Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread

anyway, why is there not more outrage from peole like the muslim leaders and our pollies, if you listen to Turnbull tell us not to become Islamophobes over all this, its almost as though he is accepting that this will happen from time to time

Nah. He's saying 'don't blame good people who didn't do anything wrong, just coz they share a common religion with a criminal'. He's not defending those who shelter the criminals. The lovely, caring, Muslim lass who works in our front office doesn't deserve to feel in the slightest bit uncomfortable b/c some f**kwits in another city commit heinous acts. Unfortunately, she does feel uncomfortable. There are very few winners from all of this crap.

oldmancraigy

Who is deflecting scrutiny? I was just responding an often raised point along the lines of 'their leaders should denounce this', by pointing out that, on the occasions that they do speak out we don't necessarily hear about it...it's not super interesting TV.....it's just what the leaders should be saying. On the hand, when King f**khead opens his mouth, it is guaranteed to get press.

Agree that, like churches and other institutions, mosques have to take some responsibility for ensuring that they are not being used to shield illegal behaviour. They can't know everything that is going on, of course, but you'd think they have better info than the average Youssuf.

Waan't saying you were - but was just a bit shocked that the rhetoric was so quickly absolving them (from media).

Yeh, I think there's a fair bit of truth to that. RE the letting young men do what they want/ / treating the first son like the ants pants....it's hard to separate the religion from the national culture of the homeland (and of course they are inherently related). For example, the behaviour of some young male descendents of Middle Eastern Christians is also a bit OTT. One the other, the quite small sample of young Indonesian Muslims that I know seem to be a completely 'different kettle of fish'.

yeah - definitely a nationality aspect - not just religion

oldmancraigy

Nah. He's saying 'don't blame good people who didn't do anything wrong, just coz they share a common religion with a criminal'. He's not defending those who shelter the criminals. The lovely, caring, Muslim lass who works in our front office doesn't deserve to feel in the slightest bit uncomfortable b/c some f**kwits in another city commit heinous acts. Unfortunately, she does feel uncomfortable. There are very few winners from all of this crap.

Maybe the hard thing is knowing who did nothing wrong? That is where I struggle. Not the lass in your office, but at that mosque, he meets blokes, prays, geta a gun and odd he goes.

It is one thing to be highly critical of Catholic church for the paedophile stuff - but at least that isn't their formal doctrine.
The hard part of Islam is that this kind of stuff IS a part of their formal doctrine - sure, there are 2 strands, but flip flopping between them is scarily common.
I have no idea how to fix the problem - the simplistic bogan thing is 'ban Islam' - but really?? That sounds daft to me...

I accept that not all Muslims are the same however there is definitely a lack of leadership amongst them.'

Parra47

ok - my 5 cents - think of me what you wish

the mosque just happens to be the place the f**kwits in this situation feel comfortable/safe - if they felt safe in a public dunny then they'd probably give him the gun there

why do people doing bad shit feel safe in a mosque? .... My general impression of muslims is they let young males do pretty much anything - females are on a tight leash, they don't get away with anything, but males are seemingly free to do what they want without much control .... so I assume older people at the mosque are maybe suss of the ringleaders of this shit, but as per the usual way of life, they are never challenged and stopped .... sure the ringleaders are probably deceptive and put on the right show to keep people onside at times too, but I am willing to bet there are people wary of them

I might be totally wrong - just what I have observed

Your pretty spot on here mate. I have worked with people of the muslim faith through my job and used to work with a female muslim, (which is a real rairity in my job), and from what I have learnt you have pretty much nailed it. Of course there is more to it than that, a complete lack of respect and totally different values that they are brought up with go a long way towards the shocking behaviour and beliefs of some of these grubs.

Its happening in this country too.

And I'd say there are no winners.

oldmancraigy

Your pretty spot on here mate. I have worked with people of the muslim faith through my job and used to work with a female muslim, (which is a real rairity in my job), and from what I have learnt you have pretty much nailed it. Of course there is more to it than that, a complete lack of respect and totally different values that they are brought up with go a long way towards the shocking behaviour and beliefs of some of these grubs.

And the hard(est?) thing is that both main strands favour sharia law.. it is just that one half pushes extremist violence much more than the other.... the moderate side still want to take over, but through weight of numbers more than violence (initially).

(I have a rudimentary understanding of it all, so don't shoot me if I am way off)

Parra47

And the hard(est?) thing is that both main strands favour sharia law.. it is just that one half pushes extremist violence much more than the other.... the moderate side still want to take over, but through weight of numbers more than violence (initially).

(I have a rudimentary understanding of it all, so don't shoot me if I am way off)

And therein lays the problem of a culture who fled to our beautiful country to escape their own homeland and are now trying to change our culture to suit them. If I moved to another country I would see it as my duty to fit in with their culture and not try to push mine on them.

Eelogical

And therein lays the problem of a culture who fled to our beautiful country to escape their own homeland and are now trying to change our culture to suit them. If I moved to another country I would see it as my duty to fit in with their culture and not try to push mine on them.

This man knows all.

yy_cheng

Well the issue with this is that the Brits came over and imposed cricket on all the nations that annexed. They didnt care about Boomerang competitions or Spear throwing competitions.

So why is it not fair that they come and try to impose their culture here?

It is nature. It is the survival of the fittest and those who dont adapt, become the minority.

This is the total turn out for the anti-Islam protest today in Canberra.

From left to right

Jono, Micko, Stevo, Wayno, Davo, Jimbo, Damo & Brockie.

CQ6flCrUcAAwRNv.jpg