Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NSW Team 2014

nick87

To be fair, M. Pearce has been around derping up the joint a fair bit since then. But honestly mate, what changes do you make to that 17? If you dont think the Maroons have been beatable the past few years, then you are kidding yourself. If we had any sort of playmaker or killer instinct, we easily could have won the past THREE series.

We need someone to take control in the big moments before one of qld's superstars do. I wouldnt have blokes like Hoffman or Woods in there but hopefully they step up. Lets just see how this team goes next week.

But we don't. And that's the f**king game, set and match, has been for 8 years. We just don't have the guys in those important positions that QLD do. Doesn't matter who we pick, our guys aren't as good as theirs.

This game in 2014 is won @ the #7, 6, 9 and 1.... at best we've got Hayne beating a fading Slater. And Slater is the type that will probably turn the clock back during the 3 origin games.

The good news is after queensland get to 10 (and they will get to 10), Slater, Smith, Cronk and JT might retire, and by then someone like Luke Brooks might be good enough to dominate for NSW for a period.

But until then, we are on a hiding to nothing and this team doesnt inspire any confidence.

The Enforcer

Didn't think that Tamou should have been picked for the test and don't think that he deserves his spot here. The bloke is built like Adonis but doesn't seem to have a lot of impact and i think that Grant would be a better option than Woods.

Jason Maher

Tamou's been playing pretty good over the last month. Problem is, his Cowboys front row partner has been playing even better.

Canard

Tamou's been playing pretty good over the last month. Problem is, his Cowboys front row partner has been playing even better.

He was woeful for the first Month, but has lifted bigtime in the last month.But its pretty harsh to judge him against the best prop in the world.

Even if he is 70% of a Matt Scott that's still pretty good.

clipser

The good news is after queensland get to 10 (and they will get to 10), Slater, Smith, Cronk and JT might retire, and by then someone like Luke Brooks might be good enough to dominate for NSW for a period.

Cue DCE and inglis whom will still be around for a very long time.

big hit!

To be fair, M. Pearce has been around derping up the joint a fair bit since then. But honestly mate, what changes do you make to that 17? If you dont think the Maroons have been beatable the past few years, then you are kidding yourself. If we had any sort of playmaker or killer instinct, we easily could have won the past THREE series.

We need someone to take control in the big moments before one of qld's superstars do. I wouldnt have blokes like Hoffman or Woods in there but hopefully they step up. Lets just see how this team goes next week.

why isn't he ever picked?

you reckon J Reynolds and Hodkinson are the ones with play making ability?

For hookers and halves at this level, mongrel and aggression are low priority attributes. You want mongrel and aggression in the forwards.

The #6, 7 & 9 need playmaking and creative skill. Only one of the three selected have it. You know it, I know it, QLD know it, and Farah knows it..........and he'll starve the halves as the game goes on and try and do it himself when the game develops as it becomes apparent that these halves cannot create anything when their Canterbury forwards aren't rolling through the middle against soft NRL packs.

Hutty1986

why isn't he ever picked?

you reckon J Reynolds and Hodkinson are the ones with play making ability?

For hookers and halves at this level, mongrel and aggression are low priority attributes. You want mongrel and aggression in the forwards.

The #6, 7 & 9 need playmaking and creative skill. Only one of the three selected have it. You know it, I know it, QLD know it, and Farah knows it..........and he'll starve the halves as the game goes on and try and do it himself when the game develops as it becomes apparent that these halves cannot create anything when their Canterbury forwards aren't rolling through the middle against soft NRL packs.

Id have Mullen in there but it looks like his SOO career might be toast. I mentioned nothing of mongrel and aggression but the dogs halves are playing good footy and they deserve a chance to show what they can produce at this elite level. Our forwards will hold their own, as they usually do so it will be interesting to see how much decent ball our quality backline gets and how many repeat sets we can muster.

big hit!

Last season 4/7 QLD tries scored by Inglis or Boyd down Morris' side
2012 5/8 QLD Tries scored by Inglis or Boyd down that side

Uate, Merritt, Ferguson etc have came and gone off the right wing yet Morris is untouched.

Idris is fine in defence gets lazy in attack at times but is bigger then Inglis for a start

Dude, Inglis is a beast and a freak! He doesn't just have size, he has the speed. He moves that rig with such velocity that he is practically unstoppable unless there is a brick wall of defenders in his way.

Once in a generation player. Don't try and pick players to stop him. It'll fail and it will lessen the ability to do what the team really needs - to put more points on the board.

big hit!

Id have Mullen in there but it looks like his SOO career might be toast. I mentioned nothing of mongrel and aggression but the dogs halves are playing good footy and they deserve a chance to show what they can produce at this elite level. Our forwards will hold their own, as they usually do so it will be interesting to see how much decent ball our quality backline gets and how many repeat sets we can muster.

mongrel and aggressiveness is what I've been hearing from Daley and others. It's a ridiculous statement and basis for selection for halves and hookers considering Ennis was picked ahead of Farah under the same reasoning.

Most important thing is Hayne is fullback and so we have a better chance than anytime in recent years.

Hayne was fullback last year and played really well, but unfortunately missed the next two games.

He'll combine well with Reynolds and Hodkinson.

Honestly I'm just looking forward to an Origin game without Pearce. It's been 4 years.

This.

Will be interesting to see how this combination goes. Obviously doing well at club level but can they handle Origin together? Although I think Reynolds will step up.

ek999

NSW's biggest problem the last few years with the halves has been that one or both of them will go missing during a match when the going gets tough only getting involved to pass or kick but never taking on the line. At least with Hodkinson and Reynolds they will keep trying different things

gronkathon

Woods was out on his feet after 10 minutes last year. I would be very concerned about that pack if I supported NSW.

I wouldn't be.

Last year he was lucky to be training one session a week to manage injuries up until his surgery.

This season he has been more effective and has a better motor.

Plus it isn't new to him, the nerves won't be as great etc.

mongrel and aggressiveness is what I've been hearing from Daley and others. It's a ridiculous statement and basis for selection for halves and hookers considering Ennis was picked ahead of Farah under the same reasoning.

Given that Daley was one of the selectors at the time that Ennis got chosen, does it surprise that the flawed selection criteria are still in place?

You know what will happen when Daley steps-down from the Coaching position for the Blues: He will resume his selecting career for them. :D

undertaker

NSW's biggest problem the last few years with the halves has been that one or both of them will go missing during a match when the going gets tough only getting involved to pass or kick but never taking on the line. At least with Hodkinson and Reynolds they will keep trying different things

It's no surprise they haven't won a series since Joey retired from Origin.

ucantseeme

Their last tackle options have been average during recent series. If I were Loz I would just spend camp working on defensive structures and last tackle plays.

Smashing it up one out x 5 then kicking straight to Slater didn't work last series so won't work this time. Be a bit more adventurous rather than trying to out QLD QLD.

The forwards seem reasonable although I would have loved Wade Graham to get a go.

jack coburn

will be interesting to see how the halves go.
I think reyolds would be better as an interchange player to add some spark.
To me personally i think he runs sideways to often and not direct enough which puts his outside men under pressure.
I think we have been close the last few series but poor reads in attack and defence have cost us,more so defence. While id love to see NSW win i think the forwards are in trouble.

Lets face it,we have been told the last few years this is the best QLD side ever which has about 10 of the AUS side, to even get as close as we have has been good but i have a bad feeling about this side i hope im wrong and we beat the arrogant pricks.