Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Organised crime and ElephantJuice in sport investigation part IV

Red Bear

So chook

you work for a large corporation (the NRL as a player).... an outside agency (ASADA) who is responsible for checking a business is following correct rules and regulations comes in and does its job, upon leaving it says to you directly (and then continues to threaten for 18 months, granted this is the media) that YOU ARE IN DEEP TROUBLE.... how do you react?

Do you say nothing and wait, or do you at a minimum seek support from your employer (THE NRL AGAIN) and want them to go into bat for you for answers?
The Sharks are the employer aren't they?

I think the whole thing speaks volumes about how poorly run the Sharks were

Ausguy

But you said he didn't want answers?

The NRL can't "go into bat" for them or else you'd end up with the AFL debacle. The NRL have been kept in the dark about ASADA's investigation as much as the players have as it's an external, government agency running the investigation.

It would be like the tax office running the rule book over a players finances. Should the NRL get involved in that as well or is it between the player and the ATO? It is the latter.

The NRL's duty of care begins after ASADA hand down their findings. Until that happens the NRL's hands are tied in regards to supporting the players.

Chook.

Fair call on answers. My bad.

I suppose im getting as frustrated as i can as a sharks fan... imagine being a player, imagine being Gallen... he IS the face of it.

All he wants is some form of support from the NRL, clearly he has had none. No one here knows exaclty what he has been through and no one can question him for voicing it.

Ausguy

The Sharks are the employer aren't they?

I think the whole thing speaks volumes about how poorly run the Sharks were

Gallen admitted the clubs issue in 2011 last night, not questioning that.

Yes Sharks are his employer, but the NRL is the governign body...

Its like working for Woolies at Bondi, if you do something that the Health and Safety dept deem unsatisfactory in the Deli its not the Store Manager at Bondi who is sent to defend the cause its a goon from Woolies head office at norwest.

Noa

NRl clubs are signatories to a governing body but they are responsible for there own player welfare.

A better analogy is any agency funded by the federal government. The govt doesn't look after every mental breakdown by employees of said agencies, that's up to them within there budget.

Like I said previously in this thread Gallen should just stfu and stop running his mouth.

Card Shark

Like I said previously in this thread Gallen should just stfu and stop running his mouth.

He hardly says anything about It Noa - when I hear him asked about it, he prefers not to talk about it.

I did hear it mentioned on the news this morning & it said he hadn't heard anything from the NRL or ASADA since his interview about 8 months ago. He wasn't just saying the NRL has been quiet, it's the dickhead that dragged him into the interview have not given the courtesy to follow it up, 1 way or the other.

What have they been doing for 15 months?

Chook

Fair call on answers. My bad.

I suppose im getting as frustrated as i can as a sharks fan... imagine being a player, imagine being Gallen... he IS the face of it.

All he wants is some form of support from the NRL, clearly he has had none. No one here knows exaclty what he has been through and no one can question him for voicing it.

I don't want to imagine that thanks. But this is what happens when your club is poorly run. And that's what the ARLC are trying to do is replace bad boards with good ones with their new funding deal.

Like it or not, Gallen is blaming the wrong people. Yeah he's frustrated, but he's wrong.

Chook.

Bn1fKclCUAAs4Ci.jpg

set up?

:roll:

http://www.news.com.au/national/san...ay-nrl-set-me-up/story-e6frfkp9-1226921260985

Sandor Earl: I’ll challenge the way NRL set me up

2 hours ago May 18, 2014 12:00AM

NRL star Sandor Earl is preparing to challenge his drugs ban, accusing ASADA of using illegally intercepted text messages as evidence and the NRL of bullying him into standing down almost nine months ago.

The Sunday Telegraph can also reveal ASADA rejected Earl’s case for a substantial assistance discount in March, leaving the former Raiders star to stew on the career-ending reality of a four-year ban for trafficking and use of banned peptide CJC-1295.

Currently living in Thailand with girlfriend Stephanie Easting, Earl has now instructed his lawyer, Tim *Unsworth, to prepare a challenge before the Administrative Appeals Tribunal (AAT). The appeal will argue

• His admission to ASADA on August 27, 2013 was coerced by text messages, unlawfully intercepted from Customs officials at Sydney Airport;

• There was duress to immediately accept a provisional suspension on August 29, with the NRL threatening to forcibly stand him down and go public at 4pm that day;

• The NRL’s actions breached anti-doping legislation because they were not entitled to reveal any details until his name was placed on ASADA’s register of findings.

