Give it up you sook. These buggers get paid a fortune, go through comprehensive education programs, have sponsorship deals, player managers and god knows what else.The interesting bit will be if their evidence of Thymosin Beta 4 use holds up as I assume they will have similar evidence for the Sharks. If Essendon players get suspended for Thymosin then I would bet on Sharks players getting suspended too.
It's unfortunate and the players are victims in that they wouldn't have purposely cheated but they have to be suspended. If not it will just mean teams around the world will dope and if caught blame a fall guy to avoid player suspensions
Give it up you sook. These buggers get paid a fortune, go through comprehensive education programs, have sponsorship deals, player managers and god knows what else.
You posted similar trash to this on TFC.
Professional athletes have a responsibility to take personal responsibility for what goes in to their body.
Blaming the Club or Club Doctor does not wash in any other sport. WADA must be roaring with laughter at some of the excuses being made here in Oz.
A couple of Clubs in the two Codes are in deep shit and so are the players. Bad luck fellas.
No sympathy from me.
In what sense?WTF, my two headed Tassie friend - this is somewhat of a complete left hand turn from your previous posts.
In what sense?
My view has been the same all the way through this.
If they are guilty they pay the penalty no matter what Code the play in.
My only concern has been that NRL and AFL Clubs get the same treatment.
That did not look the case early on.
I also have a view about organisations like ASADA based on personal experience in my previous employment.
That view won't change.
Nup. Happy to share at a later date.Anyway to expand on this without going into personal details?
Nup. Happy to share at a later date.
FFS can people get over this "the poor innocent" players bullshit?
They knew what they were taking - they signed f**king forms to prove it. And despite what people like to think footy players aren't all brainless man children just doing what daddy/coach tells them. Most of them would know much more about sports science than anyone on this forum, and all of them are perfectly capable of using google.
Providing they were told what they were being injected with (as the Essendon players clearly were) then the only way they could not know it was illegal is from being deliberately ignorant and not seeking out any information or opinion.
We all laughed our arses off when Shane Warne came up with his pathetic "mummy told me it was ok" excuse when he got done. What has happened to the sporting public between then and now to actually start swallowing such tripe?
Court warns Dank starting "something of a juggernaut"
Date
August 7, 2013 - 1:40PM
Stephanie Gardiner
Reporter
Warning: A court told sports scientist Stephen Dank he may be starting ''something of a juggernaut.'' Photo: Tim Clayton
A NSW Supreme Court judge has warned the man at the centre of the national drugs in sport controversy to carefully consider his numerous defamation claims, saying he has launched "something of a juggernaut".
In an interlocutory judgment handed down on Wednesday, Justice Lucy McCallum ordered proceedings sports scientist Stephen Dank brought against two medical professionals, endocrinologist Professor Kenneth Ho and leading sports doctor Dr Peter Larkin, be struck out.
But she granted leave allowing Mr Dank to replead his case against the men, who were quoted in News Ltd articles about NRL player Jon Mannah.
The court heard the articles stemmed from a story published in the Daily Telegraph in April, detailing a leaked report which warned the Sharks of an "apparent causal link" between the administering of peptides and the cancer death of Mannah.
Mannah recovered from a first bout of Hodgkin's Lymphoma in 2009 to play the first five NRL matches of 2011, but died aged 23 earlier this year.
Mr Dank later publicly confirmed Mannah received supplements during his time at Cronulla in 2011, but says he never compromised the player's health and consulted with a leading oncologist.
Mr Dank is suing various parties including the newspaper's editor, Paul Whittaker, Nationwide News, Channel Nine and the Cronulla Sharks.
After her ruling, Justice McCallum noted the scale of Mr Dank's defamation claims.
"There are multiple defendants, multiple proceedings and multiple legal teams and a huge number of imputations," she said.
"I would urge the plaintiff to give careful consideration to the way in which the claims are submitted with a view to bringing to the court a report . . . [dealing with] the real issues."
And both my heads agree with me!
Biggest threat for clubs isn't from within their codes but from the players themsleves I would think? I can see the AFL and NRL stripping clubs of points and hitting them with a major fine but that is as far as the codes will go. "IF" the players get 2 year bans and if they can prove the club knowingly coerced them into taking illegal suppiments then the lawsuits brought could sink both clubs you would think. Be interesting to see if AFL or NRL would bail them out to the tune of $20mill plus?
Clearly the Sharks don't have any money and would find it hard to pay a big fine let alone fight a major legal battle or pay up if they lost it.
Defamation claims against everyone except Essendon.
Dank said he kept records of what every player was injected with - information he left at the club at the end of the 2012 season.
"I kept a very tight inventory on everything (I gave to the players)," he said.
http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...ess-report-in-drugs-probe-20130807-2rgt2.html
Geez Graham Annesley has changed his tune. That article predicts that AFL players are "likely" to escape bans.