Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NSW 16s and 18s

girvie

For the Under-18s...

James Roberts has been called up to the NRL by Souths. If he keeps his place he is unlikely to play for NSW Under-18s.

footyboy7

Why bother with the F**kuf**ka, f**kuf**ka isn't explicit.. Anyway it's pronounced "Foo ku F.u.c.ka"
I seriously do not understand why it is important to make a point of fixing the poor kids name every single time you write it..

Tucantango

Why bother with the F**kuf**ka, f**kuf**ka isn't explicit.. Anyway it's pronounced "Foo ku F.u.c.ka"
I seriously do not understand why it is important to make a point of fixing the poor kids name every single time you write it..

Footyboy, we don't add in the asterix, this website overrides your spelling and does it for you! Anyway your wrong with the pronunciation! Tongan is phonetic and it is pronounced "Foo koh Foo kah".

Cheers,
Tuc.

half_back

Thanks LF for your agreement! With that said here is my final team (and why)! please give me your thoughts on alternatives, and if so why?

1. Kaupulu Poleo – Doggies - Strong runner who can break tackles and knows his way to the try line. This kid and f**kof**ka are living examples of perpetual motion.
2. Sione f**kof**ka – Doggies- Similar style of play to Poleo. He too is in great form, however some suggest that his defence is suspect. Selectors might choose Liam Knight over him on this basis.
3. Michael Morgan – Doggies - Going great guns for his first year in league. He is a big, strong and fast utility. Great defence too. Easily break tackles and also knows his way to the try line with 8 tries so far. Flies like an eagle in the air.
4. Dee Jay Harris – Steelers - I seen this kid when he was at the NSW U/11’s. He was great then and even better now. His old man should take him over to NZ as I am sure the All Blacks would love to have a junior like him to develop. Excellent all round centre who also has 8 tries to his name. Excellent kicker as well, need any more be said!
5. John Fomai – Parra - For a smaller player he is a very strong and readily breaks tackles. Like Poleo he is hard to contain. A great finisher.
6. Jack Bird - Steelers - One of the most gifted juniors I have ever seen. I know it is a cliché but this kid has a great future ahead of himself.
7. Joey Lussick – Manly - Great organiser and reader of play who possesses a very strong kicking game.
8. Sinapati Solia – Wests - Strong runner who makes good metres. Impossible to stop near the try line with a good head of steam.
9. Zac Clay – Parra - See Jack Bird comments.
10. Addin Fonua-Blake - Bunnies - Strong runner with even tougher defence. When the going get tough this kid gets going.
11.Tepai Moeroa – Parra - Like Morgan came from union. He is a big, strong, fast and extremely talented utility. The Wallabies have big raps on this kid. He also knows his way to the try line.
12. Salesi Funaki – Tigers - Strong runner with great defence. This kid is a work-horse and a half. A real ENERGIZER BUNNY.
13. Addison Demetriou – Doggies - This kid is a tough as nails pocket rocket who makes good metres. Great defence as well.
14. Tifa Iuta – Dogs
15. Tevita Pangai - Knights
16. Ibrahim Atallah - Steelers
17. Luke Monds - Steelers / Matt Lodge – Panthers

Admittedly there are some players I did consider, like Alex Johnston, Liam Knight, Brendon Cox, and Nyah Freeman, however the players above would be hard to displace. Freeman has very suspect defence, Cox tends to make costly mistakes when it really counts (as it occurred in the Manly game). Admittedly Johnston and Knight are great players who have each scored a bag of tries, however from what I have seen they have not put it over those that I have chosen ahead of them. With that said I would not be surprised if any Johnston, Cox or Knight make it into the team!

Once again please share your thoughts!

Regards,
Tuc.

Ok Tuc. After watching Morgan today Im a fan. Was devastating in the first half in the final vs Parra. Scored two and set up another. Ran strong. Had a quiet second half but showed more than enough. Very good all round performance from the dogs. Notably Parra were without there 2 best Zac Clay (suspension) and Tepai Moeroa (injured) but dont think it would have made a difference. If dogs play like that for next 3 weeks they will win the comp.

Tucantango

Ok Tuc. After watching Morgan today Im a fan. Was devastating in the first half in the final vs Parra. Scored two and set up another. Ran strong. Had a quiet second half but showed more than enough. Very good all round performance from the dogs. Notably Parra were without there 2 best Zac Clay (suspension) and Tepai Moeroa (injured) but dont think it would have made a difference. If dogs play like that for next 3 weeks they will win the comp.

LMAO@Half-Back ... It only took me a few weeks to convince you! Shit I'd hate to be selling you a used car ... Lol. Better still mate, according to one of the HM trainers Morgan was actually playing with a very serious flu!

Tucantango

I apologise Tuc, im a bit rusty on my Tongan, dont worry i'll catch up..

LMAO@Footy ... Nah man don't be catching up because then you'll have to marry a Tongan which will also include marrying the whole village and I don't want to be held responsible ... lmao!!!

Regards,
Tuc.

