Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL clubs step up battle for Moltzen.

R2Coupe

Which CEO is it that failed to investigate the history of a player signed to his club for 2012 as reported in RLW? The player apparently failed a test with his old club. Hey St Jubbsy, do you know who it is and the identity of the player?:D

N.C.

Why is it the players responsibility? You are encouraged to find another club, you do and you sign. Surely the onus is on WT to do the right thing? What purpose lay in keeping all this hushed until now except to f**k people around? Moltzen wasn't wanted, so he was picked up elsewhere. If the release was the issue, why not sort it out at the time?

Tim you can't leave because we haven't released you

You told me I could look for another club?

Yeah but - we didn't mean it now Lui f**ked up/ didn't think you would get one/benji is not a happy camper/April fools!
Players are given permission to negotiate. To get a release from a contract, presumably all clubs in the mix would need to have some involvement in those negotiations. Those negotiations would inform the terms of release, as well as the terms of the player's contract... eg we'll pay this much for this long, you'll pay this much for this long, then we'll release with indemnity against injury etc etc. It's very rarely as simple as saying "see you later if you can find another deal elsewhere, just sign and be on your way".

As to why they would sit on it for so long - well we can all speculate on that. But does it matter? Why should the onus be on the Tigers here when the Dragons are the ones who've signed a worthless contract?

saints4ever

Players are given permission to negotiate. To get a release from a contract, presumably all clubs in the mix would need to have some involvement in those negotiations. Those negotiations would inform the terms of release, as well as the terms of the player's contract... eg we'll pay this much for this long, you'll pay this much for this long, then we'll release with indemnity against injury etc etc. It's very rarely as simple as saying "see you later if you can find another deal elsewhere, just sign and be on your way".

As to why they would sit on it for so long - well we can all speculate on that. But does it matter? Why should the onus be on the Tigers here when the Dragons are the ones who've signed a worthless contract?

To be honest I think It's one of the most important issues. Tigers were the ones who started things by giving him permission were they not? So why when he found a contract would they not follow it up either way? I realise they have a right to renege, my beef is why leave it till now? Makes no sense and reeks of arrogance, the very thing we were accused of because we announced an important signing instead of "sitting on it" till the tigers figured out if they wanted him or not.

Surely the Dragons were just as responsible to request a release as were the Tigers to give it. Neither did their part.

I suppose the Tigers had an ACE up their sleeve and thought why expose it.

Bottom line is these are multi million dollar businesses and just like any other business its survival of the fittest, no different to a CEO of any company pulling one over his competitor.

Tigers CEO has proven to be as arrogant as the Dragons CEO has proven to be trustworthy, unfortunetely when your playing in this arena being trustworthy and downright stupid are the same.

saints4ever

Surely the Dragons were just as responsible to request a release as were the Tigers to give it. Neither did their part.

I suppose the Tigers had an ACE up their sleeve and thought why expose it.

Bottom line is these are multi million dollar businesses and just like any other business its survival of the fittest, no different to a CEO of any company pulling one over his competitor.

Tigers CEO has proven to be as arrogant as the Dragons CEO has proven to be trustworthy, unfortunetely when your playing in this arena being trustworthy and downright stupid are the same.

Hard to disagree with you, but I know what type of character I would want as my CEO. Karma is a bitch

TrigaTheTiger

Anyone who has ever met Tauber would admit he's not the most detail oriented guy.

Hopefully he's learnt from this - although at his age.....

saints4ever

I've got nothing against schooling a rival and proving a point etc. There is a lesson to be learned from everything. Imo what humphries did is act like a merkin for the sake of acting like a merkin. He wasted everyones time until he got his chance to jump up and down saying "ha ha you can't have him!"
As the great 12th man once said, it was one big f**k up all round really.
This is the behaviour of a professional CEO nowadays? Wow

R2Coupe

Gibbs and Fifita were released to the Sharks during the same period. The releases and announcements at the time in the press from respective clubs appeared to be professionally done. Why then did this occur with Moltzen's transfer?

Dragons01

At the end of the day this whole situation isn't the best look for the West Tigers or Saints but especially Moltzen and his manager. Now none of us have heard anything from Moltzen himself so who knows what he really thinks? It comes down to the fact going on past articles at the time of the signing and quotes from Moltzen's manager that either they had been told to look around and he was free to go, which he signed with Saints or the manager made up the 'free to sign and look around' speech in which case it paints the manager and Moltzen in a very poor way.

It's easy, most weeks anyway - Moltzen plays for both teams he has a contract with :D

Will be difficult when they play each other, or have games at the same time or in different states, but hey, he should have thought of that before signing.

