Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL Draft back on the agenda

MugaB

They were never getting him, The useless pricks in their front office just needed to sound important

No I am saying a draft puts them on the back foot, Infact may even keep them at the bottom of the ladder for longer
Yes.. very important like a very rich laywer, and sponsor and chairman, who can't get the NRL to overturn that dreaded call in the cows vs tigs game... that leadership..
My god... seriously you lost the game coz you arent defensive minded... you didn't win coz of 80 minutes of poor defense, not one howler at the end of the game... but we'll sue.. you'll see...
These are the clubs we are wanting to draft our best and brightest to

MugaB

Lol you have no idea. You can't just not go into the draft. You have to declare for the draft BEFORE you can enter the league. FMD some of these takes
Of course you can... there is no draft... you're talking hypotheticals... so hypothetically if im roosters and want Su'alii, ill find a way to get him.. thats the shit your gonna see till they give up on this dream of a draft... self intrest is in EVERY club.. and it will be in whatever institution that runs this "hypothetical acedemy" all these 1000s of draft players will come from... fmd.. draft... im calling it DAFT from now on

And as for "style" I'll be also backing titans to have a non-defensive "style" for the next decade the way they are going

MugaB

Yes. Wests won the NSWRL u17's

What is better
they keep all those players?

Or they can only keep a couple and send the rest away potentially to Roosters or someone good?
You got that wrong, they go to the titans, remember best picks go to where they are most needed, roosters would be lucky to even get a chance to nab even just one draft pick... titans will be hoarding at least 10

nick87

Yeah i know... souths told him NOT to get drafted... so they can pick him up

How on earth do Souths pull that off?
Souths and Saualii can strike whatever under the table deal they like, but how are Souths going to convince 16-17-18 other teams not to draft one of the best young players in the country over 3 rounds?

It's just not going to happen. Even if he complete tanks his interviews and pre draft process at some point someone in the 2nd or 3rd round will bet on the talent. What you're suggesting just isn't feasible.

How is best for the game?
Teams should be able to develop from within
I dont think its necessary (would much rather the NRL mandate that every NRL club HAS to spend $X on jnr development from its grant) but the argument is talent spread amongst teams more even especially for weaker teams, more consistent jnr development nationally and better scouting from clubs of players from beyond their backyard.

the risk of players going to union is massively overstated imo as is that we should have it for media attention. There's no evidence jnrs are going to France now and their salary gap between Australian/NZ union and NRL players is growing so quickly it wouldnt make financial sense to do so just to stay at home.

nick87

Of course you can... there is no draft... you're talking hypotheticals... so hypothetically if im roosters and want Su'alii, ill find a way to get him.. thats the shit your gonna see till they give up on this dream of a draft... self intrest is in EVERY club.. and it will be in whatever institution that runs this "hypothetical acedemy" all these 1000s of draft players will come from... fmd.. draft... im calling it DAFT from now on

And as for "style" I'll be also backing titans to have a non-defensive "style" for the next decade the way they are going
Since it's a hypothetical and we just get to make stuff up, what if Souths and the Roosters merge, use their combined resources to hire terrorists and nuke the Penrith junior district so they dont have a junior base to draw... WHAT THEN?!? WHAT SAY YOU NOW??

Goodness me. Can we at least keep this discussion rooted in some sembelence of f**king reality? haha.

MugaB

Since it's a hypothetical and we just get to make stuff up, what if Souths and the Roosters merge, use their combined resources to hire terrorists and nuke the Penrith junior district so they dont have a junior base to draw... WHAT THEN?!? WHAT SAY YOU NOW??

Goodness me. Can we at least keep this discussion rooted in some sembelence of f**king reality? haha.
Nope... and thats pretty out of line.. firstly they'd never merge.. absolutely kill each other before that would ever happen.. FACT!,

2ndly we have fisher harris, he could catch each of those nukes with his bare hands... the man is a defensive beast.. ALSO FACT!!

Thirdly a Draft will never happen.. REALITY!!... so yes its hypothetical garbage.. just like when dopey merkins bring up rationalization of Sydney
Screenshot_20201021-194946_Samsung Internet.jpg

Tweed Titan

Souths and Saualii can strike whatever under the table deal they like, but how are Souths going to convince 16-17-18 other teams not to draft one of the best young players in the country over 3 rounds?

It's just not going to happen. Even if he complete tanks his interviews and pre draft process at some point someone in the 2nd or 3rd round will bet on the talent. What you're suggesting just isn't feasible.
I wouldn't bother mate. They'll just concoct another fantasy scenario because Penrith fans are terrified of sharing their golden goose nursery. "What if the players decide to play semi-professional ice hockey in Canada to avoid the draft?"

It's obvious they have NFI how a draft works if you read the nonsense they are posting.

Logic won't work in this debate. As usual in RL self interest is the only consideration. Which is why the NRL is miles behind most professional leagues in professionalism.

