Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: Association Football

Dark Corner

I was mocking/trolling the post above mine.
If you think AFL is afraid then check out Big Footy as most of the members are loving the Womens Soccer and to be honset the Euro's in 2022 was popular but nothing like these hysteria down under as I can dig Womens Tennis and Athletics (Flo Jo) but Womens Soccer ..f**k off

T-Boon

Mate the AFL and League are shitting themselves cause they know soccer will take over as the no 1 sport and they are doing their best to kill it off. They won't.
I think soccer could be a threat to AFLs dominance but not Rugby league. RLs biggest issue is internal. Not fixing the things I think need fixing.

T-Boon

If you think AFL is afraid then check out Big Footy as most of the members are loving the Womens Soccer and to be honset the Euro's in 2022 was popular but nothing like these hysteria down under as I can dig Womens Tennis and Athletics (Flo Jo) but Womens Soccer ..f**k off
I don’t understand this response to my post. I think you may have misunderstood me.
I don’t know or have much interest in AFL and how they feel about the womens World Cup.

Dark Corner

I don’t understand this response to my post. I think you may have misunderstood me.
I don’t know or have much interest in AFL and how they feel about the womens World Cup.
They are loving it it looks.
Sad days when the NRL gets the best crowds going this year and then suddenly we have this Womans World Cup and crowds have dropped and every Women and Every Man are Women Soccer Nuts within a month it's like a Psyops.

Mate the AFL and League are shitting themselves cause they know soccer will take over as the no 1 sport and they are doing their best to kill it off. They won't.
I love this world cup, and it's undoubted hugely popular as a ticketed live and TV phenomenon. But I don't think it will parlay into a take over or even lasting popularity for the A-plod-League, or the women's local league...

Participation in playing kids soccer will further increase, of course. But since only one (well three, soon to be just one) of the Matildas actually play in our local Aussie league and no-one can argue watching Perth v Western Sydney or whoever is the same quality as any of the international matches we're seeing - I don't suspect there'll be any ongoing boost at A-League or W-League at all arising from the World Cup.

Dark Corner

I love this world cup, and it's undoubted hugely popular as a ticketed live and TV phenomenon. But I don't think it will parlay into a take over or even lasting popularity for the A-plod-League, or the women's local league...

Participation in playing kids soccer will further increase, of course. But since only one (well three, soon to be just one) of the Matildas actually play in our local Aussie league and no-one can argue watching Perth v Western Sydney or whoever is the same quality as any of the international matches we're seeing - I don't suspect there'll be any ongoing boost at A-League or W-League at all arising from the World Cup.
Why are you loving it as Euro 2022 was great once i was over it was over and the Men's Euro's was a joke in 2020...Australia harden up

THAT WAS AMAZING

Our pub was literally chockers in the afternoon when the game started and no one left.

The WWC was on the main stage (big screen) sports bar and pool room. The popularity of this WWC has been very impressive and our ladies were just so good last night, punching above their weight and doing it sooooo well.

Never say die.

Well done ladies.

If you don't think AFL are worried then you're deluded, and I'm not talking about the fans, I'm referring to the officials and administration.

It's been well documented for some time here in Oz but keep trolling if it gets you through the night.

T-Boon

I actually often forget that there are games in this World Cup that don’t involve us. How are those games going for crowd and TV?

THAT WAS AMAZING

Our pub was literally chockers in the afternoon when the game started and no one left.

The WWC was on the main stage (big screen) sports bar and pool room. The popularity of this WWC has been very impressive and our ladies were just so good last night, punching above their weight and doing it sooooo well.

Never say die.

Well done ladies.

Females. It takes class to be a lady and you don't know each of these individuals.

1691911655186.png

Swap Eden Park for Stadium Oz in the above update.
The average is now up to almost 29000 per game.

4 games to go. Two at Stadium Oz =152 000.
One at Brisbane Stadium 49 500 and one at Eden Park 43 500 = 93 000.
Another 245 000 to go.
Extraordinary.