Tucantango

Half-Back (or anybody else),

What's your opinion on Sione Mata'utia (Knights) and Ben Johns (Doggies), and the likelihood of them forcing there way into the 16's.

I have watched Johns on a few occasions now (and always against quality opposition too), and he has always come out ahead every time!

With regard to Mata'utia I have watched him twice now (and notwithstanding the fact that he has scored a swag of tries this season) I have never seen anything standout in terms of individual brilliance in scoring. From what I have seen he has been on the end of great lead up work and just had to dive over the line. Like I said I have only seen him twice and I could be wrong!

What are your thoughts?

Regards,
Tuc.

drago brelli

Tuc, I agree with your summation of Jack Bird. That Illawarra H Matts team is good to watch. He is one of the best juniors I have seen. He is also a fantastic athlete. He is only 16 so he has a long way to go. The Dragons must sign this bloke long term. Do you think he is the best player in the H Matts comp?

Tucantango

Tuc, I agree with your summation of Jack Bird. That Illawarra H Matts team is good to watch. He is one of the best juniors I have seen. He is also a fantastic athlete. He is only 16 so he has a long way to go. The Dragons must sign this bloke long term. Do you think he is the best player in the H Matts comp?

With respect to the Dragons needing to sign him, I couldn't agree with you more! However I have no confidence in the Dragons development team at present! Shit that kid Morgan I keep going on about lives and goes to school in the St George area and was apparently overlooked by the Dragons by mistake. And now the Dragons loss is the Bulldogs gain, and I say this as a Saint supporter who f**kin' hates the Dogs! Worse still Bennett is leaving which leaves me even more concerned that a junior like Bird will find his way to another club.

With regard to being the best in the comp, he wouldn't be far off. Jeez look at last year when he made the 16's as a 15 year old! Not many do that!

Regards,
Tuc.

half_back

Half-Back (or anybody else),

What's your opinion on Sione Mata'utia (Knights) and Ben Johns (Doggies), and the likelihood of them forcing there way into the 16's.

I have watched Johns on a few occasions now (and always against quality opposition too), and he has always come out ahead every time!

With regard to Mata'utia I have watched him twice now (and notwithstanding the fact that he has scored a swag of tries this season) I have never seen anything standout in terms of individual brilliance in scoring. From what I have seen he has been on the end of great lead up work and just had to dive over the line. Like I said I have only seen him twice and I could be wrong!

What are your thoughts?

Regards,
Tuc.

Hey Tuc,

On Ben Johns, I originally chose him in my squad in the first post of this thread. Think he is a very good 9. Industrious with good delivery and knows when to run. Only problem I see for him is where they play Jack Bird and then ulitmately Zac Clay. Think both will have to feature in the side somewhere. Should they pick Bird at six Id say they'd pick Clay at 9. With Bird at 13 you can play clay at 6 and Johns at 9. The second option probably frees the bench up for 4 forwards. Meaning you could use bird as cover in the backs if necessary and Clay at 9 if Johns went down. If you went with option 1 you would need a gidley type utility on the bench (probably not Johns) .

Although there is a twist. Clay copped a two match ban for his spear tackle in round 9. One was served in the first final. Not sure when he can serve the next one, hope for his sake it isnt origin game and a club game counts.

On Matautia only seen him once so hard to have a thorough perspective he can find the line although probably isnt the strong ball runner either knight, poleo or morgan are.

hb

LeaguesFan

Drago,

I have been to quite a few games this yr watching the Steelers and Ill say it Bird is the best player in the H Matts comp, he is one of the most competitive players I have seen out on a field and turns up in places you would not expect him. Dragons would have to be looking at tying him down.

On the Steelers though they look very St George Illawarra like the way they just keep rolling forward been very impressed this yr by both front rowers Atallah and Simmons, especially Atallah who is probably playing 50-55 mins a game. They are definately laying the platform for Bird,Monds and the backline to feed from. Hopefully they can get past Souths this weekend and play in the final.

Leaguefan

Tucantango

Guys,

After watching all the finals let me say that the under 16's selectors will have to make way for another two Doggies forwards. They are;

Jake Kamire; and
Mo Hijazi

Both smashed all of their opposing props, not only during the round games but right throughout the finals. Especially in the GF.

Word from the Dogs camp at the senior level says that 10 players are in contention for the side! I wonder which ones? Please guys share your thoughts?

BTW Steelers fans I now agree with your thoughts on Birdy. To get him down requires a bloody snipers rifle ... Lmao!

Regards,
Tuc.

PS: One of the Doggies parents was saying that Steven Price (the Dragons coach next year for those that don't know) is very interested in Michael Morgan. As I said earlier apparently he lives and goes to school in the area, and his old man is a mad St George Illawarra supporter (God bless him)! Can anyone share any more info on this one, more so on how the Dragons missed him! And why his dad let him go to the Dogs in the first place ... lmao!!!

theuglypuppy

You can definitely throw the Canterbury centre Michael Morgan into the mix now! After wasting him at wing. Fro the last two games they put him back in the centres for the Balmain game and moved Kaupulu Poleo to full-back.

