Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL Finals 2024

40% ball, all of it coming off the line, 10-2 count against, 13 errors, 2 HIAs in the first 2 tackles of the game, not a great recipe for a decent result in finals footy

All in all a par season, Top 4 would have been punching just above expectations. Huge ticker from Tom to not just come out in the condition he is in but actually compete as well. Lehi Hopoate looks a big find from the season

NRL really need to sort out their finals scheduling

Shouldn’t have Sharks going into next week with 8 day prep, the Roosters with 6 day prep, foresight should have seen it set up that both sides have 7. Same happened this weekend with Roosters 8 days and Manly 6

Think it is definitely time to look at an idea I heard from Horo that you make the game day squads 18 but you can only play 17 of them. The amount of outside backs getting knocked out early these days is getting higher and that extra cover on the bench would help the games

Izz

Dunno what to think about last night's game. Roosters definitely the dominant team, though ref didn't do Manly any favours. The chooks have the team to compete against Melbourne but I don't think they will

Blair

I don't know what's going on but my mad Chooks mate has been throwing out his Roosters (and Blues) gear for years.

He always had so much stuff but, as he told me of course, his last Roosters jersey was tossed after their finals loss to Penrith (he walked out at halftime and, as it was a cold night, and it was the only shirt on his back, he had to wait until he got home to chilly Lithgow to dump it).

I just shouted over the street to him today, 'what are ya gonna wear to the grand final?!'

I'm just kidding, of course, they won't make it, but why chuck out your gear?

• Haha
Reactions: Izz

Penrose Warrior

Hahaha mate no offense to you, but certainly to him...what a f**king idiot :D

Reminds me of when I threw out my media pass before the finals in 2008, because I wasn't going to be going to Mt Smart again. I didn't do it in a heat of passion, I just didn't know we could host if we beat the Storm.

Blair

Hahaha mate no offense to you, but certainly to him...what a f**king idiot :D

Reminds me of when I threw out my media pass before the finals in 2008, because I wasn't going to be going to Mt Smart again. I didn't do it in a heat of passion, I just didn't know we could host if we beat the Storm.
We were never going to beat the Storm anyway (even at the death Michael Witt was onto that vibe). So slinging the media pass made sense. However, should you have kept it as a souvenir?

Blair

Finals Week Three:

Friday: Storm v Easts at Melbourne 7:50pm (AEST).
Saturday: Penrith v Cronulla at Homebush 7:50pm (AEST).

FMD, Now Hynes is being attacked for saying “80mins of football isn’t the most important part of my life”. Tallis says he is paid for it so it should be the most important thing, and don’t play if it’s not. They say don’t judge a book by its cover, but Tallis is as braindead as he looks

Blair

FMD, Now Hynes is being attacked for saying “80mins of football isn’t the most important part of my life”. Tallis says he is paid for it so it should be the most important thing, and don’t play if it’s not. They say don’t judge a book by its cover, but Tallis is as braindead as he looks
I work in a supermarket. So, according to Tallis, that's the most important thing in my life?

Penrose Warrior

Foxsports.com.au asked Hynes why he thinks he’s the most scrutinised player in the NRL.

“I actually don’t know. You’d probably have to ask your colleagues and everyone around you (in the media),” he said.

“(But) when you win an award like that (Dally M Medal) and you sign a long-term contract, it’s just natural that it comes and it’s going to come throughout my career.

“You’ve just got to embrace it and take the good with the bad, don’t ride the highs too high and don’t ride the lows too low and just deal with it.

“I’m not worried about it, I’ve got a good healthy life, I’ve got really good people around me. My life isn’t defined by an 80-minute game of football.

Fair enough. Nor should it be. Tallis making something of nothing. Hynes is not a top-tier halfback. He's playing to the level of his ability as a 7 - great ball runner, not near an elite game organiser. We've seen that in finals, Origins, in big games, he's just not that top tier guy. Not his fault. The Sharks overspent on him on the back of a 2022 regular season tear, that's why he gets criticised. No one says a thing if he's on $600k.

JJ

Isn't having that perspective the reason the Warriors sacked Lauiti'iti in 2004
Yep, thankfully Gordie is just a talking head and nobody much cares. Hybes is right, but is showing Johnson like petulance at the attention, whic seldom plays well no matter how good you are, or what a decent human you might be

Blair

It feels like a long season. We started a week earlier in LV, didn't we? The Warriors are long gone, Manly are out (Beave brings his energy when they're in), and it's a predictable grand final (with a likely - four-in-a-row - Penrith to win).

I'm eyeing my old cricket books on the shelf. Who else is running out of footy steam?

Big Marn

It feels like a long season. We started a week earlier in LV, didn't we? The Warriors are long gone, Manly are out (Beave brings his energy when they're in), and it's a predictable grand final (with a likely - four-in-a-row - Penrith to win).

I'm eyeing my old cricket books on the shelf. Who else is running out of footy steam?
The NFL season is my full focus now. Will catch the finals games but not excited.
And the Spring Racing. Hopefully some good kiwi raiders this season.