Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL 360 + other footy shows

I started by saying that MJ's team mates were better than Lebron's. You've finally recognised this and are now trying to argue that they are only better because of MJ's influence.

So which one is it?

Are MJ's team mates better or worse?
If they are better then I am right
If they are worse then you are wrong about MJ being a strong influence.

Check mate.
Now you are putting words in my mouth, by saying MJ was a positive influence on Pippen and helping mould him into the player he became I’m now saying MJ’s team mates were better??? Guarding MJ at training would improve anyone don’t you think?? And was that first Bulls three peat side better than the team that LeBronsky ran too??? I’d doubt it.

So MJ had an influence on his team mates but not enough of an influence that you could say that they were better than LBJ's?

Sorry, but there's more holes in that logic than @strider's underderps.

I don't see how you can compare eras.
Sports changed and become more global. Diets changed and athletes are more advanced.

Is Federer better then Sampras? At the time Pete was the best. But had Tennis peaked? Federer had the advantage of getting to play when racquets where better, coaches had seen more styles of players and different skill sets needed to be the best.
Diet also become a huge thing in the last 20yrs of sport.

Basketball has also taken off more across the world and population and wealth also meaning more players to chose who are better coached from a young age. A better pool so the worse players are a lot better.

Soccer is the biggest change. Look at the EPL and the worse player in the worse side is still highly skilled compared to the same guy 20yrs ago.

So one has to argue that now the competition is far better also.

Only need to look at NRL. Do people genuinely think Eric Grothe would dominate in 2022 had he played now as a 22yr old?
Imagine what Semi or Sivo or even To'o, Blake etc would fo done in the 80s.

No real point on trying to compare guys who played 20yrs ago. It's almost ridiculous as to many factors have changed.

Maybe golfs the one sport you can or boxing. But even if golf how many more people play now and how much better are club's and technology? Sports science, data etc all playing an off field role in statistics to help the athlete perform better. None of that shit in the 80s
Those are all factors that should be taken on board. Doesn't make it impossible though.

Its human nature to want to compare across eras. Plus its f**ken fun. I'm having a great f**ken time comparing f**ken eras with @hineyrulz

So MJ had an influence on his team mates but not enough of an influence that you could say that they were better than LBJ's?

Sorry, but there's more holes in that logic than @strider's underderps.
So Lebronsky left the Cavs to sign with a bunch of plodders at the Heat?? When Jordan arrived at Chicago they were the joke of the league. He helped turn them into the greatest powerhouse of all time. Bar Lebronskies first Cavs stint he always played in strong sides and always left to somewhere stronger. You said Jordan’s team mates were stronger I’d argue that merkin.

So we agree that MJ is the GOAT. No aguments there.

But for them to become a powerhouse it took more than just MJ - You had the greatest coach, greatest 2nd man and a very good manager. Without those guys the Bulls would have continued to struggle.

If Lebron had Pippen by his side he'd have more rings. Throw in Jackson and he could have had his own dynasty.

Also, thats not to say Davis, Bosh, Irving and Wade aren't good or that LBJ hasn't found himself in great teams at times. I just feel the Bulls franchise was more impressive over the period of the six-peat.

Sunday Footy Show, just now:

Andrew Johns: "Which team do you think can cause you the most headaches?"

Nathan Cleary: "Roosters. Their line speed is amazing, big game players, blah blah blah."

No respect for the team that kicked their arses twice.

King-Gutho94

Nathan Cleary: "Roosters. Their line speed is amazing, big game players, blah blah blah."

Nathan doesn't remember the 2nd game.

He was too busy crying in the sheds and missed the onslaught.

I never thought I'd say this, but...

I really like Billy Slater as a commentator.

He's intelligent, analytical, and makes a great point.

Case in point - the Coen Hess sin bin.

Billy raised a great question - if it was a shoulder charge to Graham's head, why did Hess show signs of concussion himself?

And I agree - the footage shows a head clash, imo.

Billy Slater is a very astute analyst - I'm a fan.

yy_cheng

I never thought I'd say this, but...

I really like Billy Slater as a commentator.

He's intelligent, analytical, and makes a great point.

Case in point - the Coen Hess sin bin.

Billy raised a great question - if it was a shoulder charge to Graham's head, why did Hess show signs of concussion himself?

And I agree - the footage shows a head clash, imo.

Billy Slater is a very astute analyst - I'm a fan.
Yeah, I like Billy as a commentator

Hated him as a player

Those are all factors that should be taken on board. Doesn't make it impossible though.

Its human nature to want to compare across eras. Plus its f**ken fun. I'm having a great f**ken time comparing f**ken eras with @hineyrulz

Larry Bird and CURRY both better then Le Bron imo.

Sampras best of all time

I got 30-1 on the Chooks. I could see the potential there when we beat them. They had JWH,RADLEY,KEARY missing. Have now added Lodge. There a very good side.

Undoubtedly - a great side, and well-drilled.

But Penrith have lost 3 games all year - two of them against us.

You'd think it would warrant a bit of respect from Nathan.

But you know - keep disrespecting us, and writing us off.

Then we will fly under the radar, and kick their arse a third time.

Undoubtedly - a great side, and well-drilled.

But Penrith have lost 3 games all year - two of them against us.

You'd think it would warrant a bit of respect from Nathan.

But you know - keep disrespecting us, and writing us off.

Then we will fly under the radar, and kick their arse a third time.

I'm just not counting the win when he was sent off as a great victory. Personally I find it ridiculous so many on here do. If we had 12 men most the game I am sure we'd also write that game off.
But yes our win earlier in the season was impressive. I feel we can match them and would be a coin flip.