Colk

I wouldn't bother mate. They'll just concoct another fantasy scenario because Penrith fans are terrified of sharing their golden goose nursery. "What if the players decide to play semi-professional ice hockey in Canada to avoid the draft?"

It's obvious they have NFI how a draft works if you read the nonsense they are posting.

Logic won't work in this debate. As usual in RL self interest is the only consideration. Which is why the NRL is miles behind most professional leagues in professionalism.

The biggest one is the dispute about transfer windows.

There was a journalist arguing that the current system where a player signs for another club more than 12 months out works well. Like seriously? No other competition does this because it is amateurish.

MugaB

Well yeah... its a competition... not like AFL where you each share the Trophy/Flag whatever every year, like pass the parcel...

Each club is a Business, in the business of winning, buy the best players grow the best players, buy the best coach and staff, development wins everytime... even if there was some magical DAFT, it wouldn't make these shit clubs any better... the shit teams are shit coz they are run shit.. and you wanna hand out talent like lollies to them, just your team is developing a bunch of nobody's, and spending the cap on the David Fafitas and Jarryd hasbeen Haynes

...get busy getting better or stay lazy repeating your failings - Robert Mugabe

nick87

Look i support a draft, i think a draft would be an amazing long term investment in the code. But as stated endlessly in this thread to get to that they first need to build and install a nationally government development pathway. And it has to have the faith and confidence of the clubs and junior development officers. And sadly self interest will always get in the way of agreement on that front.

So i doubt we'll ever see a draft, and may be that's for the best. May be the detractors are right that the national body would be a disaster for junior pathways. Whilst for a number of reasons, some of which are outlined here, i think the best model is for development and pathways to be handled by someone other than the clubs, i cant argue with anyone who doesn't have faith or confidence in his governing body to get that right.

But I have no question in my mind, if they got it right, and found a way to convince the clubs to give up their own self interest for the good of the code, that long term.

A nationally govern pathways program, with an NRL a salary cap, supplemented with an NRL draft would be the best thing for the code in terms of developing players, maximising revenue for the league (and thus players via the salary cap), providing a 365 day calendar of interest in the code, and to benefit expansion to non-traditional RL areas and improving parity across the league (and thus giving all fans hope, and drive their continued interest) would be foundation shifting for the code and could lead to it assuming it's rightful role as the nations #1 sport instead of being confined to the east coast.

I've got greater hopes for the sport of RL in this country than to be happy and content with where it is now.

Iamback

You haven't told me how Tigers are better off having the share their team of 17 year olds yet

Iamback

Again, who says he HAS to be ready for the draft?

nick87

Again, who says he HAS to be ready for the draft?

If he wants to play NRL footy, then the governance of the code would dictate his point of entry is through the draft. So if he's not "ready" to hit the draft because the Tigers have the #1 pick, fine. Go back to school for year 12. Many athletes have gone back to school rather than come out as early as they can. And the tigers will just have to select the next best.

But at some point if he wants to play NRL footy, he can delay it all he likes but he will be drafted and every year he skips the draft is another year of lost income and prolonging the period of his draft contract. And any manager will tell you that's not how we do business. Come out early, get the draft contract over and done with early so you can negotiation on a free market and get the big bucks.

We've seen this in other codes and money talks and this bullshit you're peddling, walks.

Iamback

Look i support a draft, i think a draft would be an amazing long term investment in the code. But as stated endlessly in this thread to get to that they first need to build and install a nationally government development pathway. And it has to have the faith and confidence of the clubs and junior development officers. And sadly self interest will always get in the way of agreement on that front.

So i doubt we'll ever see a draft, and may be that's for the best. May be the detractors are right that the national body would be a disaster for junior pathways. Whilst for a number of reasons, some of which are outlined here, i think the best model is for development and pathways to be handled by someone other than the clubs, i cant argue with anyone who doesn't have faith or confidence in his governing body to get that right.

But I have no question in my mind, if they got it right, and found a way to convince the clubs to give up their own self interest for the good of the code, that long term, a nationally govern pathways program, with an NRL a salary cap, supplemented with an NRL draft would be the best thing for the code in terms of developing players, maximising revenue for the league (and thus players via the salary cap), providing a 365 day calendar of interest in the code, and to benefit expansion to non-traditional RL areas and improving parity across the league (and thus giving all fans hope, and drive their continued interest) would be foundation shifting for the code and could lead to it assuming it's rightful role as the nations #1 sport instead of being confined to the east coast.

I've got greater hopes for the sport of RL in this country than to be happy and content with where it is now.

Who says there is an issue with Junior development?

Covid has put things behind but the last non Covid year in Jersey Flegg GF was Canberra v Souths

That game contained Timko, Ilias, Valemei who are now regulars due to being in those clubs systems

That same year in SG Ball was Manly v Dragons, Guys like Josh Schuster, Jayden Sullivan etc are now in squads to help bottom teams get into the 8

So the system works to get talent through, Senior clubs being run poorly is the issue