Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: American footy thread

Cowboys v Packers - Monday 8:30am - I hope the Packers send America's team packing.

yeah, me too, but so much inconsistency, its just so hard to be confident atm

this line up needs at least another season or two, mainly Love, he is on a huge learning curve right now and this will be his first play off

Go Pak

T-Boon

How many people know their teams roster like they know the Eels roster?
I follow college football closely and I know my teams roster and I actually know (or can find) a good many of their 40-yard times (WRs RBs, CBs etc) - are these only available for college players?
Why aren't they available in rugby league? I'd like to know what Richard Penisini's speed is over 50m so as to compare it to Wills

yeah, me too, but so much inconsistency, its just so hard to be confident atm

this line up needs at least another season or two, mainly Love, he is on a huge learning curve right now and this will be his first play off

Go Pak

I'll be going to Paks but I think Dallas win by 20+

Eelectrica

Playoff Schedule
Texans v Browns - Sunday 8:30am - Browns to win for mine
Chiefs v Dolphins - Sunday 12pm - Chiefs to put me & @Eelectrica out of our misery by 3pm sunday arvo.
Bills v Steelers - Monday 5am - Bills on a roll at home will march towards the super bowl as per @hindy111 .
Cowboys v Packers - Monday 8:30am - I hope the Packers send America's team packing.
Lions v Rams - Monday 12pm - Lions to break a 32 year playoff win drought.
Buccaneers v Eagles - Tuesday 12pm - I think Eagles are still a better side despite the slide. It would be a massive capitulation from where they were to bow out wildcard week as the away side.
That's pretty much how I see it. The Chiefs V Fins game will probably be close at half time again just to give us a tease before the inevitable second half collapse. Chiefs would still be a really scary team if their receivers could catch or quit doing dumb stuff. Their defense is actually good.

Cows to knock out the Packers. Jordan Love seems to be figuring it out though. Not quite ready to say the pack have their 3rd straight HOF QB.
Surely the Eagles beat the Bucs.

One team playing with house money is the Texans. That they're divisional champs and in the playoffs now is a bit scary. They were expected to be a 4 or 5 win team this year and are ahead of schedule basically with cap dollars to spend.
On the other hand, I think it's do or die this year for the Browns who have to pay Deshaun Watson serious coin next year for the 5 or 6 games that he bothers showing up for so there goes that defense.

Steelers aren't beating the Bills without TJ Watt. Probably not beating the Bills with TJ Watt either.

jk13

Definitely prefer facing Philly or pack over rams. So I’m all in on lions. Would be great to see them win a play off game . Hope pack do the cows, but can’t see it

King-Gutho94

Belichick era comes to an end at New England.

Stats will say he is the greatest head coach of all-time.

But was it because he had the greatest QB of all-time.

I suppose it will always be a debate

Bill Belichick's record without Tom Brady​

Belichick was 83-104 overall in games coached without Tom Brady as his starting quarterback. He was 29-39 (counting playoffs) since Brady signed with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers in 2020. Brady retired last offseason.

Of course it was and on top of that his division was a mess for most of his time. Bills,Jets and Miami where complete garbage for the bulk of his time there.
How would Bradys record of looked if he was in a tough group? They where almost guaranteed 5 or 6 wins every season before it kicked off due to the piss easy group. Compare it to Baltimore for example where Bengals and Pitty have always been play off sides or there about.

jk13

Seems he wants to keep going. Reckon Philly will chase if they can’t get by Tampa

jk13

Of course it was and on top of that his division was a mess for most of his time. Bills,Jets and Miami where complete garbage for the bulk of his time there.
How would Bradys record of looked if he was in a tough group? They where almost guaranteed 5 or 6 wins every season before it kicked off due to the piss easy group. Compare it to Baltimore for example where Bengals and Pitty have always been play off sides or there about.
6 out of 9 superbowls says nah

jk13

Brady and a great side. I'm sure he is also a very good coach but his job was made easy.
Since Bradys gone they have been absolute rubbish.
Which is why I wouldn’t hire him unless he brings a decent OC. And I don’t mean mcdaniels

Ron Jeremy

@Ron Jeremy I predicted this back in December.
Haha you did.

tbh talent alone we wipe this division. However I have never seen in my life a team of any sport who are so bi polar. We should’ve beaten Miami by 30, yet we will struggle to head Steelers.

I am starting to think this must be a plan or something, cause we can dominate any team on the day but then loose to the f**king patriots

Ron Jeremy

How embarrassing for Miami, it seemed it was a home game for the bills, even the commentators noted this many times throughout the game.

Miami > central coast.

King-Gutho94

How embarrassing for Miami, it seemed it was a home game for the bills, even the commentators noted this many times throughout the game.

Miami > central coast.
I feel Miami is the Gold Coast of America.

Having been there back in 2022 it certainly has a GC vibe.

A lot of ex pats up north move down to Florida to live so support is always strong for northern sides.

Similar to Titans where a lot of Sydney teams get more support up there due to ex pats then Titans.

Plus it's not like Miami have given the fans a lot incentive in past 2 decades they let us down everytime they think they have turned a corner. A bit like Parramatta when things are smooth there is always an implosion around the corner somewhere.