Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

O.T. Merry Christmas Mick and Mel

Vin Fizz

My dear old dad was the DJ (and eventual manager and TV news presenter) at the radio and television station. He relayed a story where a colleague of his from a nearby affiliate station was sacked for broadcasting words to the effect of " well it's not the Golden West, it's the dirty dusty West at the moment" referring to the dust storm going through the area. Sponsors didn’t like that the Golden West which was the regional brand dejus was being dished on so they fired his arse off air. Compare that to this debacle. Things will change now, these crazy calls etc will be a thing of the past now and good ridence I say. I listen to JJJ and BSB for my daily dose of sports.

taipan

I was led to believe that hospital privacy regardless of the status in life of the patient,should be treated with the utmost respect.
Whilst they can be classified as airheads,their employers are even bigger gooses for giving the prank the oK for airplay.
If they had done that with my old man,I would have had their guts for garters.
That d*ckhead FitzSimons " Oh it's dreadful the result ,but c'mon people play pranks all the time on radio".The guy is a bigger dipstick than I thought possible.

Nuffs

terrible result, but surely if all victims of a prank call took their own lives, then there'd be millions less people on Earth today!

The farkwit station has a history of being dumb and stupid. Isn't this the home of Kyle.

re the nurse. I am correct in saying that she took the call at 5.30am her time. Was it at the end of her shift or the very start. I have first hand knowledge of nurses and how they perform at that hour of a long shift. A cruel time to be playing a prank on anyone if it is true.

They should of pulled up a lot earlier with the call going through. Someone was going to get into deep sh!t over it. Any moron would of known that. Be great losing your job right on Chrissy.

Farkkkk em.

Personally I think it strange we haven't heard anything from the deceased's husband.

Or did I miss it?

The farkwit station has a history of being dumb and stupid. Isn't this the home of Kyle.

re the nurse. I am correct in saying that she took the call at 5.30am her time. Was it at the end of her shift or the very start. I have first hand knowledge of nurses and how they perform at that hour of a long shift. A cruel time to be playing a prank on anyone if it is true.

They should of pulled up a lot earlier with the call going through. Someone was going to get into deep sh!t over it. Any moron would of known that. Be great losing your job right on Chrissy.

Farkkkk em.

We have a lot of backpacker nurses in the big house Quigs. The Pommy ones assure me that nurse working on reception at 5:30 am would be a night shift nurse.

I try to avoid nights now. There's some major studies into how working the zombie hours turn you into a zombie.

My point exackery Cap'n.

A 5.30am call after a nightswing and someone alledging to be you know who. It would be quite easy to make an intercourse up big time.

sharknows

No matter how tacky or distasteful the call was I really can't see how these dj's can be blamed for a mentally unstable person topping herself. FFS what was she doing working for a hospital if she was that mentally unstable.
We should be blaming Kate for all this......I'm sick of this baby already!!

Ausguy

This nurse obviously had other issues. If I was one of the djs I wouldnt be spluttering on tv about how sorry I am. I'd be asking what was wrong with this women.

I reckon the djs were told "get in that show and
Cry your ass off or you won't ever work again"

See the prick from 2Day (the boss bloke) admitted well alleged that the radio station tried five times to contact the hospital to get permission to use it prior to "it going live"

Karmichaels the lot of them.

Surely

If there was no post prank topping you guys would all be having a chuckle at the stunt played on the royals

I am afraid I was over DJ prank radio calls when Malcolm T Elliott was the so called king of the mike.

Fat four eyed prick. He came unstuck too. Can't remember what happened to him.

You know what I find really funny. When you watch funniest home video and someone falls flat on their backs or their heads and nearly breaks their necks. Now that's funny.

Vin Fizz

Some of the comments on here are fair dinkum arsole material. None of us like being phoned by those cold callers during dinner or god forbid the footy, yet some on here reckon calling a health worker during duty to have a laugh at their expense is a fun thing to do. Fugg even the DJS have a lovely little sign saying "ON AIR so they're not disturbed during broadcasts. Pity the hospital didnt have the same. Who ever thought up the idea (I suspect the announcers) are to blame. The station is culpable. They can all rot. Fugg me......they have nothing to apologise for my arse!!!!!

Ausguy

Vinn they can apoligise all they want but if this was the only thing that caused her to neck herself she is very weak.

She must of had many other issues in her life to get to this point.

Blown out of proportion IMO.