Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NZ Domestic Season

gutterfax

http://www.nzrl.co.nz/news-archive/clean-sweep-for-auckland-pride.aspx
Went to Auckland yesterday for the finals of the U15's and U17's, as well as the NZ Residents v NZ Maori Residents......great day out and I have to say, even if it's only just finished its second season in this format, the game here is looking stronger than it has in ages (or so I am reliably informed by a few of the NZRL people that I met).

A couple of weeks back the Senior comp was won by Auckland and yesterday, their junior teams completed a clean sweep of the competition...both times beating the inaugural holders from 2010, Counties Manukau.
In the senior final a few weeks back, it was great to see the south Island be the first "zone" from outside the RL heartland in the top of the north island.
In the U17', Counties had gone all season unbeaten and were very hot favourites, but The Pride prevailed and were well deserved winners.
The 15's was a great game...I have to say, some of these "kids" are massive already....some real Giants on show.

Each comp is over 7 rounds with a bye and it would be great to see this over 14 rounds in future, with home and away fixtures.....this could be achieved by starting the individual zone coms a few weeks earlier.....the more "rep" footie these get the better they will become.

The Representative game was brilliant with a couple of very aggressive haka's setting the tempo for a game where no quarter was asked or given. Again, the only think I think that is needed here is a few more games...the NZ Residents team which is the all-star team from the premier comp only get to play 1 game......a tour of the islands would be good.

All in all, a great years RL. If any kiwis on here haven't yet taken in either their local zone comp or the bigger national comp I can highly recommend it.
NZ Warriors are "our" NRL team, but the game here in NZ needs more of us to get out and support grass roots RL.........

hitman82

I watched NZ Residents v NZ Maori Residents yesterday on SKy. Didn't even know it was on - just stumbled across it. What a game!
Awesome hakas to start it off, top quality play and good officiating. Surprisingly good handling by both teams and some extremely exciting tries in a game that kept see-sawing. The aggression was also huge haha.
Standouts for me were Darren Kingi and the big Number 13 for the Residents - forget his name but he's a beast!

Are there more matches for these teams in the near future? I was genuinely surprised and impressed by the intensity and skill level.

Rich102

Yeah, I happened to find it on Sky. Lucky me.
Good games. The U17's had some real good talent and the Australian clubs were well represented. James Taylor, a young prop, took my eye.
The Rep. game started with a fierce haka from the Maori team which was reciprocated by the NZ Residents. I thought they were going to have a stoush before the start of the game. Good game. Good fitness and good skills. Could have gone either way but Residents snatched victory.

Great way to end the local season.

Shame it wasn't advertised more.

mean_maori_mean

Yeah,
I seen the games - all three games were awesome contests for sure

For league enthusiasts . . to stay up with the play
Is to jump on facebook and be friends with Warriors, NZRL, Auckland Rugby League, Vulcans etc. . .

They keep you up to date with everything league related . ..

THE GAMES ARE ON REPLAY tomorrow morning on sky sport 2.
Get up early and watch them or if you have my sky definately book these.

mean_maori_mean

Just a few players to watch out for.

Under 15s:
Auckland

Jacob Diaz - Prop
Chevi Ellis - Wing
Kalolo Saitaua - Hooker

CM
Jamal Hunt - Prop
Netane Vi - Hooker
Ofahiki Ogden - 2nd rower ---- THIS GUY IS HUGE, TALL, AND FAST
Ran a great line but reffs called the line ball forward could have one the game

17s
Auckland:
There is a few good players but two standouts - WHO will make the Warriors NYC squads next year:

Kouma Samson - MVP, Captain and all round champion player, scored three tries
Not big but everytime he ran (all day) he bent the line.

James Taylor - Big Pakeha Prop - this guy must east protein shakes all day. He is a TANK
extremely hard to stop - already signed to the Warriors and should feature in nyc next year.

