Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread

yy_cheng

I am diesel fan owning a diesel and a petrol.

I would like to go hybrid but can't justify the mask up

Gronk, when are you going to get a Tesla?

I have a fundamental issue with hybrids or 100% electric. Us runners can't hear them coming. A mate got bumped by a Prius (sp).

Have you ever seen Formula E racing on fox ? They're F1 cars with no sound. Weird. :?

There is a private members bill on marriage equality, co-sponsored by merkins from both sides. Yet Abbott refuses (at this stage) to allow it to be debated in the party room. Surely public sentiment and the world wide groundswell of support suggests that he should put his personal views aside ?

Government Whip Andrew Nikolic described the renewed same-sex marriage debate as "a poor attempt by someone to generate momentum on an issue where there is none".

Mr Nikolic is part of the committee that selects bills to be debated and made it clear it would not be on the agenda soon.

They say that they have more important things to worry about. Surely the coalition can walk and chew gum at the same time ?

Haynzy

My Deisel Patrol is great, heaps of grunt and quite economical, even around town.
I did a stack of research when getting the Outback and found that the Deisel model is not very economical around town wheras the petrol is fantastic

yy_cheng

I have a fundamental issue with hybrids or 100% electric. Us runners can't hear them coming. A mate got bumped by a Prius (sp).

but thats why you have ctp!

I think the newer hybrids are going to make fake engine sounds but dont know when they will become standard

There is a private members bill on marriage equality, co-sponsored by merkins from both sides. Yet Abbott refuses (at this stage) to allow it to be debated in the party room. Surely public sentiment and the world wide groundswell of support suggests that he should put his personal views aside ?

They say that they have more important things to worry about. Surely the coalition can walk and chew gum at the same time ?

There shouldn't be a conscience vote in this term of parliament.

The basis of a conscience vote is that, in essence, some Libs will vote Yes and some Labor will vote No. But who knows which ones they are? I mean each and every one of them.

If this is such an important issue then we should be allowed to have a say in it and I don't mean via opinion polls.

So we either have a plebiscite at the next election or, if that is considered too expensive, put it to each and every candidate how they would vote so that people can be informed when casting their ballot.

I don't care that opinion polls give it a clear majority.

I'd hate to see even one person vote for, say, Labor thinking that they will get a Yes vote in a conscience vote, only to find they are in an electorate where the Labor candidate will vote No and the Lib will vote Yes.

This is nothing to do with gay marriage, really - I just don't like conscience votes that weren't based on issues openly discussed at the previous election.

There shouldn't be a conscience vote in this term of parliament.

The basis of a conscience vote is that, in essence, some Libs will vote Yes and some Labor will vote No. But who knows which ones they are? I mean each and every one of them.

If this is such an important issue then we should be allowed to have a say in it and I don't mean via opinion polls.

So we either have a plebiscite at the next election or, if that is considered too expensive, put it to each and every candidate how they would vote so that people can be informed when casting their ballot.

I don't care that opinion polls give it a clear majority.

I'd hate to see even one person vote for, say, Labor thinking that they will get a Yes vote in a conscience vote, only to find they are in an electorate where the Labor candidate will vote No and the Lib will vote Yes.

This is nothing to do with gay marriage, really - I just don't like conscience votes that weren't based on issues openly discussed at the previous election.

Bullshit.

The private bills that passed the House under John Howard: Euthanasia, Embryo research, RU486 and Human Cloning (x2).

Abbott can't consider marriage equality ?

H O M O P H O B E

Sensai Cobra

Any pool owners amongst this group? Looking at heating options between solar, heat pump or gas.

Any of you lot have heated pools, would love some feedback on effectiveness and running costs

Kornstar

Bullshit.

The private bills that passed the House under John Howard: Euthanasia, Embryo research, RU486 and Human Cloning (x2).

H O M O P H O B E

Who cares if he is, is he not allowed an opinion? If people want it to happen, ultimately it will whether he supports it or not.

While I could care less what people do I cannot be critical of a religious person not believing in gay marriage or even homosexuality at all.

Funnily enough it appears that God had no issue with incest but there were other things he would not tolerate, such as males who would rather f**k an angel than 2 virgin daughters.

It's interesting that other groups are now wanting to jump on board the marriage equality band wagon........I bet those who are so accepting of marriage equality for homosexuals do not share the same opinion for others to have the same rights......

Bullshit.

H O M O P H O B E

You should probably read the last line of my post again.

"It's just not a priority".

"Not on our radar"

article-2525602-1A2B2A3600000578-553_634x408.jpg

So, you obviously didn't read it, then. Alternatively, you're so stuck in your knee jerk reaction phase that you can't split my post from the current Coalition stance on the issue (which my post is in no way related to).

Argh, what you think has nothing to do with our country recognizing a fundamental right of some to marry.

Referring to the recent decision of the US supreme court, Justice Ruth Ginsberg repeatedly argued that gay marriage is part of a civil rights continuum.

HOW we do this is irrelevant. The point is to get it across the line ASAP. No more roadblocking by the Mad Monk and his Friars.

shocking news this

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2015-07-03/crows-coach-phil-walsh-allegedly-murdered-son-in-police-custody/6591832

Adelaide Crows coach Phil Walsh has been stabbed to death and police say his son will be charged with murder.

Police and ambulance crews were called to Walsh's house in Bungey Avenue at Somerton Park in the early hours because of reports of a domestic dispute.

Paramedics treated Walsh, 55, at the house but he died at the scene from multiple stab wounds.

Officers searched the area for his son, 26, and detained him a short time later in First Avenue at Glenelg East.
Police said he was taken to Flinders Medical Centre for a psychological assessment.

Phil Walsh's death will be felt across the AFL after his coaching stints left lasting impressions at Port Adelaide and the West Coast Eagles.

Walsh's wife Meredith was taken to hospital to be treated for a leg injury.

SA Police Superintendent Des Bray said police were called to the home shortly after 2:00am.