Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Organised crime and drugs in sport investigation part III

Pierced Soul

scum News Ltd journos actually think what you wear will make a difference

it makes no difference to any statement he makes but it was a terrible sight to see him looking as bogan as possible. you'd expect a better effort by a player to at least present themselves at any form of official gathering, especially one where it is in part organised through the club.

I daresay if he turned up liek that to a club function he'd be getting fined

Diesel

Where's the Rothfield dribble articles? You'd expect the #1 season ticket holder to be writing or influencing pro-Sharks stories (well most #1 ticket holders would be pro-the club they support) but maybe he's still having a sook about the WSW losing the GF

2012....Sharks Year

Imo Wade gave Asada about as much respect as they have given the players. Delaying/cancelling appointments etc. is quite unprofessional. Leaks and tweets etc. also reek of desperation as they attempt to scare the players into confessing to something that they were not even aware that was illegal at the time. Expect both the NRL and AFL to form strict guidelines as to what is acceptable re supplements as well as strictly regulate who can supply and administer them. As the Asada case continues to weaken without enough whistleblowers a deal will be struck with both parties that will prevent any future occurence of inadvertant use of such substances in the future. Both the players and officials of all clubs will be put on notice as to potential consequences of future breaches. Call it an amnesty if you like that will create a much better and clearer awareness of everyone's obligations moving forward.

Garbler

I'm all for DT bashing but the guy does know what he is talking about

No one is saying he doesn't know what he is talking about; he clearly does. No one disputes the theory/logic of it either, just the DT announced it as if it was gospel.

DT are trying to vindicate themselves and it's just petty.

Apparently Roy Masters caught on long before DT and he passed on writing about it, while the DT pursued it with all the subtlety of a sledgehammer.

Also while speaking about News Ltd, @BuzzRothfield has reopened his twitter account after being sledged by Sharks fans who had enough of his trolling. I really hope he cops it again.

http://news.smh.com.au/breaking-news-sport/asada-running-its-own-rules-gallen-20130430-2ipt3.html

ASADA running its own rules: Gallen

Date
April 30, 2013 - 10:11AM

Cronulla skipper Paul Gallen claims the Australian Sports Anti-Doping Authority are "running their own rules" following the suspension of interviews with his NRL club's players on Monday.

ASADA's investigation into the alleged use of banned substances at the club in 2011 was put on hold after a stalemate was reached during the first interview, with backrower Wade Graham.

While there has been no official word from either camp, it is believed lawyers from both sides were unable to agree what constituted 'reasonable assistance' by players in regard to the investigation.

Gallen said the Sharks were powerless to move the investigation along, claiming the club and players had been kept in the dark by ASADA.

"Nothing has changed for me since the very start," Gallen told the Big Sports Breakfast on Sky Radio on Tuesday.

"I know I was going to be scheduled for a meeting. I still haven't been told when mine was supposed to be so all bets are off at the moment as far as ASADA are concerned apparently.

"I obviously don't know what went on in the meeting but apparently they weren't happy and basically they said, `that's it. We're postponing until further notice'.

"They're running their own rules at the moment. They don't seem to have anyone to answer to and they're doing what they want and there's not a lot we can do about it."

With 10 Sharks players believed to be among the 31 NRL players due to be interviewed by ASADA, Gallen admitted the scandal was taking its toll on the club.

"It's (frustrating) and it's been three months now and still not one interview completed," Gallen said.

"So it's dragging on. It's clearly affecting people. Not only rugby league now but it's people's lives at stake here too and as Flanno (coach Shane Flanagan) said it's getting a bit too far.

"They're talking about things that might have happened two years ago. I mean, I think it's just time to get on with it."

I find it somewhat amusing that journo's are all pissed off about what Wade Graham wore to the ASADA questioning, but they could not understand at all why the public was so pissed off about their recent articles regarding Jon Mannah and peptides.

It just goes to show how far removed these f**kwits are from the fans and the game and how unbelievably shithouse they are at their jobs. They have their heads so firmly entrenched up their own arses, they believe they are some sort of authority when it comes to NRL information or news.

The fact that Rothfield closed his twitter account while people abused the shit out of him is hilarious. The dickhead deserves to be copping that and more on a daily basis.

Gutless f**kwits with the integrity of an Islington hooker

Canard

As the Asada case continues to weaken without enough whistleblowers a deal will be struck with both parties that will prevent any future occurence of inadvertant use of such substances in the future. Both the players and officials of all clubs will be put on notice as to potential consequences of future breaches. Call it an amnesty if you like that will create a much better and clearer awareness of everyone's obligations moving forward.

Here's hoping, but to be honest mate this sounds like a bit of wishful thinking.

Its 2013, not 1955 if "I didn't know" doesn't work for other sports, I can't see it working for the NRL and other codes.

This is going to go on for a long time i reckon. Be lucky if it is finished by start of next season at the rate the investigations are going. That article by Ho sounds pretty damning given the guys expertise.

