Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL probes racial abuse

I think he's referring to the allegation that ground security identified the individuals making the racist remarks and did not evict them.

That one's been mentioned by a few who were nearby...the blokes should be sacked. They're happy to tell fans to stop shouting support for their side, but not to kick out those who actually do something wrong. Weak as water

This has probably already been pointed out but why would someone racially abuse an Islander player from another team when your own team has about 10 players of Islander background in their first-grade squad... What idiots...

Aside from seeing your team playing like directionless amateurs, dealing with drunk bogans must be the worst element of going to the footy.

It shouldn't matter who it happens to, whether it's Petero or Richie Williams, racial abuse is just plain unnacceptable. No ifs, buts, or differing levels of concern depending on the player.

Petero should have spilled more than these morons beers...
Agree.

If you weed out Timmah's strange micro-debate from this thread, it's good to see overall condemnation for racial abuse coming from all quarters here.

This is a massive over reaction without a doubt. What do you expect from dumb footy fans? There's always going to be a select few at every game who are going to act like idiots. Petero should be expecting to be copping it from opposing fans.

I'm not condoning it, I'm just saying this kind of thing would happen at every single game. It just so happened that Petero heard what was said and knocked their beer over. If he hadn't done that this wouldn't have become public. But the fact he did that and kids saw it meant he had to explain his actions. And his reaction was fair enough, and he should be congratulated for being so humble and apologising to the club, that is not needed and shows what a good bloke Petero is.

I don't think it's a big deal, everyone knows there's a certain percentage of supporters at every club who have a few too many and act like idiots. That's society in general.
Don't you think something should be done about it though? Don't you think it should be stamped out of football crowds, whichever hoem ground it is? Don't you think the security should turf these morons out, or they be identified from video footage and banned from future games?

It's alright saying "that's how society is", but ask yourself, should there be a place for those attitudes in a paying crowd when guys of all backgrounds are running around for our entertainment?

Two incidents in two years is suddenly a pattern is it? It's nothing like your own club's situation 2 - 3 years ago. Fact is abuse and racial abuse is thrown by fans at players every single game. It's just the fact that in 99% per cent of cases the players are so far away to hear it or choose to ignore it. To single out Parramatta for this incident is unjustified.

You may like to think that every rugby league fan out there is a goody goody two shoes, but that's not the case. It was poor form what was directed at Petero but anyone who thinks this is an indivual case is turning a blind eye. It happens at every game, whether it's at Parramatta from Parramatta fans, opposition fans, or at other side's home grounds from their fans or the away team fans. It's not ideal, but it's something we should be expecting.

Wow, overboard much? I'm not suggesting every RL fan is an angel and I'm not suggesting the problem is confined to Parramatta's fans - but most of the time it's between fans in the stands - this is the second such incident in two years between a player or official and a fan/fans. That's what's worrying - it's much less common than the other types of incident. Further to your point regarding the "racial abuse is thrown around at every game" - that's nice, doesn't make it ok.

murraymob

parra fans was the area the fools where sitting in general admission or season tickets reserved.If resevred then the club can find out who they are and ban them

Wow, overboard much? I'm not suggesting every RL fan is an angel and I'm not suggesting the problem is confined to Parramatta's fans - but most of the time it's between fans in the stands - this is the second such incident in two years between a player or official and a fan/fans. That's what's worrying - it's much less common than the other types of incident. Further to your point regarding the "racial abuse is thrown around at every game" - that's nice, doesn't make it ok.

It's only an incident if we hear about it. What happened at Manly last year was unacceptable but this is completely different. Fans are always going to abuse the opposition players, you're right it's not ok, but being rascist is in certain people's blood and to cop a bit of flak from a small portion of the crowd shouldn't be a big deal overall.

Why is it especially worrying that it's between fans and an official/player?? Just because it's less common why does it mean it's any more or less serious?

Most areas are a mix MM, with some season ticketed seats sold amongst others you can buy on the day.

Either way, it's been pointed out that many single match ticket purchases are made on credit card these days, so it might be easy to identify the party from that and ban them (provided video footage can identify the seats), if we are serious about not just accepting that "this stuff happens" in our game.

but being rascist is in certain people's blood and to cop a bit of flak from a small portion of the crowd shouldn't be a big deal overall.
*cough* bullsh*t *cough*

That's the worst excuse condoning this behaviour I have read. You can't be serious?

murraymob

i hope you can find them as parra is a great club and there has never been bad blood between the two clubs .In fact most supporters know each other and the odd bet between the two has been known to be made.It cost me a case of beer last year. But am looking good for the case this year

Exactly my concern bartman, that's what I'm getting at. And yes it should be more of a concern if this behaviour is directed at players and officials. It's an absolutely disgraceful act.