This has still not occurred.

The Sunday Telegraph can also *reveal Earl waited until March 14 to receive a show cause notice from ASADA, which only then revealed its view that his bid for substantial assistance in relation to the activities of sports scientist Stephen Dank should be rejected.

Unsworth replied within a week, but ASADA has still not placed his name on the register of findings. Until ASADA does so, Earl is trapped in procedural limbo because he cannot appeal to the AAT.

“It’s like coming forward has been the worst thing I could have done,” Earl said from Phuket, where he runs a personal training and health food business.

“If other players get show cause notices, they will be entitled to keep playing if they appeal and it’s all done in private. I never got that *opportunity, and ASADA still hasn’t got back to me. There are no time limits on them, like there was on me. It’s like I’ve got no rights at all.”

On August 27 last year, Earl admitted to receiving CJC-1295 from Dank and using it to treat a 2011 shoulder *injury on advice from Dr Ijaz Khan. ASADA presented him with text messages from the phone of Dank, and another man.

Earl suspects they were downloaded by Customs officials at Sydney Airport, as his phone was also seized on return from Thailand in January 2013. Customs officials told Earl they were looking for child pornography. Unsworth will argue in the AAT that Customs had no right to disseminate those text messages to ASADA because they do not relate to the import or export of goods.

“I never thought I was a drug cheat, because of how it all went down,” Earl said. “Those texts were the icing on ASADA’s cake. They played a pretty big role in my admission. ASADA got me a beauty. They told me everything I wanted to hear. I was told it’d take three or four weeks to generate the *infraction notice and then go public.”

That never happened. Two days after opting to bid for substantial *assistance, Earl met with the NRL’s legal team.

They presented an infraction notice and told him a press conference had been scheduled for 4pm that afternoon. Earl claims the NRL threatened to forcibly stand him down if he did not accept a provisional ban straight away, fuelling his paranoia about the story being leaked to media outlets.

“I was rattled,” Earl said. “I felt like they took advantage of me, *because it was uncharted territory.

“They gave me three hours to make a huge decision, but I really had no choice because they were going public anyway. They said they didn’t want the media to leak the story first.

“That’s not my problem, just *because they wanted to tell the world first and look like a bunch of heroes. I’ve still got rights and I’m still entitled to proper process.”

Earl was given a few hours to make a decision that’s now put his life on hold for three-quarters of a year. *Unsworth met the NRL on May 8, warning of the alleged breaches of process and Earl’s desire to challenge them. He has asked the NRL to escalate the matter to its own anti-doping tribunal, which can hear the case at any time after receiving direct evidence from Earl. The NRL has still not responded to his request.

An NRL spokeswoman yesterday defended its decision to remove a player who admitted to drug use from the competition.

“It had no relationship to media *interest,” she said. The NRL also said its tribunal would not hear the matter until further advice is received from ASADA.

ASADA indicated it would not comment until the NRL tribunal *finalised Earl’s case

give up

we saw your TV interview and none of this bs was mentioned

BunniesMan

From the article ED quoted:

The NRL also said its tribunal would not hear the matter until further advice is received from ASADA.

ASADA indicated it would not comment until the NRL tribunal *finalised Earl’s case.

What a f**king circus.

Canard

It's all technicalities with Dank and his mates, they never say "I didn't do it".

Seems to imply a lot by concentrating on that.

BM1979

He has been wronged, the fact the NRL gave him an infraction notice but refuse to give him a hearing is pathetic. He is a guilty as all hell but he has been screwed over by the way the NRL has handled it

shaggs

Asada should just give this all away.
Peptides don't even work.

You get more benefit from good diet and correct amino acid supplementation.

They need to be testing for other drugs if anything. Not f**king peptides.

As far as I'm concerned, players should be able to take Whatever they want in all sports.

Canard

Asada should just give this all away.
Peptides don't even work.

You get more benefit from good diet and correct amino acid supplementation.

They need to be testing for other drugs if anything. Not f**king peptides.

As far as I'm concerned, players should be able to take Whatever they want in all sports.

