Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread

Joshuatheeel

Thoughts are with you YY, hope their is some miracle.

My sister's partner just passed away from Cancer, had just turned 40. Terrible disease hopefully there is a cure one day!

Haynzy

Thinking of you and your family YY. Cancer is tough, especially on the loved ones of the sufferer. I hope you are getting all of the support you need.

yy_cheng

Thanks guys.

Alot of people, myself included, allow simple mundane issues cloud the big picture and that is the love and support of family and friends.

Pancreatic Cancer is a painful experience and I do not wish anyone to go through it. The simple joy of eating what you like has been taken away from her and it is something we take for granted.

I now truly can understand why people will prefer to die than to go through the pain of it over and over and over again. It is her 3rd reoccurence, and her 3rd year since being diagnosed and she is exhausted.

She is now only 32 kg from being a once lovely 53kg.

Parra47

Thanks guys.

Alot of people, myself included, allow simple mundane issues cloud the big picture and that is the love and support of family and friends.

Pancreatic Cancer is a painful experience and I do not wish anyone to go through it. The simple joy of eating what you like has been taken away from her and it is something we take for granted.

I now truly can understand why people will prefer to die than to go through the pain of it over and over and over again. It is her 3rd reoccurence, and her 3rd year since being diagnosed and she is exhausted.

Mate it's a terrible thing. My wife's mother passed away two years ago from cancer, terribly sad. I was diagnosed with skin cancer in march. Mate all you can do is try to stay positive and keep moving forward. I was in a similar position to what you are in 7 and a half years ago. It's bloody awful mate. My thoughts are truly with you.

Kornstar

Apparently Parra businesses (well atleast near the police HQ anyways) are being told to leave by 4pm today as there will be a large protest.

A belated call today from the Grant Mufti for some to pull their collective heads in was heartening. These guys should make themselves a common sight on the telly. Repeat and educate merkins.

Not one utterance of "death cult" at Mal's presser.....

I could not find an image of the Grand Mufti and his female spokespersons however an artists representation of their clobber is shown below:-

66a06b00a5da49acecd64727cfea1a18.jpg

sisteract-03.jpg

Fanbase

Was a bit of a fizzer from the news reports. Splendid to see a few muslim leaders finally come out and defend the way of life of this wonderful country that they have fled to to escape the way of life of their homelands.

According to Virginia Trioli on ABC News Breakfast yesterday, the local leader from the Parramatta Mosque has apparently made similar statements before.....it just (understandably) didn't make the news.

Following this theme, anyone seen this powerful promo for UWS ?

[youtube]buA3tsGnp2s[/youtube]

oldmancraigy

According to Virginia Trioli on ABC News Breakfast yesterday, the local leader from the Parramatta Mosque has apparently made similar statements before.....it just (understandably) didn't make the news.

The thing I struggle with is the report that older people (older teens/men?) who he met at the mosque that day are the ones who gave him the gun. Not at all blaming the mosque, but I don't quite understand why we are so quick to deflect scrutiny?

It's not like this is an isolated incident in the world we live in. I have no answers, not even sure what I am asking/ thinking about the situation! But it seems facile to deflect everything from the mosque the bloke walked out of - unless the media have been given a message the authorities hope will stop some kind of retributive act...

I suppose, if there are bad eggs in the place, why haven't they been weeded out and handed ovee to authorities already?

ok - my 5 cents - think of me what you wish

the mosque just happens to be the place the f**kwits in this situation feel comfortable/safe - if they felt safe in a public dunny then they'd probably give him the gun there

why do people doing bad shit feel safe in a mosque? .... My general impression of muslims is they let young males do pretty much anything - females are on a tight leash, they don't get away with anything, but males are seemingly free to do what they want without much control .... so I assume older people at the mosque are maybe suss of the ringleaders of this shit, but as per the usual way of life, they are never challenged and stopped .... sure the ringleaders are probably deceptive and put on the right show to keep people onside at times too, but I am willing to bet there are people wary of them

I might be totally wrong - just what I have observed

Thanks guys.

My heart goes out to you. My dad is going through cancer himself. They found it in his colon and have given him a real chance of survival. I sincerely wish your luck changes and there is a miraculous recovery. God bless you mate.

ok - my 5 cents - think of me what you wish

the mosque just happens to be the place the f**kwits in this situation feel comfortable/safe - if they felt safe in a public dunny then they'd probably give him the gun there

why do people doing bad shit feel safe in a mosque? .... My general impression of muslims is they let young males do pretty much anything - females are on a tight leash, they don't get away with anything, but males are seemingly free to do what they want without much control .... so I assume older people at the mosque are maybe suss of the ringleaders of this shit, but as per the usual way of life, they are never challenged and stopped .... sure the ringleaders are probably deceptive and put on the right show to keep people onside at times too, but I am willing to bet there are people wary of them

I might be totally wrong - just what I have observed

Yeh, I think there's a fair bit of truth to that. RE the letting young men do what they want/ / treating the first son like the ants pants....it's hard to separate the religion from the national culture of the homeland (and of course they are inherently related). For example, the behaviour of some young male descendents of Middle Eastern Christians is also a bit OTT. One the other, the quite small sample of young Indonesian Muslims that I know seem to be a completely 'different kettle of fish'.

The thing I struggle with is the report that older people (older teens/men?) who he met at the mosque that day are the ones who gave him the gun. Not at all blaming the mosque, but I don't quite understand why we are so quick to deflect scrutiny?

Who is deflecting scrutiny? I was just responding an often raised point along the lines of 'their leaders should denounce this', by pointing out that, on the occasions that they do speak out we don't necessarily hear about it...it's not super interesting TV.....it's just what the leaders should be saying. On the hand, when King f**khead opens his mouth, it is guaranteed to get press.

Agree that, like churches and other institutions, mosques have to take some responsibility for ensuring that they are not being used to shield illegal behaviour. They can't know everything that is going on, of course, but you'd think they have better info than the average Youssuf.

Well you wont hear anything from the grand Mufti of Australia denouncing it as he doesn't speak English so how the f**k can he preach to his Aussie constituents.

Well.....he says he can't speak English. I think it's just a ruse so that he can eavesdrop on the other blokes in the room.

the sly bastard,

his PA is his translator I believe but how do you get the gig if you dont speak the lingo

anyway, why is there not more outrage from peole like the muslim leaders and our pollies, if you listen to Turnbull tell us not to become Islamophobes over all this, its almost as though he is accepting that this will happen from time to time