Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread

As usual, BF doesn't have one... other than still trying to stick up for 3P (like a few others around this place).

So being critical of the new board and management means someone is sticking up for 3P???? Good one Phantom, did you hear Jarryd is back in town time to hide under your bed till the bad man is gone.

so how the f**k is joe hockey's wife's house not considered partly his? .... yes I know they would have just put it in her name - but if the merkin gets divorced I bet he'll go after half of it

If he does, I trust Joe to pay back half the allowance.

That's not the issue under the rules (whatever we may think of them). Several of the pollies outright own (in their own name) 2nd (3rd , 4th) houses / flats close to Parliament and stay in those and claim the allowance, as they are still staying away from their main residence. The alternative is that they charge the same amount for short-term corporate lets / hotels.

If he does, I trust Joe to pay back half the allowance.

Why would he? I'm sick of merkins making this a joe hockey issue. Half the bloody parliament are doing it, on both sides. In fact, given the rules that are currently in place, I'm more concerned about the idiots that AREN'T doing it. They must be f**king stupid not to be making the most of it.

It would be a pretty simple thing to fix though. Simply change the "allowance" to 50% if you use it to stay in a premises owned by a relative. That way if merkins still want to do it, it costs the government less in allowance, if they don't, then there isn't the same outcry by the whingers out there.

Kornstar

It would be the same in all employment too. You must get allowances away from your base employment when you go for overnight stays. If you happen to own an apartment in the location you are working at, they can't not give you the allowance.

The ATO set the rates and that's what you get. I worked in Newcastle for 2 years and I got it, if I had owned an apartment there I still would have got it.

It's only whiny poor people who think they are entitled to everything and live in the Eastern suburbs who have issue with this shit.

In fact, given the rules that are currently in place, I'm more concerned about the idiots that AREN'T doing it. They must be f**king stupid not to be making the most of it.

My missus travels a lot.
I'm sorry, but if we owned a property in Melbourne for instance, and she stayed there when she travelled because it was vacant, I'm f**ked if we'd be claiming any sort of allowance besides the travel costs.
Call us stupid if you like.
We're just not in the business of ripping people off.
I don't give a fug what the allowances say. I even drive her to the airport more times than not, and we don't claim petrol or parking or anything. She likes who she works for, and we look after them because they look after us.
f**k Joe Hockey, and f**k anyone who takes advantage of shit like this.

Kornstar

My missus travels a lot.
I'm sorry, but if we owned a property in Melbourne for instance, and she stayed there when she travelled because it was vacant, I'm f**ked if we'd be claiming any sort of allowance besides the travel costs.
I don't give a fug what the allowances say. I even drive her to the airport more times than not, and we don't claim petrol or parking or anything. She likes who she works for, and we look after them because they look after us.

Lazy merkins take my tax dollars every f**king day, a lot of them not even citizens of this country and still do everything they can not to contribute to society. I'm more concerned about those people than I am about people claiming allowances they're actually entitled to.

I would probably be the same as you, Suity. I am not sure I could accept the money if I had somewhere to stay for free but I'm not sure I could think less of people who did claim it.

Lazy merkins take my tax dollars every f**king day, a lot of them not even citizens of this country and still do everything they can not to contribute to society. I'm more concerned about those people than I am about people claiming allowances they're actually entitled to.

I would probably be the same as you, Suity. I am not sure I could accept the money if I had somewhere to stay for free but I'm not sure I could think less of people who did claim it.

We make our choices because we do. I sleep easy at night for the same reasons.

My missus travels a lot.

Maybe so, but every merkin wants to make this a Joe hockey issue, when it's not. Per the article below:

http://m.dailytelegraph.com.au/news...n-canberra-house/story-fni0cx12-1227026624945

After the Sunday Telegraph inquired about Mr Hockey?s house it was pointed out by the government that more than a dozen Labor MPs own property in Canberra where they stay during parliamentary sitting weeks and also claim travel allowance.

These MPs include Anthony Albanese, Warren Snowden, Tanya Plibersek, Joel Fitzgibbon, Jim Chalmers, Mark Butler, Tony Burke and Doug Cameron.

Mark Butler has an apartment in Kingston.

Julia Gillard and Kevin Rudd also owned property in Canberra before they retired from politics."

But it's those uppear class liberal parliamentarians that are screwing the system.

My missus travels a lot.

Well said Suity. I'm with you. I don't like Hockey. He has severe but arrogant foot in mouth disease.

