Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Origin's confusing origins

http://news.theage.com.au/sport/origins-confusing-origins-20080520-2g6o.html
Origin's confusing origins

May 20, 2008 - 8:13AM

They started their football careers at clubs like the Murwillumbah Mustangs (Anthony Laffranchi) and the Dalby Devils (Carl Webb).

Not all of them have origins that coincide with the jerseys they will wear in Origin I.

But it won't matter a damn when rugby league's greatest rivalry boils into action on Wednesday night.

You'll get clobbered no matter where you come from, provided you're wearing the other mob's jersey.

Greg Inglis is perhaps the most talented athlete on the field - who else could have performed that Nureyev-like dive over the dead ball line and scooped the ball back for Mark Gasnier to score against New Zealand?

But Inglis also has the most confusing Origin pedigree.

He plays for the only Victorian club in the NRL, but he was born at Kempsey on the mid-north coast of NSW and learnt his junior footy at nearby Bowraville.

Which should by rights have him wearing the sky-blue jersey on Wednesday night.

But he then joined Norths in Brisbane, which gives Queensland enough of a claim over him to send him out in the Maroons No.5 jersey.

Inglis's Melbourne Storm team mates Israel Folau and Michael Crocker might also be wearing blue. Both were born in Sydney, but Folau passed through the same Brisbane feeder club as Inglis and Crocker's claims on Bananabender citizenship date back to his days with Arthur Beetson's old club at Redcliffe.

A total of nine players in Origin I were born outside the state they are representing - six Queenslanders and three New South Welshmen.

Of the other Queenslanders, Karmichael Hunt was born in Auckland, Petero Civoniceva in Suva, and Sam Thaiday, whose heart lies in his ancestral home on the Torres Strait island of Yam, drew his first breath in Sydney.

The NSW team is more true blue, though their new halfback Peter Wallace, who plays for the Broncos, was born in Melbourne, Ryan Hoffman hails from the ACT and his second-row partner Willie Mason was born in Auckland.

According to league statistician David Middleton, Inglis is the most contentious of the Origin migrants.

"Strictly speaking, he should be a NSW rep," says Middleton.

"He played his first football with Bowraville and then his first senior football over the age of 16 was with Hunter Sports High in the Arrive Alive Cup, which is considered to be a senior competition.

"He then joined Norths in Brisbane whereupon he was claimed by Queensland."

The series remains amazingly close, with both sides winning 12 series with two drawn.

Queensland edges the Blues 40-39 in individual wins, with two draws, and has scored 223 tries to 219.

But NSW has scored nine more points - 1,284 to 1,275.

Dazzat

I give this article credibility because of Middleton's contribution.

But the question remains, why doesn't NSW throw the book at Inglis and tell him to play for NSW?

Why is it that Queensland has all the contentious selections?

The answer, is the same reason why so many NSWers, Victorians and NZers move here, and are now crowding our highways, cities and towns to the point of gridlock.

Queensland is the greatest state in Australia; and Queenslanders are the most friendly, intelligent, loving and humble people on the planet. Why wouldn't anyone want to play in our great rugby league team?

Perhaps we can state a quota system for NSW. We'll give you one out of 10 of our superstars.

Canard

No journo, statistician or expert has any credibility when it comes to Origin.

Thats the great thing about Origin, everyone is so completely biased to there state (including obvious cockaroach in Middleton), that what they say is all hot air.

Knightmare

Michael Hagan was eligible for Queensland because he played three pre-season matches for Wests Panthers in 1982. Billy "Queenslander" Moore was born and raised in Tenterfield NSW. As for Inglis- well he's a traitor, but if Queensland are happy to have a traitor in their midst and call him their own, go for it. Let's just not hear anymore about how apparently the Maroons have more state pride when their team resembles the AFL Dream team! Hell, holidaying in Surfers for a week probably makes you eligible for Queensland these days!

Nuke

I spent three days on the Gold Coast when I was 15 ... f**ken Queenslanders would try to claim me too (!).

Alehana

haha, even kiwis can play origon, i reckon its where ur born, and if ur not born there, where u play ur first league match.

Canard

I spent three days on the Gold Coast when I was 15 ... f**ken Queenslanders would try to claim me too (!).

No we wouldnt your a merkin.

I love that NSW people complaining about a eligibility rule that has been around for 28 years.

Oldest tradition in Rugby League, when you are losing, "Change the Rules!!"

fightingirish69

No we wouldnt your a merkin.

I love that NSW people complaining about a eligibility rule that has been around for 28 years.

Oldest tradition in Rugby League, when you are losing, "Change the Rules!!"
or exploit the rules so you dont lose

Dazzat

If the Queensland backline had Adrian Brunker, Trevor Cook and Craig Teevan the NSW Whinge Army would most likely be silent.

I challenge NSW ... if rules have been broken, enforce them and direct players to play for the state they should be playing for. Otherwise shut-up.

Shorty

You NSW people are hypocrites,it's a two way street y'know it's not as if you're not guilty of the same thing.
Shut the f**k up.

Serc

I give this article credibility because of Middleton's contribution.

But the question remains, why doesn't NSW throw the book at Inglis and tell him to play for NSW?

The horse has bolted mate...

Sir Biffo

Hahahaah ... they get Billy Moore, Greg Inglis, Adrian Lam, Karmichael Hunt ...

we get ... One game origin "hero" Kenny Nagas!

And I'm not counting people who were born in another state/country - Petero, Lote, Mason, Sterling etc then moved when they were about 14 seconds old - people who were RAISED in another state/country.

mxlegend99

They need to live up to the name. You play for the state you're born in.

If you weren't born in NSW/QLD, or don't support the state you were born in, you don't play at all. Otherwise change the name. I don't care if it's harsh... it beats the sh*t out of people just "choosing" to play for a state.

Big Pete

Exactly right mxlegend and the rules really have to be looked at to avoid such a thing from happening. I'm the first to agree there however as long as they have the choice, you can't really hold the likes of Inglis, Folau and Nagas responsible.

Big Pete

Hahahaah ... they get Billy Moore, Greg Inglis, Adrian Lam, Karmichael Hunt ...

we get ... One game origin "hero" Kenny Nagas!

And I'm not counting people who were born in another state/country - Petero, Lote, Mason, Sterling etc then moved when they were about 14 seconds old - people who were RAISED in another state/country.

Out of interest apart from Inglis did any of those players play senior football in their respective countries/states?

I know Lam played for PNG before playing for QLD however what loophole allowed him to play Origin?

Spud

Out of interest apart from Inglis did any of those players play senior football in their respective countries/states?

I know Lam played for PNG before playing for QLD however what loophole allowed him to play Origin?

Well during the SL/ARL war, the rebels weren't allowed to play Origin. QLD had only 16 eligible players (including Ben Ikin who was selected after only 6 FG games) so we needed one more to make up the numbers. Lam played juniors in Qld so the ARL gave the green light to play.

Lam was then selected for Australia, but opted to play for PNG paving the way for Andrew Johns.