Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL theme song for 2005? we need a new one!

redVgirl

since they have trotted out 'thats my team' 2 yrs in a row, do you think they are going to use it again next year? im all for conistency and its a good little ditty but come ooonnnn! something a bit different would be tops.

so im wondering if the great league minds (hehe) on this forum have any suggestions? no one can deny the best campaign ever was barnsey and tina turner, simply the best! back in the winfield cup days.... :cry: mmeeemmmmories!

now clearly the best theme songs are ones that everyone knows, but have been revamped a bit. i remember back in 95 or 96 they used pat benatars 'All Fired Up' in an origin montage and it was AWESOME. i know its 80s and cheesy but so are the hoodo gurus. maybe someone could rework it?? i love that song!

also i know holden have recently used AD/DC's 'Thunderstruck' but i think it be awesome as a theme song. if anyone has seen the NFL movie 'varsity blues'....they have a brilliant scene in that when this song is used and it works so well. cant you just see sonny bills hit on clinton set to this song?! 8)

or maybe they unearth some more cheesy 80s rock, it works so well with footy i reckon. so whos got some ideas? :D and does anyone know if the NRL are gonna use 'thats my team' again?? i hope not.

Why only one song?/ Why can't they have a variety of songs from ACDC and the like, to suit peoples different tastes.

redVgirl

i dont know but they have always only had one song used in their campaigns and such. come on people ive seen 10 looks and only one reply...not happy :cry: :lol:

How about NO. So what if Thats my team has been going for 2 years, we want it to keep going. Its a great theme the best them since Simply the Best.

NRL dont change the theme.

Razor

Why only one song?/ Why can't they have a variety of songs from ACDC and the like, to suit peoples different tastes.

You can only have one song. It's the theme of the game.

CC_Eagle

Thunderstruck would go alright...(*cough no bias cough*) Anything by AC/DC would be excellent.. :D :D :D

In all seriousness I don't think it should be changed just yet, how long did "simply the best" last for?

Izzo's suggestion may not be too far off the mark!

I wouldn't be surprised to see the League marketers move away from guitar-based tunes like That's My Team, Simply The Best etc, to try and embrace the dance/RnB music that dominates the charts most of the time? Theoretically, appealling to the widest base of (younger) people with disposable income through their music, to try and hook them to our game (and not AFL/Super 14s) makes good marketing sense...

I'd prefer them not to change, and to stick with "meat'n'potatoes" kind of music for League, but I just wouldn't be surprised, that's all :(

weasel

By next year the eighties would have been gone for over fifteen years. I think it's about time to let go of the music from that era.

bubs

redVgirl said:
i remember back in 95 or 96 they used pat benatars 'All Fired Up' in an origin montage and it was AWESOME.
:lol: :lol: :lol: A DragQueens supporter asking for 'All Fired Up' as a theme song. HAHAHA a Gasnier special.
The reason the NRL don't have more than 1 theme song is because it costs a lot of money to buy the rights to these songs. Once you buy the rights to the songs off the owners, you can play them to death for as long as you want.

BigSteveo

If your going to change the theme here are some suggestions

Bad to the Bone - George Thorrogood
God Gave Rugby League To You - Kiss (a variation of God gave Rock n Roll)
Hot in the City - Billy Idol (Although I doubt that Billy Idol will do anything for NRL anymore)
Hit me with your best shot - Pat Benetar
Are you ready? - ACDC
No second Prize - Jimmy Barnes

Theme song for the bulldogs
Hey Little Girl - Icehouse :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Theme song for Gus Gould
Asshole - Denis Leary :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

RICHO

That "Let's Get It Started" song is used by the NBA (and I think the NBL too), so I'd rule it out.

Although, the album version could be could for some teams, it's called "Let's Get geniused". ;-)

Stick with the current song. Firstly, it's Australian. Secondly, it get's everyone pumping, and thirdly even though it's an old 80's song it still has a youngish feel to it.

izzo

bartman said:
Izzo's suggestion may not be too far off the mark!

I wouldn't be surprised to see the League marketers move away from guitar-based tunes like That's My Team, Simply The Best etc, to try and embrace the dance/RnB music that dominates the charts most of the time? Theoretically, appealling to the widest base of (younger) people with disposable income through their music, to try and hook them to our game (and not AFL/Super 14s) makes good marketing sense...

I'd prefer them not to change, and to stick with "meat'n'potatoes" kind of music for League, but I just wouldn't be surprised, that's all :(

as long as Benji Marshalls not on vocal haha oh and no rapping please because that just kill rap

izzo

RICHO said:
That "Let's Get It Started" song is used by the NBA (and I think the NBL too), so I'd rule it out.

Although, the album version could be could for some teams, it's called "Let's Get geniused". ;-)

true for the nba playoffs