Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: American footy thread

jk13

if u base the top ten on current stats you could argue that purdy is top ten. everyone just wants to see him play from behind to confirm he's the total package for shanny. but we keep blowing teams out by 30. i think the philli game will hopefully answer a fair few questions. as it is now, no one knows his value on the open market. you could argue anywhere between 30 - 50mill atm. imagine if purdy beats philly in philly, who would u remove? hurts?

Hurts come up big in the Superbowl. If it wasn't a poor reffs call I reckon he drives them down and wins it. But Hurts needs atleast this and next year to prove himself. I've seen plenty of QBs flushed after 2 good years.
Purdy I'd want to see the same. This year and next before calling him the real deal.

One thing Hurts has is awesome leadership and can run. Plus desire. I don’t think his throwing is as good as plenty of others. But as a package he is very good.

Wally21

Lads, I don’t usually follow this thread, so I apologize if someone has mentioned this before, but Maxx Crosby, defensive end for the Raiders is a f**king beast. Watching the replay Raiders vs GB Packers. Is he always this good??

jk13

Lads, I don’t usually follow this thread, so I apologize if someone has mentioned this before, but Maxx Crosby, defensive end for the Raiders is a f**king beast. Watching the replay Raiders vs GB Packers. Is he always this good??
Yeah, everyone would want him on their team. Seems like a top quality person as well

jk13

Hurts come up big in the Superbowl. If it wasn't a poor reffs call I reckon he drives them down and wins it. But Hurts needs atleast this and next year to prove himself. I've seen plenty of QBs flushed after 2 good years.
Purdy I'd want to see the same. This year and next before calling him the real deal.

One thing Hurts has is awesome leadership and can run. Plus desire. I don’t think his throwing is as good as plenty of others. But as a package he is very good.
Yeah I’m just playing with ya. Most people would say Goff, but he lost a Super Bowl as well. apparently u can’t judge qbs on win loss outcomes so it’s a difficult thing to analyse

T.S Quint

Over the course of this season we will see how good Purdy really is.
At the moment he is playing like an MVP candidate. He has delivered everything asked of him. He shouldn’t be talked down simply because his team is so good they never trail in games and he has to come from behind (even though he did last year against the Raiders).

It will be interesting to see what he gets paid when he is eventually able to negotiate his next contract. The Niners have a stacked team right now, simply because having Purdy on a small rookie deal allows them to spend big on his support cast. Who they have to let go in a year or two will be interesting. We will really get to see how good John Lynch is then.

Eelectrica

With the Browns winning AFC North looks like it will be real scrap.

All 4 teams are around the same wins/losses no standout but no weak-link either.
Yeah, I keep thinking Ravens in that division but then they lose to the Colts and Steelers. Feel like it’s going to come down Bengals and Ravens in the end.
Steelers will hang on and the Browns seem to be the scrappy team that won’t go away. If Watson decides to turn up for the Browns one day they’ll be a tough team to beat.

King-Gutho94

Yeah, I keep thinking Ravens in that division but then they lose to the Colts and Steelers. Feel like it’s going to come down Bengals and Ravens in the end.
Steelers will hang on and the Browns seem to be the scrappy team that won’t go away. If Watson decides to turn up for the Browns one day they’ll be a tough team to beat.
Yeah Burrow has had a slow start with that calf injury niggle.

If he gets over that i think he ramps it up at back-end of the year.

King-Gutho94

Did not expect it to happen this week
You thought it would wait to next week haha.

Should be a ripper game - Miami let themselves down in Buffalo so really need to at least aim up defensively next week against a high quality opponent like Philly.

But the offence is like its in cruise control - i haven't been more relaxed or excited as a dolphins fan before with this current offence. There making it look so easy. Normally i would be worried giving up 14 point lead early but you just knew we would come back and do it easily.

Eelectrica

You thought it would wait to next week haha.

Should be a ripper game - Miami let themselves down in Buffalo so really need to at least aim up defensively next week against a high quality opponent like Philly.

But the offence is like its in cruise control - i haven't been more relaxed or excited as a dolphins fan before with this current offence. There making it look so easy. Normally i would be worried giving up 14 point lead early but you just knew we would come back and do it easily.
Yep, pretty much.
Failed our first big test, next big test coming up. In some ways scoring 70 points wasn’t the greatest prep for facing the Bills.

I don’t remember a Miami team having this much speed on offence. Reminds me a little of the Greatest show on turf Rams. Hope we have the same kind of success. Furthest I’ve seen go in the playoffs is the divisional round.
Hell, even the Jets and Jags have played the AFC Championship game not that many years ago.

King-Gutho94

Yep, pretty much.
Failed our first big test, next big test coming up. In some ways scoring 70 points wasn’t the greatest prep for facing the Bills.

I don’t remember a Miami team having this much speed on offence. Reminds me a little of the Greatest show on turf Rams. Hope we have the same kind of success. Furthest I’ve seen go in the playoffs is the divisional round.
Hell, even the Jets and Jags have played the AFC Championship game not that many years ago.
Been a fan since 2009 when i started getting into NFL haven't seen a playoff win haha. I will take that this year at a minimum.

Yeah Jets making AFC Championship game 2 years in a row i think 2009 & 2010 with a combo of Mark Sanchez and Rex Ryan like seriously. How the hell did that happen.

Philly dropping a game to the Jets was a surprise.

I guess that means the 1972 Perfect Dolphins can salute for another season.

Hurts had a stinker. The 35yd missed field goal killed it for them. I still would of run on 3rd & 10 and punted. With no time outs they would of been pinned inside own 20 with 1.20 and no time outs. Back the defense to keep them out of field goal range.