Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT - Moving to the shire advice needed

Seriously though...

Born in Caringbah.

Grew up in Caringbah and Cronulla.

Moved away for a bit.

Came back to Lotfus.

Lived in Engo and now in Heathcote.

Here’s the tip. Mainstream Shire is now too overcrowded and over stimulating for me. Meaning, people everywhere, traffic, bright lights, multi story apartments etc etc.

I would NEVER had thought so, and definitely wouldn’t have said it as a kid, but for me now the best parts of the Shire now are the quiet areas of the southern shire periphery.

Bundeena/Maianbar are still cosy but getting trendy.

BTW carch. Have you had those Deluxe Gourmet Pizzas yet? Rancid. Should be run outta town

Seriously though...

Born in Caringbah.

Grew up in Caringbah and Cronulla.

Moved away for a bit.

Came back to Lotfus.

Lived in Engo and now in Heathcote.

Here’s the tip. Mainstream Shire is now too overcrowded and over stimulating for me. Meaning, people everywhere, traffic, bright lights, multi story apartments etc etc.

I would NEVER had thought so, and definitely wouldn’t have said it as a kid, but for me now the best parts of the Shire now are the quiet areas of the southern shire periphery.

Bundeena/Maianbar are still cosy but getting trendy.

BTW carch. Have you had those Deluxe Gourmet Pizzas yet? Rancid. Should be run outta town
Nah
Haven’t tried them.
I’m not much of s pizza eater.
My kids have asked to try those ones but I’m a tight arse and can make my own from scratch.
Ha
I did have the chicken burger at the corner brew.
Bloody unreal
Needed a shower after it though.

We gotta get out of this place
If its the last thing we ever do
We gotta get out of this place
Girl, there's a better life for me and you

I got sick of working for engineering companies that cant compete with Chinese imports,and go bust (not my fault I swear!) So 3 yrs ago sold my house,cashed in my super and bought a Macadamia Farm.$ 900,000 got me 4 bedroom modern brick house,4000 trees,(I bought a job at my front door) and the equiptment to run it. We are 10 minute drive from Gympie 45 minutes from Rainbow beach.

Things were great till Hail storm wiped out this yrs crop . Arrgh!!! ....But next year we get 60 tonnes of nuts Ill be laughing again. f**k cities , f**k Traffic, f**k trains,f**k busses f**k bosses .... Life's good here.

I got sick of working for engineering companies that cant compete with Chinese imports,and go bust (not my fault I swear!) So 3 yrs ago sold my house,cashed in my super and bought a Macadamia Farm.$ 900,000 got me 4 bedroom modern brick house,4000 trees,(I bought a job at my front door) and the equiptment to run it. We are 10 minute drive from Gympie 45 minutes from Rainbow beach.

Things were great till Hail storm wiped out this yrs crop . Arrgh!!! ....But next year we get 60 tonnes of nuts Ill be laughing again. f**k cities , f**k Traffic, f**k trains,f**k busses f**k bosses .... Life's good here.

Wow
That sounds awesome.
Did you have any experience in nut farming or farming at all?

I’d love to do something like that.
Full solar with aquaponics
I am addicted to gourmet farmer and river cottage etc.
I love where the wild men are ( Ben fogle show)

Hindsight is a wonderful experience. I look back now and think of how many of my former bosses and supervisors that I should of just told to go and get.

You sit back now and realise what dangerous dickheads some of them actually were.

Recently I had my old Gymea neighbour I grew up with, reconnect with me (love that social network thingy). One of our phone conversations he told me the story of his recent employment contract. He is still a Syd-a-ney boy and lives at Kirrawee. The guy had done real well and climbed high up in his government job. He retired some time ago but his branch of employment was in the midst of a major shitfight.

They offered him a short contract on money he couldn't refuse so he went back for four months I think it was. He told me one day one of the bosses/supervisor was swanking around the joint and being a bit of a pork chop. When he had a chance the mate conversed with him and asked him "Do you like working here in the Government Public Service?" The bloke replied "Yes, its a great job and I have achieved a lot"

Mate just shook his head and said, "Well I am glad that you enjoy working here because you wouldn't last a f**king day working for the private sector!!" Mate got up and walked away.