SaraSassypants

Personally I think he wore the clothes to make a statement. He's trying to give the impression that he does not care about ASADA or the investigation at all.. So rather than acting professionally and co-operating (which would reflect well in the public eye) he's turned up sloppy and with a childish unhelpful attitude. Guilty or not guilty you should always approach such serious matters with some sort of dignity. It leaves you looking like a co-operative and professional sports man (quite like any player facing the judiciary). It was poor form and the fans saying 'who cares' have no clue. It's not just the media who has jumped on the but ex players too. I like Wade Graham. I like the way he plays and he comes off a decent bloke but on this occasion he looked bad.

Garbler

What chance the Lawyers for the Sharks players are thinking, "Lets draw this out til Abbott gets in power and disbands this whole circus.

Players avoid any suspensions or allegations of being drug users, Lawyers get their money, ASADA gets f**ked off.

Would love to be a lawyer in the Shire right about now. They'll be jacking their rates up quicker than a Melbourne Hooker when she hears Craig Thomson is in town

Code:
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p>Took WADA 7 years to nail Armstrong, so I don't think a 2 year delay is going to worry ASADA if they can prove guilt <a href="http://t.co/ZWDCwteSJz" title="http://www.sportal.com.au/league-news-display/gallen-not-happy-with-asada-232774?utm_source=twitterfeed&amp;utm_medium=twitter">sportal.com.au/league-news-di?</a></p>&mdash; John Orchard (@DrJohnOrchard) <a href="https://twitter.com/DrJohnOrchard/status/329068658741620737">April 30, 2013</a></blockquote>
<script async src="//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

it's frivilous to compare this case in any way to Armstrong.

ek999

LOL

scum News Ltd journos actually think what you wear will make a difference

just die you filthy low life grubs

Are the Sharks club filthy low life grubs who should just die too? They also seem to care about what the players wear

Sharks NRL player Wade Graham has offered an unreserved apology in relation to his choice of attire yesterday for an interview with ASADA.
The first at the club to be interviewed as a part of the ongoing investigation process, Graham has drawn criticism from a number of quarters.
After receiving a reprimand from Sharks management for disregarding prior instruction as to what may constitute appropriate dress, Graham has conceded his casual appearance failed to do justice to the seriousness of the ASADA process and was remorseful for his actions.
Graham has today left messages with NRL CEO David Smith and has made contact with Sharks Chairman Glen Coleman apologising for his lack of good judgment as to his clothing choices.
?I certainly take the ASADA matter seriously and my choice of dress was in no way intentional as an indication of otherwise,? Graham began. ?In hindsight I agree that I let myself, my club and the game down and apologise for any distress it has caused.
?I?ve attempted to make contact with David Smith this morning and have been in touch with our Chairman Glen Coleman. I would also say sorry to both the corporate sponsors and to the Sharks members and fans for not representing the club better than I could and should have.?
Touted as a future leader of the club, Graham has been spoken to by Sharks Football General Manager Steve Noyce as to his obligations to the Sharks and to the game of rugby league in regards to the image leading players are required to portray.
?Wade is an outstanding young man and he will learn from this mistake,? Noyce said. ?We have spoken about it, he realises the error of his ways and I don?t envisage him making the same mistake again.
?The club takes the ASADA matter very seriously and any players involved in future interviews will reflect that.?

http://www.sharks.com.au/news-display/Graham-offers-an-unreserved-apology/73526

CrazyTiger

bileduct

Are the Sharks club filthy low life grubs who should just die too? They also seem to care about what the players wear
LOL, even Wade Graham offers an unreserved apology for dressing like a bogan.

The sooks in here like El Diablo have no f**king idea.

Canard

I wonder what Robert Lui's cousin thinks about this matter? Id like to read his twitter update on it.

Speaking of twitter, the 10 or so people that operate RLW Mole one had a good comeback for Rothfield today.

Mole "account closed?"

Rothfield "back by popular demand"

Mole "please re-consider"

CrazyTiger

Imo Wade gave Asada about as much respect as they have given the players. Delaying/cancelling appointments etc. is quite unprofessional. Leaks and tweets etc. also reek of desperation as they attempt to scare the players into confessing to something that they were not even aware that was illegal at the time. Expect both the NRL and AFL to form strict guidelines as to what is acceptable re supplements as well as strictly regulate who can supply and administer them. As the Asada case continues to weaken without enough whistleblowers a deal will be struck with both parties that will prevent any future occurence of inadvertant use of such substances in the future. Both the players and officials of all clubs will be put on notice as to potential consequences of future breaches. Call it an amnesty if you like that will create a much better and clearer awareness of everyone's obligations moving forward.

If the following article in todays Telegraph is to be believed:
http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...risk-expert-says/story-e6frexrr-1226631880125

Stephen Dank has admitted to giving Mannah peptides while in remission

If this is the case, Dank's career is finished and his mission now must surely be to stay out of gaol. If true, it appears he has decided not to down the denying Mannah took peptides path and is going to rely on the letter from a Doctor who said it was OK.

If true, Dank appears to be setting himself up to take down all 31 players defending himself.