Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT - Moving to the shire advice needed

Special K

Well the time has come to settle down and get out of Balmain and live the family life. From our research the the shire meets all our needs in terms of price/what we want. I've only ever been around the shire a few times outside of house hunting/sharks games and do not really know anyone in the area.

Anyone who commutes into the city have advice? How long does it take in peak hour driving? Do the train stations have parking/what time do you need to be there by? Any areas to avoid?

Eion

Mate, depends on your budget a bit.

For me, I like the bay areas. Dolans, Burraneer, Yowie, Gymea. Cronulla is great if you can handle the price and getting in and out of the joint.

I drive into north Sydney from port hacking as it’s quicker then train. If you get away early (by 6:30) you can do it door to door in an hour, but add 25 for the train. But the closer you get to Sutherland, the more the trains make sense. You’d be mad to drive from Engadine for example. I did trains every day for 10 years then had a dummy spit and prefer to drive.

I’ve lived in Gymea Bay, engadine and port hacking. Enjoyed them all for different reasons. For me, I like being close to Cronulla without being in it.

I’m in Engadine.
Not really Cronulla but
It has a train station
Doctors
Pub
Clubs
I can be in town ( Wynyard) in about 50 mins by train.
Sometimes quicker
Sometimes longer
I drive to Hurstville for work and it’s approximately 40 mins...add another 40 to get into to town I’d reckon.
Again...it can be quicker .
I can be at Garie in about 20 mins
Same for Cronulla.
I can be in Gerringong in under an hour.

It’s up to the individual.
I have young kids and could afford a nice 70’s red brick joint here .
Great backyard with awesome bushland straight over my back fence.
In Cronulla it would’ve been a tiny unit looking in on people wanking in their kitchens.

Best of both worlds for me.
I’m not too far from Shark park.
I’m just a quick drive thru the national park for a surf.
I’m literally minutes off the highway heading down the south coast.

Cronulla itself is pretty congested for my tastes.
If I was single I’d out there for sure.
Rat up a drain pipe.

But I’m married and if we were living there she’d only harsh my mellow.

Also schools
Good ones
High school - st pats sutho
Kirrawee
Kirrawee especially.
Hard to get in though.

Shit
De la Cronulla 11-12

Eion

Mine go to Lilli Pilli for primary. Eldest at woolooware. No complaints, I think they’re all ok...though you’ll find someone who’ll whinge about every one.

Except kirrawee. I went there as a kid and it has maintained a good rep despite that.

Special K

We are looking at Miranda, Caringbah, Gymea and Kirrawee aka anywhere near a train station so I can get into the city if I don't want to drive. I have been told places like Oyster Bay etc have nothing around. We are a young family(new born) and mrs is a teacher and all her family is from carlton, kogarah way - yes she is a dragons fan sadly. I can't get into those areas, pretty the shire but gee it puts on halfa to the commute it seems.

What stations do the trains usually pack out at in the AM?

The south coast is something I did not even think about. Plenty of day trips we could do that way cheers

taipan

Also schools
Good ones
High school - st pats sutho
Kirrawee
Kirrawee especially.
Hard to get in though.

Shit
De la Cronulla 11-12

Kirrawee High has a very good name.Woolooware and Cronulla High also are more than just OK.
Caringbah Selective High, need to be a brain surgeon to crack entry.
Live Caringbah South or Souff, if I were a Rabbit's fan.;)

Cronulla shopping is chocko most days, but you have Miranda fair, Gymea,Southgate Sylvania, Kirrawee Village.
And most importantly the Sharks in the year 2535 ,will have a you beaut retail centre.
Good hospitals Caringbah. Kareena, Private Gymea President.
Great area for raising kids from Engadine right through to Cronulla.All the suburbs are well catered for shopping wise.
Good cafes and restaurants throughout.Population still growing with more medium to high density allowed.
Get down to the beach on weekends early either for a dip or walk ,parking OK, then hit the coffee shops.

Reasonable bus services throughout.I allow 50m-1 hour for city travel.

No pollution except when the Broncos come to town.

House prices have come down, but still average $1m for an old 1/4 acre type block with house.New ones townhouses and villas more so.

We are looking at Miranda, Caringbah, Gymea and Kirrawee aka anywhere near a train station so I can get into the city if I don't want to drive. I have been told places like Oyster Bay etc have nothing around. We are a young family(new born) and mrs is a teacher and all her family is from carlton, kogarah way - yes she is a dragons fan sadly. I can't get into those areas, pretty the shire but gee it puts on halfa to the commute it seems.