They aren't testing for just peptides. Don't know how you reached that conclusion.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/op...s-in-drug-probes/story-fni0fhh1-1226921887341

Football stars are not special cases in drug probes

RITA PANAHI
Herald Sun
May 19, 2014 12:00AM

WATCHING the Essendon drug saga unfold, one can only conclude that the footy world exists in a parallel universe of unbridled adoration and privilege without responsibility.

The peptide scandal has again exposed the many agendas and conflicts of interest that exist in the AFL but it has also shone a light on the way AFL players are “infantised” and cosseted by not only their clubs and supporters but the football media.

The glacial-paced ASADA investigation has resulted in the unedifying spectacle of supposedly impartial journalists picking a side, with some exclusively reporting on stories that fit a particular narrative. The lines between unbiased news reporting and opinion setting have become hopelessly blurred.

Yet both sides are in complete agreement on one key point: player culpability. Whether they’re part of the James Hird is the devil incarnate crew or the Bombers are innocent scapegoats gang, they are united in the belief that the players are innocent victims who deserve sympathy not sanction.

One can be sure there’ll be much bleating and bellyaching once the show causes notices are dispatched. Media reports last week suggested that up to 40 players from the Bomber’s 2012 list could be served with show cause notices asking why they should not be put on the Register of Findings over alleged use of the peptide, thymosin beta-4.

It has also been reported that the once open lines of communication between ASADA and the AFL have been shut, much to the chagrin of AFL House and the Essendon Football Club. There is a new sheriff in town and the ill-advised joint ASADA-AFL investigation is a distant memory.

ASADA’s new chief executive, Ben McDevitt, wasted little in time in making the organisation’s position crystal clear when he said ignorance was no excuse and that “each professional athlete is personally responsible for what substances enter their body”.

Those are words that should send a chill up the spines of blinkered footy fans who believe professional footballers should be held to a lower standard than a 16-year-old gymnast or a naive discus thrower with meagre resources.

Under the World Anti-Doping Agency’s strict liability principle, every athlete is ultimately responsible for what is in their body. There is no “get out of jail free card” for those who have taken a banned substance unknowingly.

To escape punishment, athletes practically have to prove that they were unconscious when the banned substance entered their body. Under section 10.5.5 of the WADA code, athletes who demonstrate they took a banned drug inadvertently can have their punishment reduced by up to 75 per cent, but they still face suspension. It is not necessary that intent, fault, negligence or knowing use on the athlete’s part be demonstrated in order to establish an anti-doping violation for use of a prohibited substance.

UNDERSTANDABLY, many in the football community believe that this is an unreasonable burden to put on the shoulders of young, impressionable men who are used to following instructions at a football club.

The regime at Essendon covered every player but not one, not even veteran players who’ve been in the system for years, was sufficiently troubled to seek a second opinion on why they were suddenly getting regular injections in the stomach. Not one bothered to call the AFLPA and ask for assistance or guidance.

These are professional sportsmen who make a handsome living and are provided with resources that a typical Olympic athlete can only dream about and yet they are too often treated like hopeless children incapable of independent thought and action.

The insular footy world is so used to treating grown men like children that no one batted an eyelid when Essendon had its players’ parents come to be briefed about the latest developments.

Can you think of another workplace where the parents of adult employees would be invited to meet management? Me neither.

Public sympathy is a curious thing. There wasn’t much of it about last year for javelin champion Jarrod Bannister when he was given a 20-month ban for breaching ASADA’s Athlete Whereabouts Program after a series of administrative bungles saw him miss three tests over an 18-month period. There was no suggestion he deliberately sought to avoid tests but Bannister will not be defending his gold medal at this year’s Commonwealth Games in Glasgow.

There is also little sympathy for the East German athletes of the 1970s or the Chinese swimmers of the 1990s who were systematically doped by coaches and trainers.

Yet highly paid footballers who take part in an experimental regime including weekly injections are considered victims undeserving of punishment. Even the prospect of a show cause notice is unconscionable to some insular types in the footy community, let alone the prospect of infraction notices and bans.

That’s why it was so heartening to hear Carlton’s Chris Judd make a stance earlier this year and declare that players are “capable of individual thought”.

“If someone said to me you are going to have multiple injections off-site at an anti-ageing clinic, I would be able to say, no, that doesn’t sound right for me,” he said.

“Real heroism is when you are able to stand up and be different to the crowd, when you get that feeling in your stomach that something is not right.”