Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL probes racial abuse

Well do we ban the rest then? Where do you draw the line between what is acceptable and what isn't? Don't get me wrong, I think it's definately unnacceptable. But if we ban everyone who may offend others at the footy, and let's face it there's many minority groups out there and every individual takes offence to different things, we'll be left with 5000 at every game.
Please read the Respect brochure I linked to above, and then tell me what you think.

Angry_eel

parra fans was the area the fools where sitting in general admission or season tickets reserved.If resevred then the club can find out who they are and ban them
Those guys were not Season Ticket Holders. I have never seen them there before and i have gone to most games and i recognise all the season ticket holders around me.

VictoryFC

I think we can expect swearing at sports games, especially since they stopped arresting people for obscene language unless they really go over the top. Some clubs had family areas/hills/terraces, where there is less/no beer, and people that are offended by the swearing can escape it or expect it can be clamped down on.

But racism is loads different and loads worse than some swearing. And unlike Timmah I don't think it matters whether the racist comment is to a player/official or to other fans. If a complaint is made it should be acted upon, and there is no place for racist abuse in our sporting crowds - or our wider society for that matter. But I take it from your forgiving stance of these racists Eels Dude that you'd disagree?

In English rugby league, they've been running this campaign pretty high profile for the past three years - http://www.therfl.co.uk/~therflc/clientdocs/Respect%20Brochure.pdf
- which addresses racism among other things, and league is more known a sa family game when compared to the thuggery and racism of soccer crowds over there.

About time the NRL did something similar and high profile, I reckon? And get people in general having a different opinion of league to the damage done by off-field incidents over the past 5 or six years.

I almost let that slide, almost.

Can you please get your ******* facts straights first? Soccer fans are racist over there? First Ive heard of it. In fact I think you'll find they are very accepting of all races. Might be a problem in Serbia, Croatia, or even Spain if I dare go to that length, but the EPL? Sorry, you've dished that out of your arse.

Secondly, they're thugs hey? Well, that period used to exist. Measures have been taken, and as far as Im aware, there havent been too many issues with security.

And the whole which has a better family environment argument is useless.

YOU'RE ALLOWED TO HAVE BEER AT THE RUGBY, you aren't at the soccer - thats been banned for a while from what I remember. So whats more family friendly? Whats more likely to start trouble? Please...get back to the drawing board

I strongly disagree. And in my view by making such an excuse you are condoning the behaviour toward Petero, and the future continuation of it...

Why not take a strong stand against, if you're really against the actions at the ground, and in the wider community.

It's not an excuse. I'm not condoning the group's behaviour at all. I don't want to see rugby league games turn into political debates. There were several idiots there who made a fool out of themselves. There are at every club. Let's move on and get over it. Perhaps Bryan Fletcher should have been banned for playing NRL forever too.

pantherdude

I was at the game yesterday and what i heard when petero was warming up near the sideline was a lot worse than the already bad comments that ended up in the papers!He was called a black c.. numerous times!I was dissapointed.

Well do we ban the rest then? Where do you draw the line between what is acceptable and what isn't? Don't get me wrong, I think it's definately unnacceptable. But if we ban everyone who may offend others at the footy, and let's face it there's many minority groups out there and every individual takes offence to different things, we'll be left with 5000 at every game.

Anyone who abuses or vilifies anyone, be it a person or a group, at the footy should receive some kind of censure. I'm not talking "Oh shut the f**k up" to some annoying fan here, I'm talking abuse. It's not about what offends every single person individually, but what offends them as a whole. Anyone not offended by racism is either very naive or very silly.

I almost let that slide, almost.

Can you please get your ******* facts straights first? Soccer fans are racist over there? First Ive heard of it. In fact I think you'll find they are very accepting of all races. Might be a problem in Serbia, Croatia, or even Spain if I dare go to that length, but the EPL? Sorry, you've dished that out of your arse.

Secondly, they're thugs hey? Well, that period used to exist. Measures have been taken, and as far as Im aware, there havent been too many issues with security.

And the whole which has a better family environment argument is useless.

YOU'RE ALLOWED TO HAVE BEER AT THE RUGBY, you aren't at the soccer - thats been banned for a while from what I remember. So whats more family friendly? Whats more likely to start trouble? Please...get back to the drawing board
:lol: Head in the sand much?