What a game from both players! They carved it up! Morgan bagged a hat-trick scoring his first try ala Greg Inglis style by leaping in the air and landing to cross the line. His second was good too but not as great as his last, where off the scrum he broke through two players palmed off another two and then sprinted 90m to scored!

I have truly become a big fan of of these two kids! Poleo is a definitely a full-back specialist, however I have never seen him play in the position before, does anyone know if this is his natural position?

Regards,
Tuc
Poleo's History
Has played in 9 grand finals, winning team on 6 (played in two levels grand final last year)
Represented NSW at primary schools carnival in Rugby league,
Represented SSW Primarys in Aussie rules and Union
Won Primary school blue in 2007 (Sydney south west)
Has played Fullback in local comps since 2009
Ingleburn Bulldogs 2008
Sporties 2009, 2010
Won player of match for magpies grand final 2008, and also in final four for player of the year in his grade.
Originally played best at lock, but the 2008 team no-one else wanted to play full-back
Many coaches still see him as more valuable at center.

One proud Dad.

theuglypuppy

Hey Tuc,

On Ben Johns, I originally chose him in my squad in the first post of this thread. Think he is a very good 9. Industrious with good delivery and knows when to run. Only problem I see for him is where they play Jack Bird and then ulitmately Zac Clay. Think both will have to feature in the side somewhere. Should they pick Bird at six Id say they'd pick Clay at 9. With Bird at 13 you can play clay at 6 and Johns at 9. The second option probably frees the bench up for 4 forwards. Meaning you could use bird as cover in the backs if necessary and Clay at 9 if Johns went down. If you went with option 1 you would need a gidley type utility on the bench (probably not Johns) .

Although there is a twist. Clay copped a two match ban for his spear tackle in round 9. One was served in the first final. Not sure when he can serve the next one, hope for his sake it isnt origin game and a club game counts.

On Matautia only seen him once so hard to have a thorough perspective he can find the line although probably isnt the strong ball runner either knight, poleo or morgan are.

hb
Ben Johns,
ALL Heart.
This boy never gives up and just works his ****side off every game. Of any player this one has the work ethic to go anywhere !!, not the most talented on the field, but more than makes up for it with thinking and hard work.

aqua_duck

I work with Michael Morgan's mum, she's Tongan, dad's Caucasian, and yes is a big Dragons fan, kid played union until this year, was scouted after playing a game of league as a ring in. Family lives in the St George area, kid goes to Kogorah Marist. To be honest the kid could end up anywhere, parents aren't too focused on footy ATM and just want him to finish school before he signs any deals or anything. I reckon he'll stay with the dogs for the time being but really could end up anywhere, St George would be a likely destination

Doga

Guys,

After watching all the finals let me say that the under 16's selectors will have to make way for another two Doggies forwards. They are;

Jake Kamire; and
Mo Hijazi

Both smashed all of their opposing props, not only during the round games but right throughout the finals. Especially in the GF.

Word from the Dogs camp at the senior level says that 10 players are in contention for the side! I wonder which ones? Please guys share your thoughts?

BTW Steelers fans I now agree with your thoughts on Birdy. To get him down requires a bloody snipers rifle ... Lmao!

Regards,
Tuc.

PS: One of the Doggies parents was saying that Steven Price (the Dragons coach next year for those that don't know) is very interested in Michael Morgan. As I said earlier apparently he lives and goes to school in the area, and his old man is a mad St George Illawarra supporter (God bless him)! Can anyone share any more info on this one, more so on how the Dragons missed him! And why his dad let him go to the Dogs in the first place ... lmao!!!
Morgan is tied to us for next year at the very least

Tucantango

Morgan is tied to us for next year at the very least

Doga,

How reliable is your source? My understanding from a very reliable person ... Lmao .... is that the dad is an industrial employment lawyer of some kind and has not put pen to paper as there has been offers from several other clubs. Like Aqua duck I have also heard that the parents couldn't give a shit about rugby league and that education is the focus.

Aqua duck can you lend anything on this one and ask the mum?

BTW when are the teams being announced? I want to see who has the better footy eye in this forum for spotting talent ... Lmao!

Regards,
Tuc.

Doga

Doga,

How reliable is your source? My understanding from a very reliable person ... Lmao .... is that the dad is an industrial employment lawyer of some kind and has not put pen to paper as there has been offers from several other clubs. Like Aqua duck I have also heard that the parents couldn't give a shit about rugby league and that education is the focus.

Aqua duck can you lend anything on this one and ask the mum?

BTW when are the teams being announced? I want to see who has the better footy eye in this forum for spotting talent ... Lmao!

Regards,
Tuc.

It would seem that someone saw Aqua Duck's post on LU and asked Peter Mullholand about it.

This was his response

petemul53 Peter Mulholland

@nicsoz thanks mate - yep he is good but we have him still here next year. Real talent
6 May Favorite Retweet Reply

http://twitter.com/#!/petemul53