The south coast is something I did not even think about. Plenty of day trips we could do that way cheers

I looked around all those joints
Bang for buck Engadine was a mile ahead.
Prices have doubled since I bought in 2009 though.

Sutho looks shit to get a parking spot.
Engadine has a new parking area.

Eion

The closer you get to Cronulla the more empty the trains are...but the longer the journey.

Out of your choices I’d go for Gymea or Caringbah...but the closer to the stations you can get some dodgy pockets. I’d get as close to the water as you can.

But depends on what comes on the market as you may get a good deal anywhere. I do agree about Oyster Bay, a bit out of it for mine.

Eion

I looked around all those joints
Bang for buck Engadine was a mile ahead.
Prices have doubled since I bought in 2009 though.

Sutho looks shit to get a parking spot.
Engadine has a new parking area.
I loved engadine. Super easy on the train and the shops are great. Also I’d go into the national park heaps and now hardly ever do.

I grew up Gymea Bay and my missus south Cronulla, so we just wanted to get back amongst it. Love port hacking but miss plenty about engadine....not the drug dealer next door tho.

taipan

Well the time has come to settle down and get out of Balmain and live the family life. From our research the the shire meets all our needs in terms of price/what we want. I've only ever been around the shire a few times outside of house hunting/sharks games and do not really know anyone in the area.

Anyone who commutes into the city have advice? How long does it take in peak hour driving? Do the train stations have parking/what time do you need to be there by? Any areas to avoid?

Try Nth Caringbah and North Woolooware, near to train stations, not as pricey as Cronulla, Woolooware, Caringbah South,Lilli Pilli,Dolans Bay or Burraneer Bay.
And you'll at least crack a train seat to the city at peak.

Sorry to brag but reading this.. Thank faaaahrk I moved to the Sunny Coast. Haha I know it's not for everybody but geez packed trains and b2b traffic..

Youz can have it :grin:

Mate
I was up Broadbeach in Oct staying with friends.
I’d be a raging alcho if I lived there.
So
Mooloolaba and the like means I’d be dead.
Too much drinking weather
It’s perfect.

I remember as a young buck in the early 70's catching the rattler and those new silver double deckers into Central. Had a mate / workmate that lived at Cronulla. The prick would always get a seat on the peakhour specials and by the time it got to Gymea the seats were all taken. Gawd I hated him most morning trips (especially with a Tradies / Gymea Rex inspired hangover.)

Anyhow I am with Cools. The best move I ever made was leaving the big smoke in 78.

Hit The Park in 85. My Tora Bora Cave (the House) was on the market for $76,000. I offered them 65 and they took it. Spent another 30 thou on it and have never looked back. Extended two rooms, put on a big deck over the garage and put in an inground pool. (pool since filled in 6 years ago, I now mow it)

Admittedly with my extensive house maintenance program over the past 32 years my joint now urgently needs about 25 grand ploughed into it. But I am not borrowing anymore dosh. I am currently debt free, absolutely broke and loving it.

Each to their own but my opinion. Get out of the joint as quick as you can. You'll never look back.

Shit if you owned land in Balmain you could buy half of the local towns up here.

Deadset some brand new 3 - 4 bedroom houses are going for around 250 to 350 grand right now with seaviews.

I loved engadine. Super easy on the train and the shops are great. Also I’d go into the national park heaps and now hardly ever do.

I grew up Gymea Bay and my missus south Cronulla, so we just wanted to get back amongst it. Love port hacking but miss plenty about engadine....not the drug dealer next door tho.

Ha
I watched a drug deal go down the other day.
The dealer obviously still lived with his mom and dad.
Nice house with a granny flat out the back.
Out came some feral with dreadlocks and a quick swapsy thru a car window.
I’m like parked right behind them.

Oyster bay is nice
Bit of a punish to find your way around though.
Bonnet bay is s bit of a hidden gem .
Not close to train really.

snout

and those new silver double deckers into Central. .
Ah mammories.

I worked on a crew of carriage builders in the 80s in Newy.

We fitted out the new Tangaras. Silver. Doubledeckers. Black windows.
Was on the first one that rolled out.
More politicians than a free lunch.

Lived in the good side of jannali for a long time and close to train but generally the shire is way overcrowded now, takes 40 mins to drive from
Menai to Sylvania on a weekend.

We gotta get out of this place
If its the last thing we ever do
We gotta get out of this place
Girl, there's a better life for me and you