Sorry mate, but you have misread me.
I don't dislike Hockey. I don't like him either. I have no opinion of him as a person.
I just wouldn't do what he has done.
I've explained my position. Hockey was just but an example of what I WOULDN'T DO.

The other thing that annoys me about this whole argument is that as far as I'm aware, most of the pollies using their allowance to pay off a property bought their property after they started receiving the allowance. It's purely a financial decision that has ZERO effect on the cost of government. It's not like they are pocketing it to stay at their family home that they have lived at forever and a day.

If they stopped letting pollies use the allowance in this manner you either see a) then just spending the money on hotel rooms, meaning it would cost the same, or b) and this is more likely, that pollies would arrange a reciprocal deal where they "rent" a property owned by one of their pollie mates, and vice versa. Again, the net cost would be the same.

It's not about the rorts. Every polly does it.

Joe is in the shit because he can't keep his foot out of his mouth.

He's out of touch with Struggle Street. First he said that poor people don't drive and then he said that if you want to buy a house then get a better job.

Yes it's prolly the truth, but he needs to understand what empathy is and learn how to deliver it in a genuine manner. Then he complains that the media are playing the man ! might as well put a "kick me" sign on his back.

Don't start saying that houses in Sydney are affordable when they are not, say something like "I understand that it must be hard for many. This is the price we pay as an emerging major international city. We're going to look into this and see if we can help out." Even if it results in nothing people will understand that they are certain things that politicians cannot control.

Meanwhile they should look at releasing more land and strengthen high speed rail links to perhaps the south coast and southern highlands.

They are supposed to be the infrastructure government. Build an efficient public transport system to encourage use and extend it to satellite cities and make high speed intercity travel affordable and attractive.

Kornstar

Plenty of affordable houses in Sydney, whiny merkins just don't want to live there. It's easier to whinge and blame the government rather than getting off your ass and actually sacrificing things to buy a house where you can afford, just like our families used to f**king do!

Don't have more kids than you can afford and the whinge cause you're renting and somehow that's the governments fault. Apparently they should be giving people houses these days.

Bj, bj, bj........

Brendon Julian gaffe sees australia given 'Sir Wank Forrell' trophy

the peak of brendon julian's fleeting career as a test cricketer for australia in the mid 1990s came with his performance on a tour of the west indies.

His performance on sunday in conducting the presentation ceremony to mark australia's 2-0 series victory there was arguably as memorable as his five-wicket match haul in barbados 20 years ago - but not for the right reasons.
The 44-year-old played seven tests for australia between 1993 and 1995. The former fast-bowler's polished skills in front of the camera have since seen him elevated to fox sports' chief cricket presenter.

Advertisement

he was also recruited by overseas network ten sports for their coverage of the two-test series between the west indies and australia in the caribbean.

After the second and final test ended shortly after lunch on day four in jamaica - the visitors romped home by 277 runs - julian took over the formalities. He cruised through the first six minutes of the presentation, and had moved on to his final duty: Announcing the handover of the series trophy named after west indies champion sir frank worrell.

When he did, however, he ended up up announcing over the sabina park public address system, and to the worldwide tv audience, the australia captain michael clarke and his players were to be given the victors' cheque and "the sir wank forrell trophy".

Julian, as if realising his blunder, conspicuously paused and raised his eyebrows after blurting out "sir wank", but then continued with the misspoken surname. He then finished the ceremony without interruption as the australians huddled together with said trophy in their grasp.

The unfortunate name blunder, and the resulting low-brow connotations, revived memories of when veteran sports presenter sandy roberts welcomed then miss australia leanne dick to the stage at a horseracing meeting in south australia in 1981.

Roberts inadvertently announced her name as "leanne c**k"

Plenty of affordable houses in Sydney, whiny merkins just don't want to live there. It's easier to whinge and blame the government rather than getting off your ass and actually sacrificing things to buy a house where you can afford, just like our families used to f**king do!

Don't have more kids than you can afford and the whinge cause you're renting and somehow that's the governments fault. Apparently they should be giving people houses these days.

Nobody has blamed the government for house prices Korny.

If anything they are guilty for not policing the FIRB rules for foreign investment in properties by non-residents, but that's about it.

Kornstar

Nobody has blamed the government for house prices Korny.

If anything they are guilty for not policing the FIRB rules for foreign investment in properties by non-residents, but that's about it.

Never said you did but every bogan I know (unfortunately too many obviously but I am a westy) does and they write it proudly on FB as much as they can. The fact that I have to see it annoys me!

It sucks that housing is expensive and I worry about how my kids will pay rent, pay HECS and save for a deposit.

This is where creative parents need to help out I think.