Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL 360 + other footy shows

lucablight

What does this even mean? We should choose to win rather than lose? Do the Cowboys not also see it as a missed opportunity if they lose? They're at home ffs.
It’s not that hard to understand. We’ve been waiting 13 years since our last grand final and 36 years since our last premiership. We are burdened by the weight of history and the Cowboys are not. We’ve often been stopped by teams that are filled with superstars. This is about as good as it gets for a week 3 opponent. If not now then when? Would the Panthers have been excused for losing last season when they played one of the statistically best sides of all time in QLD? Or would it have been seen as a failure?

What about the Sharks in Sydney?

Our draw is OK, but it could have been better. I understand your point. Just think you are exaggerating.
That would have been the one outcome that was better but you can’t have it all your own way. This is as close to as good as it gets for a week 3 opponent.

If it was in Sydney, yes. I'd rather play in Townsville than Melbourne though.
We would be far bigger underdogs against most of the aforementioned teams even in Sydney compared to the Cowboys in Townsville.

The doubters are f**king idiots mate. We're a chance of losing on Friday. That's just a fact, and winning won't mean we were no chance of losing. Putting everything on one game is just dumb. Four years worth of games is a better measure of the coach than the results of week two or three of the finals.
FFS, this bullshit dialogue again... This is a big game - our biggest for many years.

This big game a test of the players' and coach's mettle. Judgment - on that basis - will be made on the outcome of this one game. So what's the point of even trotting out the sample size nonsense again?

Bandwagon

I agree with Kent with this eligibility garbage.

If you want to play for Samoa or Tonga that's fine you just can't play origin.

A line needs to be drawn.

If you want to play origin the requirement is you also have to play for Australia.

The flipside of that is that Origin then becomes an inducement to play for Australia, and a disincentive to play for another nation.

I guess it depends on what you think is more important, Origin, or building the international game. Myself I'm liking all these guys plating for the Pacific nations, it makes for a much stronger international game, and how good is Tonga vs Samoa these days for example.

Bandwagon

I believe there is - back to grand parents.

I think they have to define some rules around SOO that if you are born/play substantial junior footy from a young age in nsw or qld then you can play SOO ... no one like Sam Burgess blowing in from the UK getting to play SOO .... if that includes kiwis then so be it .... you should be entitled to have some foreign heritage also and encouraged to respect that.

But no flip flopping. You pick a country to play for and thats it. ... you just happen to also be allowed to play Origin cos your league career originated in nsw or qld

The rule is that you can't play Origin and represent a tier one nation ( other than Australia of course ) So Kiwis and Poms can't play for their nation and Origin, though technically they could switch mid career or something, but even then I believe there are time limits involved.

So if the Pacific nations are elevated to tier one, which ultimately has to be their goal, then it all sorts it's self out anyways as members of those countries teams will then no longer be able to play Origin.

Bandwagon

With the continual increase in Polynesian and a kiwi players in the NRL, It would get to a point where 75% of origin players are playing for a country other than Australia. So we would have more Australian players who have never represented their state than those who have.

As per above, if they get that strong, they won't be playing Origin, because they'll be lifted to tier one.

Noise

The rule is that you can't play Origin and represent a tier one nation ( other than Australia of course ) So Kiwis and Poms can't play for their nation and Origin, though technically they could switch mid career or something, but even then I believe there are time limits involved.

So if the Pacific nations are elevated to tier one, which ultimately has to be their goal, then it all sorts it's self out anyways as members of those countries teams will then no longer be able to play Origin.
When are they going to be ‘teir 1’? I’d argue Tonga should be teir 1 already. They finished ahead of NZ in the last World Cup, only losing their semi by 2 points to England. What else do they have to do? I reckon they will be classed as Tier 2 forever.

Bandwagon

When are they going to be ‘teir 1’? I’d argue Tonga should be teir 1 already. They finished ahead of NZ in the last World Cup, only losing their semi by 2 points to England. What else do they have to do? I reckon they will be classed as Tier 2 forever.

I'd agree they'd have to be close right now, they are currently ranked 2nd in the world, but I'd add the caveat that a coupla years probably isn't enough to establish them as tier one, 'cause ultimately I don't think you want countries going up and then down again based on form.

Why would they be picked from Origin players? Origin happened 6 months prior. A lot of the players picked on Kangaroo Tours came from Finals form.

??

The majority picked are Origin players from that year. You may get 1-2 bolters who haven’t played origin that year that make the 17.

Noise

I'd agree they'd have to be close right now, they are currently ranked 2nd in the world, but I'd add the caveat that a coupla years probably isn't enough to establish them as tier one, 'cause ultimately I don't think you want countries going up and then down again based on form.
They have been good enough since 2017. That was 5 years ago. How many years of being in that top echelon of teams do they need?

I have a mate whose dad got him an internship at one of the TV stations back in the day. He was mostly carrying equipment for one of the news crews. Anyway he reckons for any political news their go-to would be to drive out to 'the western suburbs' to get some vox pop from the dumbest looking bogans they could find. Pretty cruel. Anyway he hated it and joined the army instead.

The thing is it wouldn't be accepted now. But back then it still was grown adults doing it.
Today I was bailed up by some guy with Bi polar. He was on another planet tbh. And yes I wanted to get away from him but thought I would chat for 10 mins and not be a merkin. We ended up saying hands. His name was Tim. Meant nothing to me but I assume he would of enjoyed that conversation and made him feel good.
The thought of making fun of him is not funny in any way,

The doubters are f**king idiots mate. We're a chance of losing on Friday. That's just a fact, and winning won't mean we were no chance of losing. Putting everything on one game is just dumb. Four years worth of games is a better measure of the coach than the results of week two or three of the finals.

Sure. But the stats would be 3/11 and our only win in finals under BA was against teams who finished 7th or 8th and where the worse side in the finals series.