Did you happen to be in Germany for the World Cup, and witness the racially-tolerant English soccer fans brought to Stuttgart just days after the Socceroos match? Let's see if I can find a link... here's one with a video for you to watch: http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2006/06/24/sportsline/main1749335.shtml?source=RSS&attr=_1749335

Let's see, racism amongst supporters in the premier league - here's a link for you, deny at will...
http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/footb...objectid=18711977&siteid=89520-name_page.html

Thuggery... much improved since the 70s, I'll give you that. But have you been there and seen what steps they needed to improve it? There are more cops at Manchester Station on PL gameday than we'll get people in the crowd at ANZ tonight... compare it to the much mroe rleaxed police presence for the rugby league Grand Finals played also at Old Trafford, and that will give you the answer of which is more family friendly.

Also a simple head count of the number of women and children present for each code is a good indicator of where the success lies in fasmily friendly sporting events - and it's not with Premier League soccer, when compared to (any) other sports in England. Looking forward to what you can turn up to show I'm talking out of my arse :lol:.

Oh, and just because alcohol is banned AT the soccer, doesn't mean the crowds don't have an absolute skinful before they even get to the ground... which causes just as much if not more trouble as if they had limited alcohol on sale within the ground, as they do for rugby. Any links about any rowdy, misbehaving, or racist rugby crowds (either code) in England to offer champ?

It's not an excuse. I'm not condoning the group's behaviour at all. I don't want to see rugby league games turn into political debates. There were several idiots there who made a fool out of themselves. There are at every club. Let's move on and get over it. Perhaps Bryan Fletcher should have been banned for playing NRL forever too.
Is that code for "let's forget about it, rather than do something about improving it"?

Rugby league doesn't have to turn into poilitcal debates, it's just when fans are in a public setting they should be responsible for showing respect to each other, and the sport they are supporting, or they should be shown the door. Simple as that, no politics about it, just respect.

And for the record I did think Bryan Flecther got away very lightly...

I was at the game yesterday and what i heard when petero was warming up near the sideline was a lot worse than the already bad comments that ended up in the papers!He was called a black c.. numerous times!I was dissapointed.
I figured the comments reported couldn't have been the worse of it.

Really disappointed to hear that, and hope that the idiots repsonsible are found, banned, and hell, even charged under the law.

Please read the Respect brochure I linked to above, and then tell me what you think.

That brochure makes very interesting reading but is very open ended. Clauses 1 (c) (e) (f) could be violated simple by opening your mouth. If you kicked out everyone who violated Clause 1(c) you would end up with a crowd of 0. Clause (f) could potentially result in every away fan being ejected. I'm glad you posted that because that's what I'm getting at. It's very hard to draw a line as to what's acceptable at a footy game and what isn't.

Dutchy

Petero should reimberse the jobless westies $6 for the Beer. They cant afford much because all their life savings got thrown at Jamie Lyon last season. Living in poverty...shame :(

Thanks for reading it.

You're right, any code or law runs the risk of being taken to the nth degree. But used with a little common sense, it helps people decide for themselves what is acceptable behaviour, and helps them not overstep the line.

In everyday life we don't accept someone calling someone a black merkin to their face, or near enough so they might hear, do we? Why should it be any different at the footy, regardless of the issue of where you might draw the line on other swearing and farting etc...?

Thanks for reading it.

You're right, any code or law runs the risk of being taken to the nth degree. But used with a little common sense, it helps people decide for themselves what is acceptable behaviour, and helps them not overstep the line.

In everyday life we don't accept someone calling someone a black merkin to their face, or near enough so they might hear, do we? Why should it be any different at the footy, regardless of the issue of where you might draw the line on other swearing and farting etc...?

That's a really good point. I personally believe footy can bring out the best and worst of people. We're all passionate supporters are it can fire certain people up.

For example, I went to the game yesterday with a best mate who's a Panthers supporter, he was worried bout taking bringing his new gf along cause he always fires up at the footy and didn't want her to see how he acted. And he's most well behaved guy in normal society but just a very passionate panthers fan. He swore a lot and got really angry when we scored late, but that's what happens with passionate supporters.

My point is that there's a lot of blokes who's emotions go to a new level when watching their footy side. I'm not condoning their behaviour, it's just a different situation where people cannot control themselves as easily. Doesn't mean they're rascist or bad people.

My point is that there's a lot of blokes whos emotions go to a new level when watching their footy side. I'm not condoning their behaviour, it's just a different situation where people cannot control themselves as easily. Doesn't mean they're rascist or bad people.

No excuse whatsoever. Thats like using alcohol as an excuse.
"Oh he is a great great guy, but when he drinks he becomes violent and hits me"
Or if a player hits someone high..."Oh its not his go, he is not that type of player" Reaaaaaaaaaally....then why did he do it.
You should never use racial slurs against towards anyone...whether it is Petero 70cents(i wish it still was)a litre or John Papadopolous who runs the local deli in Haberfield.

That's a really good point. I personally believe footy can bring out the best and worst of people. We're all passionate supporters are it can fire certain people up.

