Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Old Farts Memories & Discussions

Tigers Tale

This is a question for you old fellas....do you think Alex Johnson will break Ken Irvine's try scoring record? Being an old winger myself I never thought I'd see it happen but in saying that I never thought I'd see Kareem Abdul Jabbar's basketball scoring record get broken but it did.

I was looking at the try scoring list and Johnson is pushing hard and still has a few good years at the end of the Bunnies backline so he just might get there. Irvine was the best winger I ever saw for outright pace, pity the corner post rule wasn't around for him back in the day....so he might have had a few more to his score.

Anyway...something for the old guys who can remember Irvine to ponder over.

This is a question for you old fellas....do you think Alex Johnson will break Ken Irvine's try scoring record? Being an old winger myself I never thought I'd see it happen but in saying that I never thought I'd see Kareem Abdul Jabbar's basketball scoring record get broken but it did.

I was looking at the try scoring list and Johnson is pushing hard and still has a few good years at the end of the Bunnies backline so he just might get there. Irvine was the best winger I ever saw for outright pace, pity the corner post rule wasn't around for him back in the day....so he might have had a few more to his score.

Anyway...something for the old guys who can remember Irvine to ponder over.
He will walk it in if he stays fit and healthy.

Then some old timers will put it into perspective, what if Irvine was allowed to take out the corner posts rather than having tries disallowed as in 'touch in goal'.

Tigers Tale

Speaking of things from years ago, does anyone else remember when NSW wasn't coached by drop kicks like Fitler, Daley and Stewart?

I know NSW want to win SOO now days but I can remember a time when NSW didn't care too much about interstate games. Really, it was test football, city versus country and then state matches. NSW prior to 1980 was made up of quite a lot of Queensland players so when the SOO was first thrown up Queensland took to it much more enthusiastically than NSW, they were more passionate about the whole Qld v NSW. I reckon it took maybe 10 years before NSW started to really take it all seriously.

Now that we want to win we are still treating the game without respect (in my opinion). Fittler is a joke as a coach, walking around bare footed to get in touch with the earth, FFS what is he on about. The sooner we pick players who play in their correct position (how many fullbacks play centre or centres play wing) the better we will be. The whole management of NSW has lacked passion and has been jobs for the boys, particularly channel 9 boys.

So far as coaching....Meninga was never a coach, he was a motivator....something we in NSW have lacked for 30 years. Pick a fair dinkum coach, players in form and in their positions and we'll go a lot better I reckon.

Sorry if I am up on the soap box....I love to watch SOO but the whole thing has got on my nerves for 30 years.

I know NSW want to win SOO now days but I can remember a time when NSW didn't care too much about interstate games. Really, it was test football, city versus country and then state matches. NSW prior to 1980 was made up of quite a lot of Queensland players so when the SOO was first thrown up Queensland took to it much more enthusiastically than NSW, they were more passionate about the whole Qld v NSW. I reckon it took maybe 10 years before NSW started to really take it all seriously.

Now that we want to win we are still treating the game without respect (in my opinion). Fittler is a joke as a coach, walking around bare footed to get in touch with the earth, FFS what is he on about. The sooner we pick players who play in their correct position (how many fullbacks play centre or centres play wing) the better we will be. The whole management of NSW has lacked passion and has been jobs for the boys, particularly channel 9 boys.

So far as coaching....Meninga was never a coach, he was a motivator....something we in NSW have lacked for 30 years. Pick a fair dinkum coach, players in form and in their positions and we'll go a lot better I reckon.

Sorry if I am up on the soap box....I love to watch SOO but the whole thing has got on my nerves for 30 years.
The only NSW coach who has ever understood what origin is about is Phil Gould. Until another coach like him comes along we will win the odd series but will never dominate. Possibly if they took the players wage pool and made it winner take all NSW might show some interest.

While I hate comparing sport to war I have to here. Vietnam defeating the US, Afganistan defeating both the US and USSR. The 'big boys' is those confrontations had nothing to fight for (aside from political ideology - there's a huge motivator for the average soldier) while the minnows were fighting for their country. QLDers prior to 1980 were basically forced into NSW servitude while the residency rule was enacted. They didn't have the option of not playing the state rep series otherwise they wouldn't be able to play for Australia. I guess if they wanted, they could have stayed in the QLD comp but the best players want to test themselves in the best comp, which was the NSWRL.

That's why origin meant more to QLD when it started and still does. NSW couldn't give a rats, regardless of what they say. It shows anytime there's a big moment to be won. I can count on 1 hand the amount of big moments NSW have won since origin concept started. QLD average about 1 or 2 a year.

The only NSW coach who has ever understood what origin is about is Phil Gould. Until another coach like him comes along we will win the odd series but will never dominate. Possibly if they took the players wage pool and made it winner take all NSW might show some interest.

While I hate comparing sport to war I have to here. Vietnam defeating the US, Afganistan defeating both the US and USSR. The 'big boys' is those confrontations had nothing to fight for (aside from political ideology - there's a huge motivator for the average soldier) while the minnows were fighting for their country. QLDers prior to 1980 were basically forced into NSW servitude while the residency rule was enacted. They didn't have the option of not playing the state rep series otherwise they wouldn't be able to play for Australia. I guess if they wanted, they could have stayed in the QLD comp but the best players want to test themselves in the best comp, which was the NSWRL.