Seriously, if he reneges on his contract with St George, they would be entitled to go to court and sue him, either to make him honour the contract (unlikely), or to pay St George damages, eg for the cost of a replacement player, for their costs of recruiting a replacement and whatever costs they incur due to his actions disrupting their plans. St George could also potentially take out an injunction to stop him playing anywhere else.

He of course could then sue his manager for being negligent in not competently advising him on the contract matters.

This probably won't happen, it will be settled by negotiation.

All in all, plenty of amateurism on display by so called professional clubs, Moltzen and his manager.

Fordy20

I really don't understand what the problem is. Tim, like a bunch of other players was given permission to look elsewhere. Other players found positions elsewhere and negotiated a formal release from their current contracts. Tim did not. The Dragons announced they had signed him back in July and on the back of that announcement Humphreys stated that Tim had not negotiated a release. At that point everybody knew that Tim was still under contract to the Tigers to the end of 2012 and the NRL would not register two contracts at once, so if the Dragons wanted Tim for 2012, they would have to make sure Tim had a release first. They didn't do that, they still haven't done that and they've got no one to blame for themselves.

The funny thing is, nowhere have the Tigers said they want to keep Moltzen. They've merely reiterated their position that Moltzen doesn't have a release from his current contract. The Dragons need to decide firstly whether or not they want Moltzen and if they do, they need to start talking with Tauber and the Tigers about formalising a release from next season, instead of having a sook in media.

Dragons01

Humphries never stated that Moltzen was not released. That is why he made a statement only a couple of days ago that the 'tigers had sat on the fact that Tim was not released'. Back in July Humphries beef was the timing of the announcement by Saints nothing about Tim not being released. In fact an interview done with Moltzen shortly after the announcement went along the lines of 'I am glad that my future is now all sorted and I can just concentrate on my footy with the tigers'. So going by Moltzen's own statement and the comments from other tiger players they all knew Moltzen was gone.

As for sooking in the media, it was Humphries that had the big sook at the time of the signing and it is also him that has had the most to say so far on the issue. Humphries is the one that seems to like to let the media know what is going on not Saints.

Fordy20

Wests Tigers fuming as St George Illawarra sign youngster Tim Moltzen to three-year NRL contract
By staff writers with AAP FOX SPORTS July 08, 2011 3:43PM

Wests Tigers have responded angrily to St George Illawarra's announcement that Tim Moltzen has agreed to a three-year contract with the Dragons.
Moltzen will play with St George Illawarra from 2012, shoring up the youngster's future after question marks hung over his place within the Tigers team beyond the current season.

However Wests Tigers CEO Stephen Humphreys said in a statement that the signing was news to the club, also berating the Dragons for their timing and handling of the media release.

"The fact that the Dragons made the announcement this afternoon has come as a complete surprise to us," Humphreys said on Friday.

"We are extremely disappointed that they chose this course of action without any co-ordination or agreement with us.

"We have been in discussions with Tim Moltzen’s manager regarding his future but at this point have not formally agreed to release him from the final year of his playing contract with Wests Tigers.

"The action by the Dragons to make this announcement prematurely and without reference to us is arrogant and disrespectful to our Club and to Tim Moltzen.

"The fact that they made it on the eve of our game tonight is just plain poor form."

St George Illawarra CEO Peter Doust issued a further statement on Friday evening, following the Tigers' response.

"The announcement today by the Dragons of the signing of Tim Moltzen was based on information relayed to us about Tim's status with Wests Tigers in 2012 and after discussion with Tim and his management," Doust said.

"Our intention to make this announcement was communicated to Wests Tigers in advance of the announcement even though it has always been our understanding and the standard practice within the game that the club signing a player makes any such announcement.

"We do not understand the statement that our announcement is arrogant or disrespectful to the Wests Tigers club.

"Our objective was to release key information that was already being widely discussed."

The Terrigal Sharks junior is currently contracted with Wests Tigers and made his NRL debut against the Dragons in round one of the 2008 season.

Moltzen, 22, who has played at halfback, centre and fullback this season for the Tigers, is expected to fill the void created by Darius Boyd's decision to follow coach Wayne Bennett to Newcastle in 2012.

Moltzen's unexpected departure comes on the back of forwards Bryce Gibbs and Andrew Fifita cutting their stays short at the Tigers to join Cronulla.

Reports suggest lock Chris Heighington and winger Beau Ryan could also be on their way out of the club, which has been linked with Melbourne Storm international Adam Blair and rising Canberra star Josh Dugan.

Moltzen's manager Martin Tauber, who also handles the affairs of the utility's housemate and Tigers superstar Benji Marshall, did not immediately return AAP's call.