Don't you think something should be done about it though? Don't you think it should be stamped out of football crowds, whichever hoem ground it is? Don't you think the security should turf these morons out, or they be identified from video footage and banned from future games?

It's alright saying "that's how society is", but ask yourself, should there be a place for those attitudes in a paying crowd when guys of all backgrounds are running around for our entertainment?

To a point yes. No, I don't think they should be banned. It's a slippery slope. If we ban people for making rascist remarks to players, are we going to suddenly ban fans that make rascist remarks in general in the crowd? Then do we ban fans who swear in front of the kiddies at players when they make a mistake? Or swear in general when a team stuffs up?

It's not good, but that's this sort of stuff should be expected at a live sports game. It's not ping pong, people get rowdy and throw a few words around.

To a point yes. No, I don't think they should be banned. It's a slippery slope. If we ban people for making rascist remarks to players, are we going to suddenly ban fans that make rascist remarks in general in the crowd? Then do we ban fans who swear in front of the kiddies at players when they make a mistake? Or swear in general when a team stuffs up?

It's not good, but that's this sort of stuff should be expected at a live sports game. It's not ping pong, people get rowdy and throw a few words around.

Umm.....of-f**king-course we should. Racism is not acceptable, end of story.

There's a difference between swearing in disgust and racial vilification of somebody, be it a fan, player or official on either end of the stick.

Why do you think the Singh/Symonds/Hayden war was such a big deal this past summer?

*cough* bullsh*t *cough*

That's the worst excuse condoning this behaviour I have read. You can't be serious?

So we shouldn't be allowed to boo individual players then? FFS I've already stated i'm against the fan's actions in regards to Petero so you've no right to state i'm condoning their behaviour as I've done no such thing.

What I'm saying is that players in general have a high profile and should be expecting to cop it at an opponents ground. Whether it's due to race or due to other factors. It's not very nice and Petero should have the right to be angry but overall it's part of the game and should just be ignored rather than making a huge deal about it.

I think we can expect swearing at sports games, especially since they stopped arresting people for obscene language unless they really go over the top. Some clubs had family areas/hills/terraces, where there is less/no beer, and people that are offended by the swearing can escape it or expect it can be clamped down on.

But racism is loads different and loads worse than some swearing. And unlike Timmah I don't think it matters whether the racist comment is to a player/official or to other fans. If a complaint is made it should be acted upon, and there is no place for racist abuse in our sporting crowds - or our wider society for that matter. But I take it from your forgiving stance of these racists Eels Dude that you'd disagree?

In English rugby league, they've been running this campaign pretty high profile for the past three years - http://www.therfl.co.uk/~therflc/clientdocs/Respect Brochure.pdf
- which addresses racism among other things, and league is more known a sa family game when compared to the thuggery and racism of soccer crowds over there.

About time the NRL did something similar and high profile, I reckon? And get people in general having a different opinion of league to the damage done by off-field incidents over the past 5 or six years.

murraymob

this was not just general comments but directed to the face of a player no more than a few feet away.There is no excuse and this sport does not need these clowns ban them Look at the damage they have given your club .I would think you would want them banned

So we shouldn't be allowed to boo individual players then? FFS I've already stated i'm against the fan's actions in regards to Petero so you've no right to state i'm condoning their behaviour as I've done no such thing.

What I'm saying is that players in general have a high profile and should be expecting to cop it at an opponents ground. Whether it's due to race or due to other factors. It's not very nice and Petero should have the right to be angry but overall it's part of the game and should just be ignored rather than making a huge deal about it.
I strongly disagree. And in my view by making such an excuse you are condoning the behaviour toward Petero, and the future continuation of it...

Why not take a strong stand against, if you're really against the actions at the ground, and in the wider community.

Umm.....of-f**king-course we should. Racism is not acceptable, end of story.

Well do we ban the rest then? Where do you draw the line between what is acceptable and what isn't? Don't get me wrong, I think it's definately unnacceptable. But if we ban everyone who may offend others at the footy, and let's face it there's many minority groups out there and every individual takes offence to different things, we'll be left with 5000 at every game.