Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: Need help finding a club

Brazzers

Hey everyone, I'm a long time reader but first time poster on these forums so I thought it was about time I signed up and said hey. I looked through the other forums and couldn't find an appropriate place to post this so I thought I'd post it in the Eels forum seeing as I support them and from what I've read over the past year you all seem friendly ;-)

Basically I'm 18 and i've played rugby union for around 6/7 years for a private school in Sydney and now i'm in my first year of university but union just wasn't doing it for me anymore. I was flyhalf for my 1st XV and i enjoyed the play making role but having no room to work with turned me off the game, and I've always enjoyed playing muck around games of rugby league with mates and I think i'd be better suited.

But i've tried having a look around on google and I can't find any information on rugby league clubs I can join around my area. I'm from the inner west and I wouldn't mind travelling 30/40min if needed to play, but I can't find any information at all. Also another question, now that i'm 18 does that mean i'd have to play in the adult competition? Or are there competitions for specifically 18 year olds?

Thanks to anyone who can help me.

mono_mal

Mate if your 18 and from the Inner West you have the option of playing U19 or U21 for a club from the Inner Sydney Comp (Combined comp for the Balmain, Souths, St George and Canterbury districts) or travelling out to Parramatta to represent a club in C-Grade (u19!).

Perhaps try Concord Burwood, Newtown Junior Jets, North Ryde or in the Parra comp try Wentworthville, Guildford...

Brazzers

Well it's good that people find my username entertaining... but I'm still no closer to finding any information :lol: Can anyone at all suggest a few clubs or answer my questions?

Brazzers

Mate if your 18 and from the Inner West you have the option of playing U19 or U21 for a club from the Inner Sydney Comp (Combined comp for the Balmain, Souths, St George and Canterbury districts) or travelling out to Parramatta to represent a club in C-Grade (u19!).

Perhaps try Concord Burwood, Newtown Junior Jets, North Ryde or in the Parra comp try Wentworthville, Guildford...

Thanks for your reply! Sorry I didn't see it before I posted. Yeah Concord Burwood/Canterbury would probably be my closest teams, but I couldn't find any information about my age group about them, all it went up to was U/14s.

If I wanted to search rugby union clubs around my area I'd have no trouble finding them at all.. it's a bit sad that being the dominant footy code in NSW that it's so tricky to find clubs at grass roots level.

The Major

Lewisham Old Boys (never mind the last bit, plenty of young blokes) they play out of Henson Park at Marrickville in the NSW Tertiary League. UTS Tigers are another based out of Balmain. Its a Saturday comp too. Google NSW tertiary league and youll find heaps of good info.

PJ Marshal

Hey everyone, I'm a long time reader but first time poster on these forums so I thought it was about time I signed up and said hey. I looked through the other forums and couldn't find an appropriate place to post this so I thought I'd post it in the Eels forum seeing as I support them and from what I've read over the past year you all seem friendly ;-)

Basically I'm 18 and i've played rugby union for around 6/7 years for a private school in Sydney and now i'm in my first year of university but union just wasn't doing it for me anymore. I was flyhalf for my 1st XV and i enjoyed the play making role but having no room to work with turned me off the game, and I've always enjoyed playing muck around games of rugby league with mates and I think i'd be better suited.

But i've tried having a look around on google and I can't find any information on rugby league clubs I can join around my area. I'm from the inner west and I wouldn't mind travelling 30/40min if needed to play, but I can't find any information at all. Also another question, now that i'm 18 does that mean i'd have to play in the adult competition? Or are there competitions for specifically 18 year olds?

Thanks to anyone who can help me.

PM Suitman he is president of the Dural Wankers RLFC