Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: American footy thread

spiderdan

Umm The World Cup Final. I don't even have to mention the sport.
world cup is the biggest single sporting event for sure but the final isn't a stand alone event. it's the pinacle of, and part of, a four week tournament. as a stand alone event without the build up it would just be a soccer game between two countries.

Someone

everyone has opinions. that's all they are though, don't confuse your reality with the real reality.

Daneel

world cup is the biggest single sporting event for sure but the final isn't a stand alone event. it's the pinacle of, and part of, a four week tournament. as a stand alone event without the build up it would just be a soccer game between two countries.

Surely without the build up of the regular season and post season the Super Bowl would just be a game between 2 franchises

Which is what the Superbowl is. A build up of play off games with a final between two teams.

spiderdan

Surely without the build up of the regular season and post season the Super Bowl would just be a game between 2 franchises
fair call.

i don't think the world cup final though is promoted and built up the same way the superbowl is though. to try draw a parallel, the world cup tournament is a finals series played after a whole bunch of international campaigns leading up to it, similar to the play-offs in nfl after the regular season. the final game is like the superbowl. that final game isn't promoted for two weeks as an event on it's own, whereas the superbowl is. ie wc is always viewed as a tournament.

NFL is a better game - And I am a phili fan but gee I have no emotional ties to them.Id much rather parra win.I would feel more of a connection with friends, family and even people on here.Phili lose I get a bit disappointed but I don't want to smash anything.I keep my kool, unlike if parra lost a GF I would shed a tear
I watch the NFL and appreciate it, a great sport. I find it odd you could develop such a strong emotional bond for a team on the other side of the world thou compared to one in your own backyard thou.

You will never beat a great game of soccer, I think people who don't like soccer only get interested in the goals, just like people who don't like nfl only appreciate a td.
A stop on a 3rd and 1 can be more exciting then a td, Ron you would agree.
Just as in soccer a nice move dribble or shot can be appreciated more than a goal.

As far as adrenalin rush-heart pumping and the biggest HIGH you can get I have to say its from soccer hands down. Perhaps cause a goal means so much and so hard to get.But a great game of soccer blows everything away. Problem is you get a lot of ordinary games mixed in. This is what makes NFL so great.You have so many good games-big plays and awesome endings.

Someone

I enjoy NFL every now and again, but its of my opinion people who invest heaps of time into it have a terrible habit of praising the game and players over the top and comparing it to other 'football' sports even though its like comparing golf to boxing.

a smarter more complex game? I would say that's a fair call and I understand how people can come to that conclusion. But don't overplay your cards gentleman, I just witnessed a team lose the superbowl inches away from the end zone with spare downs by literally throwing the ball away.

todays game was great though. really enjoyed the spectacle, how good is a superbowl/grand final/final when its a tight contest.

Love the Eels, Love Liverpool in the EPL and I'm getting into the NFL big time. Still getting to know the rules etc. Love the technical Side of the NFL. Just gotta pick a team to follow.

Today's final was brilliant to watch. Didn't find it boring at all. Seahawks coach absolutely muffed it at the end Brian Smith style. Outsmarted himself.

Ron Jeremy

It's because NFL is a complex game, that requires mental attributes that most league fans can not fathom.

You will never beat a great game of soccer, I think people who don't like soccer only get interested in the goals, just like people who don't like nfl only appreciate a td.
A stop on a 3rd and 1 can be more exciting then a td, Ron you would agree.
Just as in soccer a nice move dribble or shot can be appreciated more than a goal.

As far as adrenalin rush-heart pumping and the biggest HIGH you can get I have to say its from soccer hands down. Perhaps cause a goal means so much and so hard to get.But a great game of soccer blows everything away. Problem is you get a lot of ordinary games mixed in. This is what makes NFL so great.You have so many good games-big plays and awesome endings.

In soccer apart from goals ( which are rare in itself) is an exciting moment? The diving? The constant passing back to the keeper? As I said preciously I watch it through my alliances to clubs and countries, but even I know it is boring.

Been to 5 syd fc games this year, apart from the atmosphere 75% of the gsme the crowd is having conversations about everytging apart from the game

Ron Jeremy

Love the Eels, Love Liverpool in the EPL and I'm getting into the NFL big time. Still getting to know the rules etc. Love the technical Side of the NFL. Just gotta pick a team to follow.

Today's final was brilliant to watch. Didn't find it boring at all. Seahawks coach absolutely muffed it at the end Brian Smith style. Outsmarted himself.

Agree, chelsea winning the uefa cup and oz qualifying for the the wc after beating Uruguay are two of my fav sporting moments ever - top 5 without a doubt, but the games itself weren't that exciting apart from the goals and penalty shoot outs in the oz game, most of the game was quite dull, that is my point.

Today's game and the whole finals serous in the nfl have just proven why it is my fav game now

Buffalo bills mate - look up there history, blue collar underdogs, how can you not live them

Kornstar

The reality is that football is the biggest sport in the world. To suggest anything else is a nonsense.

Who has stated that it is not?

It is one of the easiest games to play with very few people, there is very little contact and in the poor countries that it is biggest in, all they have is soccer and is very cheap and easy to play.

Sure the elite players are ridiculously talented but playing on the road with friends in some poor town in South America where it has been tradition since before better games were invented gives it the edge.

None of that makes it the best game though.

Avatar is the highest grossing movie of all time, doesn't make it the best. In fact apart from the awesome special effects, it was a pretty standard, love story with no imagination in the script.

Agree, chelsea winning the uefa cup and oz qualifying for the the wc after beating Uruguay are two of my fav sporting moments ever - top 5 without a doubt, but the games itself weren't that exciting apart from the goals and penalty shoot outs in the oz game, most of the game was quite dull, that is my point.

Today's game and the whole finals serous in the nfl have just proven why it is my fav game now

Buffalo bills mate - look up there history, blue collar underdogs, how can you not live them

Buffalo Bills? Will investigate!! Love the ice cream too.

Seriously, how good was the Uraguay qualifier in 2005. The best sporting moment in my life time. I was there. The crowd was mental. Great moment in sport and possibly the greatest Australian sporting moment up there with winning the Americas cup all those years ago.

Kornstar

In soccer apart from goals ( which are rare in itself) is an exciting moment? The diving? The constant passing back to the keeper? As I said preciously I watch it through my alliances to clubs and countries, but even I know it is boring.

Been to 5 syd fc games this year, apart from the atmosphere 75% of the gsme the crowd is having conversations about everytging apart from the game

It's the going backwards repeatedly, diving/fake injuries and yellow cards for shit reasons that really turn me off. I played the game growing up and I still dislike it. I played it cause I was a pussy and didn't like getting tackled.

Like golf though, playing it is much more interesting than watching it.

Ron Jeremy

Buffalo Bills? Will investigate!! Love the ice cream too.

Seriously, how good was the Uraguay qualifier in 2005. The best sporting moment in my life time. I was there. The crowd was mental. Great moment in sport and possibly the greatest Australian sporting moment up there with winning the Americas cup all those years ago.

Haha buffalo bills, just go on youtube and look up there history - easily the most passionate nfl fans there are.

Same, amazing game, still gives me goose bumps watching it. Parramatta beating the bulldogs 09 final series is up there as we'll.