The bolded part is Humphries stating back in July that Moltzen was not released.

Dragons01

So they give the guy verbal permission to look around at other clubs and now 3 months later they do an about face? Humphirese makes a one sentence statement about how Moltzen is not released and then drops it and does not follow through with it at the time - why? It is common knowledge that Saints informed the Tigers 3 days before they announced the signing that Moltzen had signed with them(even the tigers own players were on twitter before the Saints announcement talking about Moltzen being gone) and yet Humphries again waits till Saints announce it and then does a song and dance.

Why would Moltzen and more importantly his manager even sign another contract if he was not released or thought he was released from the Tigers?

Fordy20

There is no about face. The club's position has been consistent from day one. They gave Moltzen permission to look around. This is not a formal release. If Tim wants out, all he has do is organise his release and I'm sure the club will give it to him. That's why I don't understand what the big deal is. All Doust had to do was check that Moltzen had been given a formal release and none of this garbage would be going on. The fact is he didn't and he announced the signing despite this and it's came back and bitten him on the arse.

It's not Humphreys responsibility to follow through with anything. He has Moltzen under contract. Tauber knew it, Moltzen knew it and the Dragons knew at least after Doust's premature announcement back in July. If the Dragons wanted Moltzen they should have done something about it.

I really don't understand what the problem is. Tim, like a bunch of other players was given permission to look elsewhere. Other players found positions elsewhere and negotiated a formal release from their current contracts. Tim did not. The Dragons announced they had signed him back in July and on the back of that announcement Humphreys stated that Tim had not negotiated a release. At that point everybody knew that Tim was still under contract to the Tigers to the end of 2012 and the NRL would not register two contracts at once, so if the Dragons wanted Tim for 2012, they would have to make sure Tim had a release first. They didn't do that, they still haven't done that and they've got no one to blame for themselves.

The funny thing is, nowhere have the Tigers said they want to keep Moltzen. They've merely reiterated their position that Moltzen doesn't have a release from his current contract. The Dragons need to decide firstly whether or not they want Moltzen and if they do, they need to start talking with Tauber and the Tigers about formalising a release from next season, instead of having a sook in media.

Not quite.
Players and coaches were quoted talking as if he was gone.

EG:
http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2011/07/09/3265423.htm?site=sydney&source=rss
Sheens claimed that the players were fully aware of Moltzen's planned departure and rejected suggestions that the timing of the announcement by the Dragons was the reason for the defeat.
"It's not as if they are being executed and being cut without contracts being paid. It's a professional game," he said.
Benji on Moltz leaving
''It's disappointing, but at the end of the day, it might be a good move for 'Moltz'; a new start, at a team that needs a fullback,'' Marshall said. ''With the form he showed on the weekend [against North Queensland], there are promising signs of what he can offer to the club.
''As a mate, it's sad to lose him. I just won't see him every day now.
Lawrence on positional reshuffle due to Moltz leaving
The Tigers' decisions to offload custodians Wade McKinnon and Tim Moltzen at year's end and sign Parramatta centre Joel Reddy have sparked talk of a reshuffle in the backline.
Marshall has been mentioned as a candidate to wear the No.1 jersey, a move that would allow him the freedom to unleash his freakish attacking plays anywhere on the field.
Youngster Curtis Sironen has been touted as a possible five-eighth, but Lawrence has replaced Marshall in the No.6 jersey before, with Tigers coaching staff previously likening the Test centre to Laurie Daley.

Reddy has said he could play fullback, wing or second-row but a shift by Lawrence to pivot would allow the Parramatta centre to play his best position and partner in-form Blake Ayshford.
"I'd have to think about it, have to have a good chat with Sheensy (coach Tim Sheens) about what his plans are," Lawrence said after the Tigers' 14-12 win over Manly at Bluetongue Stadium.
http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport...season-next-year/story-fn7sfxe7-1226105005155
Moltz himself on the ''move'' and the game against saints
''During the week, it's something I think about a little bit,'' Moltzen said of leaving the club. ''Coming up to the game, I'm definitely focused on the game and what I've got to do.
''The thing that makes me think about it is just having to move, all the stuff around it. But I'm just really trying to focus on now. We've got a great chance here. I don't want to focus on anything else other than what we've got to do.''

They really didnt do too much in dispelling anything

E/W Humpty

Fordy20

People seem to be getting confused here. Just because no formal release was granted doesn't mean the club wants to keep Moltzen. Humphreys never said anything because like the rest of the players and staff, he fully expected Tim to go and fully expected Tauber or the Dragons to sort out the issue of a release not being formalised.

N.C.

So why wouldn't we use that to our advantage if we needed or wanted to?