Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: GWS Giants seeking 17,000 members

T.S Quint

We need to stop giving a shit about what AFL is doing. How about we get our own game sorted before getting up in arms about how the Giants want more members.
I know heaps of people who follow both AFL and NRL in Western Sydney. It shouldn't be some war between the two. If you don't like Aussie Rules, cool (I'm not much of a fan), but I don't see much wrong with enjoying both.

Having said that, I'm not a fan of hearing League journos completely shit on the game whilst talking up AFL. There is way too much negative press in our game. Not sure what can be done about it though.

Av home game attendance is 10,000+.

They seem to be going ok and not a disaster that many seem to be wishing for.

last year they had a heap of games where only 5K turned up and heaps of them were school kids who get free tickets as part of the AFL marketing system.

They give away thousands of tickets a week then claim them as part of the crowd figures, spin doctoring at its best

oldmancraigy

We need to stop giving a shit about what AFL is doing. How about we get our own game sorted before getting up in arms about how the Giants want more members.
I know heaps of people who follow both AFL and NRL in Western Sydney. It shouldn't be some war between the two. If you don't like Aussie Rules, cool (I'm not much of a fan), but I don't see much wrong with enjoying both.

Having said that, I'm not a fan of hearing League journos completely shit on the game whilst talking up AFL. There is way too much negative press in our game. Not sure what can be done about it though.

You're not seriously suggesting that people might have memberships to a league team AND an AFL team???

oldmancraigy

We can hardly talk. Our crowds should be a lot better than they are.

While that's a fair point, we do have the 3rd best average in the NRL at 19,774. I know it'll take a hit this weekend vs Warriors and then again when we go to Darwin, but given our 'longest in the league finals drought' I think we're not the worst offenders?

Our crowds = NRL crowds, not Parramatta crowds.

We can laugh all we like at AFL and GWS, but our code could be doing a lot better than what it is.

The AFL is run completely different to the NRL, its chalk and cheese, our admin and marketing is no better than my local junior footy club, they are so amateurish compared to the AFL. Forget the sport for a minute, they have an exceptional administration.

With all the crap that the Eels and the NRL went though last year and maggots like Telecrap and SMH having leaching off our misery, you wont get that in the AFL, they control the media. If you write any negative about the AFL you are blacklisted form all pressers and official medial releases and you get your sources from other media outlets so you get left behind, or you are out of a job. Andrew Demetriou controlled the media hence his nic name Vlad.

GWS are on top of the ladder because the AFL want them there, its one way to get band waggoners to attend games when a team is winning. GWS get 5 out of the top 10 draft pics since they joined about 5 years ago. They are the best 18 year olds in the land. GWS now have about 25 of the best AFL players in the land. Its not something they have done off their own bat, the AFL gave them those players yet they struggled so bad for attendances last year there was talk of relocating them to Canbra. Now they are winning its all aboard the band waggon.

When the Suns started up here, they were all over the media for 6 months before the first game. They had reps at every school within 100 kilometres and gave away fists full of free passes to any game, as well as a AFL ball to kick around, to anyone who wanted one. They get them interested at a young age and I've no doubt they did the same things in western Sydney.

The AFL is run completely different to the NRL, its chalk and cheese, our admin and marketing is no better than my local junior footy club, they are so amateurish compared to the AFL. Forget the sport for a minute, they have an exceptional administration.

With all the crap that the Eels and the NRL went though last year and maggots like Telecrap and SMH having leaching off our misery, you wont get that in the AFL, they control the media. If you write any negative about the AFL you are blacklisted form all pressers and official medial releases and you get your sources from other media outlets so you get left behind, or you are out of a job. Andrew Demetriou controlled the media hence his nic name Vlad.

GWS are on top of the ladder because the AFL want them there, its one way to get band waggoners to attend games when a team is winning. GWS get 5 out of the top 10 draft pics since they joined about 5 years ago. They are the best 18 year olds in the land. GWS now have about 25 of the best AFL players in the land. Its not something they have done off their own bat, the AFL gave them those players yet they struggled so bad for attendances last year there was talk of relocating them to Canbra. Now they are winning its all aboard the band waggon.

When the Suns started up here, they were all over the media for 6 months before the first game. They had reps at every school within 100 kilometres and gave away fists full of free passes to any game, as well as a AFL ball to kick around, to anyone who wanted one. They get them interested at a young age and I've no doubt they did the same things in western Sydney.

That's exactly what has happened here Twiz.
They sucked money out of state and local govt's for upgrades to Blacktown Sports Centre, and then abandoned it asap and then sucked money out of the state govt again to move to Olympic Park. Why? Because the multicultural demographic of western Sydney wasn't to their liking, and it wasn't going to be where they would gain extra support and members. Truly, no one gives a right royal f**k about GWS in western Sydney. I reckon I've seen a dozen or so stickers on cars or people wearing merchandise in the 6 years they've been in existence. Once, at my son's indoor soccer game, I saw I guy wearing a GWS jacket and on the back it had "GWS Canberra" plastered on it. lol.

The AFL can pour all the f**king money they like into this project. The more the merrier. It's a waste of dollars.
And @hineyrulz is right. They fudge their crowd numbers massively. I so wish someone would call them out.
I've seen 11000 crowds announced for Wanderers games at Spotless, and then 11000 crowds announced for GWS at Seatless, the difference couldn't be more stark. I know who's telling the truth.

It was even admitted by Rupert himself when they signed the new TV deal for ALF that they would be seeing far more coverage in the northern states print media. Today's article about membership numbers for GWS was such a propaganda article. Trying to raise interest in this weeks home game against the drug cheats.

The fact that Rugby League was prepared to work with the FFA in support of a bid for the Football World Cup, while the ALF did everything possible to undermine it, did it for me.
Their paranoia was loud and clear.

Not to mention the banana throwing, the Adam Goodes saga, anti-mosque protests at games, media covered up violence at games, the "Essendon is Innocent" continual claims, the 1000 drug strike policy, Eddie 3 chins and Kevin Sheedy actually making derogatory comments towards the population demographic of western Sydney......
The ALF is representative of 1950's Australia.
I'd be surprised if they went back to China again for a game.
The sport is an embarrassment to this country.

So basically they simply shouldnt have called it "Western" sydney ... then it'd be sweet ... cool

:wink:

What has anyone said that isn't true?
Of all of the things that you said the two that stand out are:

AFL is representative of 1950s Australia.

AFL is an embarrassment to the country.

I guarantee that a similarly biased NRL hater could make the same arguments about the NRL.