That's why origin meant more to QLD when it started and still does. NSW couldn't give a rats, regardless of what they say. It shows anytime there's a big moment to be won. I can count on 1 hand the amount of big moments NSW have won since origin concept started. QLD average about 1 or 2 a year.
Sounds like us:(

Nutz

The players you blokes have had, Provan, Gasner, Smith and Raper instantly come to mind.

For us, Beetson, Provan, Bolton & Leo (to many to name them all) are still embedded.
Norm and Peter are, were my cousins, got me involved in league and the tigers.....ahh memories.

Nutz

Yep, the Phantom Agents as well.

Still love westerns, especially with the Duke.
That's cool because I just finished watching an oldie " The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance" a western directed by John Ford and starring John Wayne and James Stewart. Great flicks because in those days there weren't special effects that carry movies these days.
My missus said just last night that movies these days don't have that old fashioned "romance" but instead to keep the viewers interested it's straight to the bedroom or struttin their buts and acting goes out the window.

Nutz

These wokeys of today don't even know what a slug gun is, let alone how to shoot it.
Hey Rosco, I had a slug too......but can you remember the "Spud Gun" If you copped one on the back of the neck or calf....OUCH!
Geez the things we used to get up to hey.
I was shooting a shotgun when I was 10 with my granddad on the banks of the Darling River....imagine the uproar if that happened now, granddad would be arrested ha ha.

Tigers Tale

Slugs come in little tins now days, I used to buy 500 for 50 cents in a small cardboard box at the hardware shop (which I got from collecting 10 empty drink bottles). I think the pointed ones were called Diablos and the domed head were Wasp....I actually used to shoot little darts as well, they had coloured ends and you could see them flying through the air. One of the best presents Santa ever gave me...I actually still have my little BSA meteor.

Das Hassler

Slugs come in little tins now days, I used to buy 500 for 50 cents in a small cardboard box at the hardware shop (which I got from collecting 10 empty drink bottles). I think the pointed ones were called Diablos and the domed head were Wasp....I actually used to shoot little darts as well, they had coloured ends and you could see them flying through the air. One of the best presents Santa ever gave me...I actually still have my little BSA meteor.

Diablo slugs were made by my school friend's dad....the whole factory was an incredible " mouse trap game" like automated production line and all packed into a suburban 2 car garage under a 2 story house....from melting the lead to packaging it was all done in there . All it needed was a regular squirt with an oil can a couple of times a day. The neighbour's never even knew what was going on in there. Easiest place to buy slugs in the 60's was the barber shop!

Nutz

Cool, I had two, one was a BSA and the other was basically a mess. So long ago hey.
We use to make our own sling shots from second hand spear gun rubbers...the really thin ones were awesome with steel ball bearings as shot. I sound sus hey but I assure you I was a good little boy ha ha.

The Rosco

TT . . . yep, 5c per bottle. If you could round up 7, you'd have yourself a hamburger. With beetroot of course, and without even asking for it !
If you only found 2 or 3, it was a bag of hot chips with a couple of scollops. Plain salt and vinegar. Chicken salt was like the internet in 1970. WTF is chicken salt ?
I had, what today you could only call a recycling scam, going week to week.
I lived near Auburn district hospital, and they had a glass collection area out the back for recycling. Sometimes, we'd find whole bottles that we got that magical 5c each for. A drink bottle crate ( gal steel of course ) strapped onto the back of the billy cart . . . load it up and head down to Berala hamburger shop.
Ahh the memories. Seems a lifetime ago.
Our house had the narrow side passage . . around a metre wide. Had a mate that lived in the next street, and from the backyard we could hear his squeaky pushbike a mile away. He was much taller than us, and could straddle his bike and tiptoe it down the side till he got to my backyard. Me and a mate would be lying in wait in the backyard, and wait long enough for him to get halfway down . . past the point of no return . . and do a low profile commando roll from behind the shed and line him up with the weaker slug gun poised and in the sniper position. The mayhem of those long legs banging into the brick walls and bike wheels as he tried to escape was hilarious.
We barely hit him coz we'd be pissing ourselves laughing. By the time we reloaded, he had escaped to the safety of the front yard, and we'd still be doubled over with laughter. Of course we used the weaker gun, and the old wasp pellets. We're not animals.
And this was before we discovered weed.

Nutz

Any ex Sydney high school members here??
I went to Crow's Nest Boy's H.S. across the road from the Mater Hospital and the North Sydney Girls H.S. (woohoo)
The boys school has since been demolished and was the same school my cousin Norm Provan went to. We both had our names up on the School Sports Captain shield....I wonder where all that sort of memorabilia has gone. I can't find any social media on it.
My worst memory of that school was getting six of the best (cane) and my best memory of being a Milk Prefect and drinking as much milk as I wanted.

Any ex Sydney high school members here??
I went to Crow's Nest Boy's H.S. across the road from the Mater Hospital and the North Sydney Girls H.S. (woohoo)
The boys school has since been demolished and was the same school my cousin Norm Provan went to. We both had our names up on the School Sports Captain shield....I wonder where all that sort of memorabilia has gone. I can't find any social media on it.
My worst memory of that school was getting six of the best (cane) and my best memory of being a Milk Prefect and drinking as much milk as I wanted.
Norm Proven, ffs there’s a legend of a bloke.

They said he was a better man than he was a player.

If I could meet passed away players, he’d be in my top 5.

Ffs Nutz, you should be a mod.

Two of my sisters went to north Sydney girls.