Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL Team up with Bon Jovi for 2011 theme song

Yeah I dunno about the song, not up lifting enough and hardly any reference to Rugby League, but it'll be certainly be a good marketing campaign depending on what they put in the ads.

We'll just see how it goes, I mean you cant please everyone, if its a flop we'll try it again in 2012.

I personally wasnt expecting anything that special, since the NRL dumped "Thats My Team" (apart from 2008) theyve either tried too much or havent made much effort.

PaulyTom

Looking forward to seeing the commercial.

I would have preferred Puff Daddy, Beyonce or Usher though. Now that would have got the youngsters through the gates.

ouwet

http://www.triplem.com.au/sydney/mu...-new-aussie-nrl-theme-song/20110210-bd97.html

For anyone interested. Here's a version to NRL footage that Triple M did. Sounds a lot better put in perspective.

That's got me pumped! Bring on the Footy!

This is our House!

I remember people on this forum bagging "That's my team"... One of RL's biggest problem is it's own supporters constantly bag it out! No matter what the AFL does, it's supporters talk it up!!!!! You guys haven't even seen the Ad yet FFS!

PaulyTom

I reckon the song will really catch on, first time I heard it I thought it was ok for a song I had never heard. After a few listens I was really getting into it. I can envisage that the song will be infectious.

macavity

what does Bon Jovi say about the NRL?

it says we are a bunch of deaf bogans, that is what it says....

horrible.

Scarves

I can't believe the amount of people being negative and sulking about this song and the move to get Bon Jovi on board as part of the promotion machine.

This will be a new anthem, it's here for the next three years and when the new hand picked choreographed footage is added and the finished product hits the screens I'm sure it will look good, pump us up and do the code proud.

Bon Jovi are the biggest international act ever to be associated with our game like them or not. It is a massive coup for the code, it is massive promotion for our code both here, interstate and abroad, and it's going to be an international song that represents our code with the big Bon Jovi name. It's also fantastic the way Jon Bon is talking up our game.

All I see is win win win win here. Get our act together Rugby League fans... get on board, support the code and support this campaign.

ParraEelsNRL

I can't believe the amount of people being negative and sulking about this song and the move to get Bon Jovi on board as part of the promotion machine.

This will be a new anthem, it's here for the next three years and when the new hand picked choreographed footage is added and the finished product hits the screens I'm sure it will look good, pump us up and do the code proud.

Bon Jovi are the biggest international act ever to be associated with our game like them or not. It is a massive coup for the code, it is massive promotion for our code both here, interstate and abroad, and it's going to be an international song that represents our code with the big Bon Jovi name. It's also fantastic the way Jon Bon is talking up our game.

All I see is win win win win here. Get our act together Rugby League fans... get on board, support the code and support this campaign.

:clap:

juro

Finally got to listen to the song last night. It was okay. There were some good bits and some flat bits. You can see it is written as a generic sports anthem. Nothing specific, but instilling tribalism, which fits pretty well for rugby league.

I think it would look good with a large crowd singing a few lines in the official promo.

forward pass

Gotta laugh at people on here who think the NRL should have picked an artist that absolutely everyone loves.......................?????

There is no such thing. Whomever they picked was going to have detractors. Even if they picked AC/DC there would have been complaints from some quarters.

I think it is a great move by the NRL - even though I can take or leave Bon Jovi.

flamin

If this forum was around in the 80/90s can you imagine what people would be saying about the selection of Tina Turner???

I'll wait for the ad and its impact til I make a judgement.

I like the idea.
As soon as i heard it I immediately thought of those poor kids in the auskick programs in Western Sydney schools.
This is our House! F Off AFL.

Billythekid

It actually seems to focus on of the great things about league, the big hits. Hope we see plenty of that in whatever campaign the NRL comes up with.

Dont get me wrong, I like heaps of Bon Jovi's music - but, this song is a dud & the NRL, as always, has gone for a cheap option. Big name band, cheap song.

I think it is embarassing - just like the "entertainment" that is given at the GF every year. It really is disgraceful.....

For my 2 cents worth - given the current "war" between the NRL & AFL - I would have been shoving it in their faces with Frankie Goes To Hollywood's "Two Tribes".

I have thought for years that this would be a great theme song for the greatest game on earth....

1 Eyed TEZZA

For my 2 cents worth - given the current "war" between the NRL & AFL - I would have been shoving it in their faces with Frankie Goes To Hollywood's "Two Tribes".

I have thought for years that this would be a great theme song for the greatest game on earth....

Yeessss, thats a SUPER idea!

Dont get me wrong, I like heaps of Bon Jovi's music - but, this song is a dud & the NRL, as always, has gone for a cheap option. Big name band, cheap song.

I think it is embarassing - just like the "entertainment" that is given at the GF every year. It really is disgraceful.....

You're missing the point that the NRL are using one of the biggest bands in the world to market their product, and at people that don't generally watch the sport. Having Bon Jovi associated with the NRL is a great thing regardless of what song they perform. And this song if you listen to the lyrics was designed to be sports anthem and while far from a great song overall, perfectly suits an advertising campaign. Having people in Melbourne, Perth, Adelaide etc turning on their TV and seeing Bon Jovi belt out a tune with NRL footage in the background is great marketing for the game for those that aren't followers.

And Two Tribes was used by Super League in 1997. And that idea is definately the wrong message to send in an advertising campaign. Let's focus on promoting our own game instead of bringing AFL into it. Last thing we need in an advertising campaign is 'us vs them' battle. Keep in mind the idea is not to advertise the game to us diehard followers, but those who are casual supporters, or not supporters at all.