CM:
Counties didnt perform very well IMO. Maybe they were comp

Miro Atera - Prop - played massive minutes (warriors signed)
Samuel Lisone - 2nd Row - elusive and aggresive runner (warriors signed)
Kruz Tupou - hooker, scored crucial try. counties peformed when he was on and flopped when he was benched.

But basically anyone in 17s final could/might go on to NYC and beyond if given a shot.

NZ Maoris:
Sebastian Luisi - Centre - apparently plays for Barrow in England. English 2nd Div
Rust Bristow - Former junior warrior
Api Pewhairangi - Played for Newcastle Knights - one more year in NYC

Peter-George Rata - this guy is beast - only young - he is from Te Kuiti.
He got a training contract with the Vulcans this year but struggled to find work/accomdation etc and went back to Te Kuiti.
Some club from Auckland should sign him up and play him in the vulcans.

NZ Residents:
Darin Kingi - you all know I rate him as the best non-contracted i.e domestic player (and it showed)
Manu Mau - he is a beast, he runs hard all day, with Kingi should be looked at for higher honours

Peta Hiku - usually a fullback so was a little lost on the wing.
But still come up with some big plays inc. some bomb disposals late in the game.

gutterfax

Shame it wasn't advertised more.
Have to agree. I planned my trip up from Wellington a while back, but I only knew about it after catching the game last year on TV. Very little coverage or exposure......which is very strange given SKY were there.

I have no doubt that if you'd offered the Warriors members a deal they would have got a decent crowd.

Rich102

It was a good tournament - as you said.
How about posting it on here when you hear the dates for next years?

mean_maori_mean

hey Rich. .. .

Just seen this on my phone ( the Auckland League facebook . . ..)

"For everybody that missed out on those 3 great games yesterday
Sky Sport 2 are replaying these games early tomorrow morning.

so get up early and watch them.
or those that can make sure you book them in on my sky.

Three wicked games!!! including some of aucklands brightest stars at 15, 17s and Premier level."

The dates are all on the NZRL website as it all their calendar - as it all there stuff.
They are slowing winning over media to increase their coverage.

Fox Memorial gets plenty of coverage through Maori TV aswell.

Slowly getting better.

The League Fix tv3 web show is a good iniative too.

Rich102

hey Rich. .. .

Just seen this on my phone ( the Auckland League facebook . . ..)

"For everybody that missed out on those 3 great games yesterday
Sky Sport 2 are replaying these games early tomorrow morning.

so get up early and watch them.
or those that can make sure you book them in on my sky.

Three wicked games!!! including some of aucklands brightest stars at 15, 17s and Premier level."

The dates are all on the NZRL website as it all their calendar - as it all there stuff.
They are slowing winning over media to increase their coverage.

Fox Memorial gets plenty of coverage through Maori TV aswell.

Slowly getting better.

The League Fix tv3 web show is a good iniative too.

Thanks mate.

KiWi_BoI_15

Darrin Kingi solid as usual, Manu Mau what a talent this guy is, I have enjoyed watching him during this season and was easily Marist Saints best player. Phillip Pese is another guy on the rise, switched over the League last year from yawnion and picked up the Rookie of the Year award for 2010.

What a great day of footy that was. Awesome young talent on display with a good hard game of footy at the end.

Pity bout having to listen to Swanns dribble.

ozenzud

Yes I reckon the NZRL has finally got it right with the format of local competitions. I was invovled with the National Provincial Comp in the days that the Bartercard Cup operated. When we had a Wellington BC and a Wellington Provincial team. It was weird. Wellington did beat Auckland in Auckland though. Great day!

Auckland were in and out depending on the timing relative to the Fox comp.

The current format of having a 15s, 17s and premiers is an excellent concept, as is splitting Auckland into Counties and Auckland, as well as Northern Swords.

It will become increasingly good to attract players into local club competitions if the kids see the possibility of getting to play this representative comp.

The LAST thing that NZRL want to do now, is mess around with the format. Keep it running and establish the tradition.