Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

I still have the majority of it.

Can you please stop it with the savings. What are you a baby boomer? Listen to me, invest in some FFS. Just use those savings. Do you have any kids? They will thank you for it.
We don’t have any kids which is probably why we have savings.

What’s wrong with savings? If anything I have become even more conservative in the last 18 months as a result of COVID.

Any of you sad sacks shave your head? Looking for a good electric noggin shaver.

Anyone know what BA uses? His head always looks nice and shiny.

You're talking about speculating, rather than investing.

The only time I ever sold assets was when Blackrock told me they would force me to sell if I didn't get a financial adviser. So I sold and bought a house. I never would've sold otherwise. They were good investments that made me a lot of money, and my home has only turned out to be a good investment due to Covid. But also, I live in WA where real estate always booms and busts, so there's a crash coming. I'd rather be in shares but my wife got sick of renting. Let's see if she gets sick of maintaining the place. That's a landlord's job ffs

But no, I don't trade. That's a mug's game. If the asset is worth buying, why sell it?
Agreed

Own home means you can have your own creature comforts which is nice amd security.
People also get fixed into how they can earn money.I'm transforming my shed out back at the moment into a home office. Once done I will promote as a new side business on social media and people will pay me to design and build there's.
It's a boring style of investing as a lot of time and hard work but it feels more rewarding to me. Like I created the whole thing on own, And developed skills along the way and knowledge.

Is it better to get rich slow?

I think its better to gain knowledge and learn new things. I dont get that excited by money. I dont have much I want to buy. I have a house,car,guitar,clothes and TV. Id only be replacing that stuff with other versions.

What’s wrong with savings? If anything I have become even more conservative in the last 18 months as a result of COVID.
Kids aren't for everyone. Look after your wife and yourself.

Bitcoin
Etherium
Cardano
Solana
Polkadot
Hedera Hashgraph
Polygon (Matic)

Buy some Shiba Inu as a roughie. You only have to pay $250 and you will have 25 million of them. If it gets to 0.001 with a series of token burns you will make $25,000. All you owe me is a set of the best golf clubs measured for my Balkan frame and free golf lessons from you for life.

Deal?

Do it.

I did.

Not for me. I dont like taking risks with my money. Even calculated ones.

A few years back a mate wanted me to invest with him in starting up a brewery. I had the money but didnt want to take the risk even though it probably would have been a roaring success because of him. He had an excellent plan.

We dont have any debt and just stick our money in savings. I'm sure I could be smarter with it but I still reckon I'll be able to comfortably retire at 55.

Did you keep all of your bitcoin? I remember you saying you sold some of it.

Why retire? That is my fear. Id use your money to develop a side hobby/business you can do till your basically dead. It doesn't even have to be that profitable. Something you can spend may 20hrs a week on just to keep you interested.

I think its better to gain knowledge and learn new things. I dont get that excited by money. I dont have much I want to buy. I have a house,car,guitar,clothes and TV. Id only be replacing that stuff with other versions.
I've been watching this smart dude, lately.

Why retire? That is my fear. Id use your money to develop a side hobby/business you can do till your basically dead. It doesn't even have to be that profitable. Something you can spend may 20hrs a week on just to keep you interested.
I agree. I am never going to retire. I'm going to go on a couple of boards and hang with people and talk shit. If I get a gig on the Parra board I'll stop posting here forever which will be sad.

Were you though? Or did you just make a guess that didn't work out? Don't feel bad. Some of your other guesses have obviously turned out right.
I was. Lost about $40K. Could have gone on the best holiday with river cruises and live shows travelling the Danube and Adriatic. Would have been a doge day afternoon for months.

I'd happily move to Sanctuary Cove and play golf everyday. If I got bored I'd go and egg Titans players houses.

If that is what you enjoy go for it. But you're quite a smart guy. You could use your time for greater good I feel. Maybe set up a charity or something. I feel like your value to society would be wasted if you just played golf.

I am pretty much same situation. Dont live an exciting life, so ended up with lots of savings.

But i eventually thougjt f**k it, why not put some in crypto. Its easy as piss. Find a few ppl to trust to get advice fron. Learn a bit about reading charts. It can be fun but need to try not to get too obsessed.

Eelogical

If i sold my watch collection i could buy a cinamon donut
I could do with a really nice sundial. I have an assortment of watches, nothing fancy. The Citizen watch my mrs gave me 10 years ago tells the time perfectly. The only outlier I/we have is an inscribed Raymond Weil watch that was given to me 25 years ago by my then employer as a reward for my services. I gave it to the mrs because I thought she deserved it more than I.

Eelogical

I am pretty much same situation. Dont live an exciting life, so ended up with lots of savings.

But i eventually thougjt f**k it, why not put some in crypto. Its easy as piss. Find a few ppl to trust to get advice fron. Learn a bit about reading charts. It can be fun but need to try not to get too obsessed.

1630744182317.png