Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NSW Cup 2022

Tough loss last night to the Bears who have a decent amount of NRL experience. NSW Cup are suffering from the large amount of injuries to NRL, we've got a stack of guys playing who are barley Ron Massey standard. If everyone was fit the likes of Mikaele, Garner, Kepeoa, Madden + 2 or 3 more are playing. If Madden alone played last night they win.

In better news Jersey Flegg had a great win over the undefeated Roosters 28-26. It was 28-14 with 5 mins left before the Roosters scored 2 late tries. This side had a lot of injuries to start the year however are starting to get players back. Also got star 5/8 Zane Camroux back from the Knights which is a massive boost. Club still has Jnr Rep stars Mikey Tannous, Brendan Tumeth, Kade Hill and Api Saukuru to come back into the side. If they stay fit should be Top 2.

The other jnr teams have faired fairly well. Wests HM went through undefated and are Minor Premiers, great chance of winning the comp. Some very good players there. Balmain just missedthe finals.

Balmain made the finals in Ball, probably wont progress too far but have a star fullback who came down from QLD.

MacArthur Wests Tigers lost the Andrew Johns Cup GF on the weekend 24-22 however its really a second tier comp.

Tiger Ted

Tough loss last night to the Bears who have a decent amount of NRL experience. NSW Cup are suffering from the large amount of injuries to NRL, we've got a stack of guys playing who are barley Ron Massey standard. If everyone was fit the likes of Mikaele, Garner, Kepeoa, Madden + 2 or 3 more are playing. If Madden alone played last night they win.

In better news Jersey Flegg had a great win over the undefeated Roosters 28-16. It was 28-14 with 5 mins left before the Roosters scored 2 late tries. This side had a lot of injuries to start the year however are starting to get players back. Also got star 5/8 Zane Camroux back from the Knights which is a massive boost. Club still has Jnr Rep stars Mikey Tannous, Brendan Tumeth, Kade Hill and Api Saukuru to come back into the side. If they stay fit should be Top 2.

The other jnr teams have faired fairly well. Wests HM went through undefated and are Minor Premiers, great chance of winning the comp. Some very good players there. Balmain just missedthe finals.

Balmain made the finals in Ball, probably wont progress too far but have a star fullback who came down from QLD.

MacArthur Wests Tigers lost the Andrew Johns Cup GF on the weekend 24-22 however its really a second tier comp.
Really good news re our Flegg team.I was pissed off when we lost Camroux to the knights.Great to see the Balmain junior back where he belongs.

All the best to Wests HM.Hope they win it !

The highlights are available now:

1st try - good pass from Rua in the 13 (playing at 13 as Simpkin was back in the 9)
Quick and slick service from Simpkin in the highlights just goes to show the difference between NRL and reserves and the fact that having no reserves (well almost) for 2 years has certainly not helped the Tigers.

0 from 5 ☹
playing horrible footy atm, however as said the injuries to first grade mean they are missing 7/8 guys who would usually be playing this form. the team v the jets only had 2 NRl squad members

the Flegg result is more worrying, had our strongest team of the year yet lost 38-4 to Sharks

stryker

Yep our junior reserves are a huge concern.
People saying we need to copy Penriths strategy need to be aware that our stocks are far inferior.

macnaz

St George 46 Wests 10
We are Stone motherless last without a single win after 8 games. The whole story regardless of injury about our great pathways and depth is a complete myth .

Tiger Ted

One big positive is our Flegg team won again 2day.After a poor start to season they are now 4 wins & 4 losses.Additionally with Wests Harold Matt’s winning comp we’ve got to have some quality kids coming through.

macnaz

One big positive is our Flegg team won again 2day.After a poor start to season they are now 4 wins & 4 losses.Additionally with Wests Harold Matt’s winning comp we’ve got to have some quality kids coming through.
Never see it though.. we have been traveling pretty well for ever in the juniors from 2 clubs and produced f**king zilch in the last 8 years

Tiger Ted

Never see it though.. we have been traveling pretty well for ever in the juniors from 2 clubs and produced f**king zilch in the last 8 years
Should change over the next few yrs.The Harold Matt’s champs were undefeated & are loaded with talent.Also our Flegg team
has been hampered by injuries & there’s some good kids who hopefully can progress onto the big league.This seasons abysmal record of our NSW cup team has been partly caused by our horrendous injury toll.Thankfully our NRL team is finally having a dig albeit we lost a game today we should’ve won.

macnaz

I dont buy it Ted , as ive said both have been above average for years in comparison to other clubs and we have f**kall to show for it... every club finds talent and athleticism even without juniors and all we end up with is autism

Heaps of players don't make it to first grade. Very few players become marquee players. It's hard to identify and retain those players.

Look at Papenhuyzen. We let him go. Melbourne tried to punt him. He is a marquee player.

Still we need to do better.

Another good example is Thurston. I forget who the Dogs picked over him but it was a terrible decision.

We picked the Turd correctly and bought him on well but he was a POS.

Mac, they only need to produce 2 regular & genuine 1st graders each year, a standout every second year etc etc.
Bring them along like the chooks have with Walker and Suaalii but that needs a good club management, coach etc.

Last school boy we had from memory would have been Rowdy, if only there was one with size and speed who could be introduced. Plenty of good school boy footballers do not stick to it in years 11 & 12, let alone after school.

Problem with Harold Matts is that many guys are coming to the end of the stage of their school life where they are getting serious i.e. years 11 & 12 and thinking of Uni or apprenticeships, SG Ball are the guys who have stuck to it in years 11 & 12 - it's these guys that they need to really watch.

Unfortunately, other clubs are also watching these kids and so are the GPS schools with scholarships (note to self, have I got Matts & Ball around the wrong way).

Bring them along like the chooks have with Walker and Suaalii but that needs a good club management, coach etc

It was a great post but the Roosters buy these players. We wanted Suaali but we had no chance. I suppose they target the right ones in that Suaali and Walker are already producing.

We got Tupou who isn't performing but it's early days.

Are we as fans too impatient with players development as well ?