Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: Association Football

New EPL season kicks off this weekend, really looking forward to it. Just read through Phil McNulty's predictions. Hard to argue with Man City winning it again. Even as a Liverpool supporter, I think 2nd for us is optimistic but do expect a CL spot by seasons end... I think ten Hag is doing a superb job at Man U. They could be City's closest rival.

Thoughts football-philes??!!

Citihad are currently under investigation by EUFA and has been throwing money at their legal team to drag it on forever, and even challenge EUFA's rules as illegal.

They really don't care about FFP and their squad is worth billions, and that's just that we know of. Haaland on 600K a week and god knows what Gvardial will be on.

Chel$ki is now under investigation also for sending a lot of money to offshore companies so you can connect the dots from there.

Its hardly an even playing field and I really hope Citihad get booted or demoted.

Apart from that I'm really looking forward to the new season and at this stage, Spurs line up won't be finalized for a couple of weeks and it starts in a few days.

Newcastle.
And Ange to surprise a lot of people.

he's been such a breath of fresh air, very honest with the media and his style of play is great to watch

we went backwards under Mourinho and Conte and f**k me their low block style of play is terrible to watch

Faroe Island football side Klaksvíkar Ítróttarfelag (aka KÍ Klaksvik) are on an underdog run for the ages in the Champions League qualifiers... They've made it to the 3rd round of qualifying and have a 2-1 lead after the first leg against Norwegian side Molde.
Faroe Islands v Scotland has been a mouth-watering prospect for connoisseurs of Scottish football disasters.

Given our North Britain chums a fair few frights over the years. Highly amusing.

Wish the Faroese would leave the whales alone. Ghastly business.

he's been such a breath of fresh air, very honest with the media and his style of play is great to watch

we went backwards under Mourinho and Conte and f**k me their low block style of play is terrible to watch

Mate, as much as I want Newcastle to win the PL, I will be following Spurs closely.
Ange is such an inspiration. No nonsense and a brilliant orator.
15 minutes of genius here.

What was the reason socceroos got rid of Ange ?

From memory thought we were coached really well under his tenure

Been only successful since he left

Incorrect

What was the reason socceroos got rid of Ange ?

From memory thought we were coached really well under his tenure

Been only successful since he left
From memory he walked away after securing our qualification for the 2018 World Cup. Something about how he felt Football Australia hadn't been doing enough to cash in on the Asian Cup win he steered them to earlier and became disillusioned....

EDIT - found this

T-Boon

I reckon it is a real credit to men that we have gotten behind the Matilda's given how utterly crap they and the other women's teams are at soccer. They are unbelievably crap at the skills.

T.S Quint

I reckon it is a real credit to men that we have gotten behind the Matilda's given how utterly crap they and the other women's teams are at soccer. They are unbelievably crap at the skills.

giphy.gif

The right side of American pollies have treated their footballer like shit because they have just realized some of them are gay.

f**king bunch of homophobes.

T-Boon

Well I am supporting them pretty bigly. I find if the gravatas of an event is bigly enough it doesn’t matter about the standard (even if it is horrid). It will be huge if they win it all. I mean bigly huge.
Bigger than winning rugby world cups even.
I’ll go nuts with everyone else.

T-Boon

Misogynist pig
I don't feel like I am.
Heaps of people (on here included) have called out (rightly) how horrid women's AFL is. That is a total quagmire, I just in all honesty feel similar about women's soccer.
Womens Rugby League looks pretty great as does a whole host of other women's sport like Netball, swimming, hockey, volleyball etc.
I am more anti AFL and soccer including the women.

T.S Quint

The right side of American pollies have treated their footballer like shit because they have just realized some of them are gay.

f**king bunch of homophobes.

It’s been mainly about them being very vocal about equal pay for women, LGBTIQ+ rights, kneeling during/not dining the national anthem, and other ‘woke’ things.

The amount of bile spewed towards them from some portions of the American public has been rather ridiculous.

Laughing at them when they lost whilst posting “That’s what you get for hating your country. Our troops died for our flag so you can go to hell” or variations of the sort was pretty common on social media over the last week.

T.S Quint

I don't feel like I am.
Heaps of people (on here included) have called out (rightly) how horrid women's AFL is. That is a total quagmire, I just in all honesty feel similar about women's soccer.
Womens Rugby League looks pretty great as does a whole host of other women's sport like Netball, swimming, hockey, volleyball etc.
I am more anti AFL and soccer including the women.

Im sure there is a huge difference between men’s soccer and women’s soccer, but not being a fan of the sport it all looks the same to me.

I’m not about to go attacking the women’s version without also doing the same for the men’s though.