Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: Association Football

Went to my favourite bar (Shell Cove waterfront tavern) with a couple of close friends, one of which is a football nutter (Arsenal fan and a dogs nrl fan lol) to watch the Aust v France game

Must say such an enjoyable night. One that you wanted to go on for longer.
Premise was packed out. Company, food and drinks awesome, then you have the Matildas...

Everyone was united as one through the ups (very loud) and downs (very quiet lol) of that penalty shoot out, and the Euphoria that moment when we did it. A brilliant match as well. Not bad considering it was 0-0 after the 120min.

Having secured tickets to the semi final about 6 months ago, we already cant wait for this. Tix were $30 each when I bought them blind, not knowing even if we would be there, and they weren't the cheapest tickets either. Black market now they would fetch for $500 id imagine, maybe more? Wouldnt sell them at that price for the world, though maybe at $1000 I might 😁

Chipmunk

I watched the match at Rosco's Sports Bar in Patong in Phuket. They had plenty of screens on the women's soccer, NRL and AFL. No one was interested in the NRL (it was the Warriors v Tigpies at that time) or AFL, it was quite surreal really. Actually broadcasted it from a UK streem, other bars struggled to get the previous game on, one bar finally got that game through a US feed.

Even BBC World News is talking about Matilda's Fever in Australia.

Chipmunk

Dark Corner

I watched the match at Rosco's Sports Bar in Patong in Phuket. They had plenty of screens on the women's soccer, NRL and AFL. No one was interested in the NRL (it was the Warriors v Tigpies at that time) or AFL, it was quite surreal really. Actually broadcasted it from a UK streem, other bars struggled to get the previous game on, one bar finally got that game through a US feed.

Even BBC World News is talking about Matilda's Fever in Australia.
People have been brainwashed mate....it's Covid and Social Distance nonsense as well as Clapping for the NHS bollocks.

King-Gutho94

So all my English mates are pretty confident they will beat us.

I just hope we win and if the poms claim some moral victory then all the better.

I can't handle England beating us after we f.. up the ashes.

I am on the plane back to Australia during the match so will miss it which is a bit dissapointing but hopefully the Girls can get to the final.

T.S Quint

In hindsight, it was pretty lame of them for not giving up their lease on the MCG for 7 weeks for the better good. Clearly the NRL have found compromise with THREE stadiums.

And play where though?
They have like 8 teams or something that use the MCG as their home ground. That's a lot of games over a 7 week period to move somewhere else.

And "the better good"?
The AFL needs to look after the AFL. They have no obligation to do anything for any other sport if it's not in their interests.

And I f**king hate the AFL.

And play where though?
They have like 8 teams or something that use the MCG as their home ground. That's a lot of games over a 7 week period to move somewhere else.

And "the better good"?
The AFL needs to look after the AFL. They have no obligation to do anything for any other sport if it's not in their interests.

And I f**king hate the AFL.

I hate them too but they had options. They chose not to co-operate with FIFA and the FFA.
As I and Gronk have said, NSW/QLD gave up our 3 largest stadiums and coped fine. We took games to regional centers for example. Gosford wasn't even available for us. The NRL isn't as paranoid as the AFL is about football.
The AFL needed only give up Marvel Stadium (capacity 54 000). AAMI Park wasn't going to be an issue for them.
They would still have had the MCG and Geelong. And regional centers like Ballarat. They would have coped.

It's the AFL. They will do nothing to co-exist with any other sport besides cricket.
Hence the self proclaimed, "Sporting capital of the world" has missed out on the major fixtures in this tournament. They got the dregs, and deservedly so.
f**k them.
This tournament has been a massive financial boost for the NSW economy. We, and Brisbane and Auckland have had the pick of the largest games and it continues this Wednesday night and Sunday. Two more sold out Stadium Australia games.

It was also laughable that over the weekend, they flooded social media with everything they were providing Matilda's fans at their games. They finally realised the popularity, and success, of this WWC, and jumped on the bandwagon making themselves sound like f**king hero's for doing so. Then, decided to cut coverage when their game started.

Never trust the AFL and their motives.

Obviously they are concerned about football taking ground from their fan base and so they should

T-Boon

People have been brainwashed mate....it's Covid and Social Distance nonsense as well as Clapping for the NHS bollocks.
It is more like how everyone got into Harry Potter even though it was pretty ordinary. People just like to do what is happening.
It is a big deal to have the women's soccer world cup out here.

I hate them too but they had options. They chose not to co-operate with FIFA and the FFA.
As I and Gronk have said, NSW/QLD gave up our 3 largest stadiums and coped fine. We took games to regional centers for example. Gosford wasn't even available for us. The NRL isn't as paranoid as the AFL is about football.
The AFL needed only give up Marvel Stadium (capacity 54 000). AAMI Park wasn't going to be an issue for them.
They would still have had the MCG and Geelong. And regional centers like Ballarat. They would have coped.

It's the AFL. They will do nothing to co-exist with any other sport besides cricket.
Hence the self proclaimed, "Sporting capital of the world" has missed out on the major fixtures in this tournament. They got the dregs, and deservedly so.
f**k them.
This tournament has been a massive financial boost for the NSW economy. We, and Brisbane and Auckland have had the pick of the largest games and it continues this Wednesday night and Sunday. Two more sold out Stadium Australia games.

It was also laughable that over the weekend, they flooded social media with everything they were providing Matilda's fans at their games. They finally realised the popularity, and success, of this WWC, and jumped on the bandwagon making themselves sound like f**king hero's for doing so. Then, decided to cut coverage when their game started.

Melby missed a trick.

King-Gutho94

f**k them.

AFL has basically stuffed around Cricket in the country as well.

How many pitches now have drop ins because of the AFL. Adelaide Oval, MCG and Perth Stadium are all drop in wickets.

SCG and Gabba are the only 2 left that aren't drop in wickets and I reckon the Gabba may follow suit after the redevelopment

As the former interim coach of QPFC U7s Girls team, I can say that Sweden need to up their first touch game.

That and possibly they should have gone to Maccas for a Happy Meal after the last game.