Same bloke told me that it was about two or three days into his recalled contract time, he was standing on the platform at Kirrawee waiting for the morning peak hour rattler with all the other 'cattle'. He reckons he just said out aloud, "What the f**k am I doing here"

Mate is now happily re-retired.

carinashark

Spent my youth in Oyster Bay (lived opposite the Shell servo on Bates Drive),Jannali Boys High. Then off to see the world.
Back to Jannali.
Then Heathcote, I would recommend East Heathcote as suburb, it’s quiet ,lots of trees, National Park (Nasho). Schools very good when my kids were going. Only downside is the train trip into the city if you work there. But for getting about Sydney it’s amazing , Princess Hyw,and Heathcote Road work well.
Now on the far south coast acreage ,near self sufficient , no pool, just trees and space.
But I can’t let my Sharks go. You see it’s in the blood.

Spent my youth in Oyster Bay (lived opposite the Shell servo on Bates Drive),Jannali Boys High. Then off to see the world.
Back to Jannali.
Then Heathcote, I would recommend East Heathcote as suburb, it’s quiet ,lots of trees, National Park (Nasho). Schools very good when my kids were going. Only downside is the train trip into the city if you work there. But for getting about Sydney it’s amazing , Princess Hyw,and Heathcote Road work well.
Now on the far south coast acreage ,near self sufficient , no pool, just trees and space.
But I can’t let my Sharks go. You see it’s in the blood.

Spent about 18months of my married life in Bottleforest Rd, Carina. It was in the mid 70's. East Heathcote was very quiet then.

Where on the far south are you?

looking at this thread makes me jealous

having experienced going to the shire a lot K, I would agree that the closer u end up to sutho the train would make sense re commuting.

Just remember sutho south and sutho to Cronulla are 2 different train lines.
I’m not sure but I think they alternate about every 15 mins .

Engadine train line is piss easy I must say.
Tunnel under the road
Coffee shops and maccas suspiciously situated
right next to tunnel entry.
You pretty much can pick your seat when you get on because no f**ker lives this far away from the city.
Ha

Anyway I’m a little bias
I did NOT want to live in Engadine.
I didn’t even consider it.
We looked for over 12 months.
Cronulla - Caringbah- oyster bay -kirrawee- gymea - Jannali ... everywhere.
We had 520 to spend in 2008.
That got us fibro joints with neighbours surrounding us.
Or goat tracks on train lines in Como etc.

Finally my wife said to check out Engadine.
So hungover like a dog I went to an open house.

Beautiful quiet street.
Bush back yard - reserve that can’t be built on.
Massive under house garage
1km to Bowlo!!!
Great neighbors who have been here for over 30 years both sides.
Brick
2 dunnys.
The shops are even starting to become trendy.
Woolies
Aldi
Coles
Franklins (?)
Bowlo , tavern , RSL,.
Two wine bars are in the pipeline.
About 17 Chinese restaurants
12 Thai
A few Japanese
198 coffee shops
And Brownscombes the shop where Frenzy gets all his stylin threads.

Yep
And ones of those “old guys rule” t- shirts.

Does he still wear this one?
41JW0SIonSL.jpg

carinashark

Spent about 18months of my married life in Bottleforest Rd, Carina. It was in the mid 70's. East Heathcote was very quiet then.

Where on the far south are you?
Yes I know Bottle Forrest Rd , not far from the park there. It’s changed a lot though. A lot of the older homes have been demolished, then subdivided. You know the sort of thing. But it’s still tree lined. I’m near Bega now on 8 acres it can be cold during winter though but I can visit family in Qld to thaw out.

Ganalda?

bluefox1968

Jannali Boys High.

Hey, what year did you finish?

I lived in Vanuatu until age 14. WENT TO JANNALI BOYS IN 1983 (YEAR 9)...
Then moved to Brisbane, then Bathurst, then Vanuatu again, now back in Brissie.

My parents still live in Sydney - Revesby. My Grandfather lived at Bexley (Rockdale) - Dragons life member (until he died last year - aged 99 and 11 months (I kid you not!))...