For example, I went to the game yesterday with a best mate who's a Panthers supporter, he was worried bout taking bringing his new gf along cause he always fires up at the footy and didn't want her to see how he acted. And he's most well behaved guy in normal society but just a very passionate panthers fan. He swore a lot and got really angry when we scored late, but that's what happens with passionate supporters.

My point is that there's a lot of blokes who's emotions go to a new level when watching their footy side. I'm not condoning their behaviour, it's just a different situation where people cannot control themselves as easily. Doesn't mean they're rascist or bad people.
I like your point about the gf seeing him at the footy for the first time, I've been in that situation and was scared the girl in question would be turned off by a swear fest :lol:

But racist attitude is a different thing to me? It doesn't have to be controlled by someone if it's not there in the first place. I strongly believe racism in the form of calling people black merkins or whatever is the stupidist human attitude that it is possible to have, whether brought out through excited passion or not.

I'm not going to ever change how certain people think in their lives, but we need to change the view that it's expected or alright for people to be racist at football matches.

No excuse whatsoever. Thats like using alcohol as an excuse.
"Oh he is a great great guy, but when he drinks he becomes violent and hits me"
Or if a player hits someone high..."Oh its not his go, he is not that type of player" Reaaaaaaaaaally....then why did he do it.
You should never use racial slurs against towards anyone...whether it is Petero 70cents(i wish it still was)a litre or John Papadopolous who runs the local deli in Haberfield.

Please read through all my posts instead of just commenting on a single one. As i've said for the 100th time in this thread i'm not condoning anyone's behaviour. The post of mine you commented on was was one directed specifically at bartman, who I have a lot of respect for, and my comments were in regards to an ongoing discussion over the past couple of hours. If you want to butt in and have your 2 cents worth then fair enough, but at least read through it beforehand so you know what you're talking about.

I like your point about the gf seeing him at the footy for the first time, I've been in that situation and was scared the girl in question would be turned off by a swear fest :lol:

But racist attitude is a different thing to me? It doesn't have to be controlled by someone if it's not there in the first place. I strongly believe racism in the form of calling people black merkins or whatever is the stupidist human attitude that it is possible to have, whether brought out through excited passion or not.

I'm not going to ever change how certain people think in their lives, but we need to change the view that it's expected or alright for people to be racist at football matches.

It's great you feel that way, ideally everyone should have your way of thinking. Unfortunately I don't think it's shared by a majority of society.

To be honest, I really think 'rascism' isn't really rascism, but an individual's easy way of offending someone. I think that's why people do it. I don't think they're rascist in nature. Rather they just want to piss someone off or offend them in the easiest way possible. Petero's black and that's why he copped the monket tag. If he was white and openly gay, he'd have been called a "dirty twig" instead.

It's a good idea to try and monitor it from fans. Clubs doing public awareness may work, ejecting people on gameday probably wouldnt though. But letting them know it's not accepted prior could hold their tongues.

I still think its' stupid, whether it's done by racism or sexuallity or hair colour. It should be enough to comment on a guy's game performeance to put him down... Sironen was always a bludger, and you could offend him when he was standing bunched behind play by yelling out, "why don't you take the ball up Sirro".

Half the battle with getting respectful behaviour is the education side of it, the articles or ads in the big league magazine, billboards at grounds, messages from players on the big screens. Better to treat it with a carrot to help people understand why they need to reign in it than just with a stick for when they overstep a line they weren't given the chance to understand.

The league and clubs need to take responsibility, for what they want to happen inside their own fences.

I still think its' stupid, whether it's done by racism or sexuallity or hair colour. It should be enough to comment on a guy's game performeance to put him down... Sironen was always a bludger, and you could offend him when he was standing bunched behind play by yelling out, "why don't you take the ball up Sirro".

Half the battle with getting respectful behaviour is the education side of it, the articles or ads in the big league magazine, billboards at grounds, messages from players on the big screens. Better to treat it with a carrot to help people understand why they need to reign in it than just with a stick for when they overstep a line they weren't given the chance to understand.

The league and clubs need to take responsibility, for what they want to happen inside their own fences.

Ideally I agree but I think it comes down to the individual. It's not football it's society in general. At the Shark's game the other week I was sitting in front of a bloke who kept abusing the Eels', swearing at the "coconuts" all game. With his two kids next to him. It'll be them doing the same thing in 20 years. Education shouldn't be taught by the clubs. Everyone with those opinions is going to have them deeply rooted inside, a billboard or ad isn't going to teach anything.

I agree with your idea, but I really think it's something people have to be taught personally, and have the message reported so. It's not going to work otherwise.