, time date details of conversation and who you spoke with, Take note of their name, if you don't catch it, have them repeat it, and call them by their name in the conversation, the idea is to instil in them some kind of responsibility, but also to make them want to resolve your issue. Don't get angry, don't be rude, be personable, but also be firm.

Remember always the merkin on the other end of the line is a person, and if you treat them poorly you alienate them and their natural reaction will be f**k you, next. They likely deal with dumb merkins on the line all day, and if you act like all the other dumb merkins, they'll treat you exactly the same as they would all the other dumb merkins.

iiNet have been very good - they are genuinely sorry that I'm going through this.

I politely explained to iiNet that I have paid two bills in ygeblqstv6 weeks, but have not had any service - I am getting two months' service free.

The issue is that iiNet can only advise Telstra, and then it's Telstra's job to fix any issues.

And Telstra don't give a shit - I even called them directly to speak with them, and was on hold for 2 hours (on my mobile phone, because I use a naked ADSL and VoIP package, thus I have no landline phone).

This debacle has cost me $600 (electrician, where no electrician was even needed, phone bill, internet bill), and it's gone on for almost 6 weeks.

I'm perfectly happy with iiNet, but Telstra are massive pieces of shit, and I'm sick of dealing with them.

I've lodged a complaint with the TIO - hopefully they're able to force the f**kers at Telstra to fix their bloody MDF.

This is iinet’s problem to sort out. They have a contractual agreement to use Telstra’s infrustructure, not you. It is incumbent upon iinet under Australian Consumer Law to deliver the service. They cannot pass the buck. Ask to speak to the next guy up and then the next guy up etc. until you get a merkin prepared to listen.

Quote this ....

Consumer guarantees
Under the Australian Consumer Law, when you buy products and services they come with automatic guarantees that they will work and do what you asked for. If you buy something that isn't right, you have consumer rights.

Repair, replace, refund
If a product or service you buy fails to meet a consumer guarantee, you have the right to ask for a repair, replacement or refund under the Australian Consumer Law. The remedy you're entitled to will depend on whether the issue is major or minor

That's very helpful - thank you!

Quote this ....

Consumer guarantees

Repair, replace, refund

I'm with TPG and when our connection was damaged it was Telstra who came and fixed it because they own the infrastructure. iinet can only contact Telstra, they can't fix the infrastructure themselves

iiNet have been very good - they are genuinely sorry that I'm going through this.

I politely explained to iiNet that I have paid two bills in ygeblqstv6 weeks, but have not had any service - I am getting two months' service free.

The issue is that iiNet can only advise Telstra, and then it's Telstra's job to fix any issues.

And Telstra don't give a shit - I even called them directly to speak with them, and was on hold for 2 hours (on my mobile phone, because I use a naked ADSL and VoIP package, thus I have no landline phone).

This debacle has cost me $600 (electrician, where no electrician was even needed, phone bill, internet bill), and it's gone on for almost 6 weeks.

I'm perfectly happy with iiNet, but Telstra are massive pieces of shit, and I'm sick of dealing with them.

I've lodged a complaint with the TIO - hopefully they're able to force the f**kers at Telstra to fix their bloody MDF.
Hope you get it sorted soon mate ... dealing with this sort of stuff is as frustrating as all hell

If worst comes to worst threaten to get your nan onto them ... thatll get them going :wink:

I switched to optus at home many years ago ... and they can be as shit as hell when things go wrong too ..... at the time we switched i had all these people going - oh why go with them, stick with telstra cos they are aussie - and i was, but they are shit, im not gonna stick by em if they are rubbish but still charge more

Good luck eele

Hope you get it sorted soon mate ... dealing with this sort of stuff is as frustrating as all hell

If worst comes to worst threaten to get your nan onto them ... thatll get them going :wink:

I switched to optus at home many years ago ... and they can be as shit as hell when things go wrong too ..... at the time we switched i had all these people going - oh why go with them, stick with telstra cos they are aussie - and i was, but they are shit, im not gonna stick by em if they are rubbish but still charge more

Good luck eele

Thanks, strides!

Lol - I really should get my nan onto it hahaha!

Yeah, it's not a life or death issue or anything, but it's very frustrating - and it's been going on for about 5 weeks.

Hopefully the ombudsman can help get things moving.