Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ot- qantas

Joycey sorted out Qantas. He got a pay rise. Stock value will increase. Qantas will be able to compete.
Everything passes the common sense test.
Rupert is still worth a fortune. New paper strarting up. Confidence returning to his empire & the 4 people Quigs is mentioning were actually handed over to the Authorities by News Corp.
Agaibn, the common sense test is passed.

Ohhh Really.

It's a room for independent think tankers to discuss things other than a boring offseason.

timwilson-1.jpg

And friends of the IPA, The istitute of Public Affairs can express their ongoing support for the reforms of Prime Minister Gillard.

Independent huh?

LOL LOL

I declare the whole thread and everyone in it a mass infraction!

Every poster is sentenced to go to the filthy Stains forum and post a tribute to Da Soup!

Seriously

the power has gone to your head. I openly reject your sentence within this thread.

I am now a member of the syrian free army.

Another great day in depressed Australia.
The countdowns are well under way.
Countdown 1 the end of Juliar
Countdown 2 Wall to wall coalition across Australia.

Good times.

Wow Reefy where did you hear that....

Let me guess, the Papers and the Bimboes on TV.

If you believe the Polls then maybe you might like to do a little study of them..

Hope you are enjoying your high interest rates... remember floppy Joe Hockey said they would never be lower then when a Lib Gov is in office.

-----------------------------------------------------------------

SOME THINGS YOU JUST DONT READ OR HEAR ABOUT IN AUSTRALIAS MAIN STREAM MEDIA.

Just might be time to review some interesting facts and figures about this do nothing .... hopeless ... Guvment.

We gotta get rid of them or our sky will fall in.....

We gotta get rid of them because we will get a NBN and that will really knock the Media and TV mob really hard.

WHAT HAVE WE GOT TO SHOW FOR HAVING A GUV'MENT OTHER THAN THE NOALITION........ nothing I tell yuh, nothing....!!!!

101 Economic Fundamental
1. Unemployment 5.3%

2. Inflation 3.1%

3. GDP Growth 3.5%

4. RBA Interest Rate – 4.25%

5. Govt Net Debt – 6% GDP

6. Total Public Debt – 20% GDP (IMF) Vs UK/France/Germany 80%, USA 110%, Italy 120%, Japan 200% BRIC (66/11/71/33)

7. Trade Surplus $22.4 billion last financial year – easily the biggest surplus in raw terms for the past 40 years of records compiled by the ABS

8. Sovereign Rating – Australia one of just 15 countries to hold the top AAA Rating from all Agencies

9. Currency – AUD/USD 1.05, AUD/UK 0.67 AUD/Euro 0.80 – The floating of AUD is the single most important economic reform introduced by Labor. It acts as a shock absorber to external economic conditions

10. Australia is in Asia, the growth engine averaging 6% and part of the Asian Century

11. NBN – One of the most advanced high speed Internet enabled network in the world. Australia’s first national wide, open access FTTP broadband network with minimum 93% coverage, capable of achieving 1 gigabit per second broadband speeds.
102. Political Fundamental
1. “ALP best manager of money, history shows” - George Megalogenis

2. Labor is still the Australian Govt & PM Gillard for another 20months, 84 weeks, 588 days, 14112 hours, 846,720 minutes and 50,803,200 secs and the Gillard Govt has passed 253 bills through HoR so far. And the Labor Govt Parliamentary majority goes from 75-74 to 76-73.

3. No interest rise for the 12th consecutive month Vs 10 consecutive rises under Howard/Costello. It is now expected no rises in the future with a prospect of 100/125 basis points cut by June 2012.

4. “The Atlantic magazine named Gillard as one of its “2011 brave thinkers” for her resolute strength in pushing through a carbon tax. “Whether you see the move as politically expedient or as a principled course correction, there’s no denying the risk that it entails in a country where climate change is a wildly contentious issue,” writes Geoffrey Gagnon”

5. Labor’s Tax take 21.75% of GDP Vs 25% under Liberals

6. NEW Treasury analysis finds Mining played minor role during GFC, it says service industries such as retail – which received a hefty boost from Kevin Rudd’s stimulus package – were crucial in sustaining the economy during its darkest days.

7. Wayne Swan – Treasurer of the Year 2011

8. PM Gillard solved #QANTAS dispute in 36 hrs, Hawke solved the Pilot Dispute in 1 month and Howard solved the Waterfront Dispute in 6 months.

9. How good are nations at keeping the promises made at G20 summits? - Australia NO: 1 -

103. Social Fundamental
1. Australian families depending on one breadwinner pay among the lowest amounts of tax in the world and have become better off under the Gillard Government – Natsem

2. The Herald/Lateral Economics Index of Australia’s Wellbeing rose 2.2 per cent in the quarter, outstripping GDP growth of 1 per cent. Read more:

3. The number of people filling for bankruptcy in Australia has fallen by 16%.

4. Recently released IMF estimates show that Australians are the fifth richest people in the world, behind only those living in Luxembourg, Qatar, Norway and Switzerland

5. AUSTRALIA is second best – almost but not quite the greatest place in which to live, according to the latest United Nations human development index. Norway pips us by a flared nostril. Australia scores 0.93 on a scale of 0 to 1, where 1 is the highest score possible. At 0.94, Norway’s margin over Australia is close to invisible

6. Ave weekly earning +4.7% in yr to Aug. 10 years of real wage gains.

7. Aust & Holland have the best pension systems in the world followed by Sweden, Swiss, Canada, Uk READ MORE

104. The Future
1. Investment in the next year in mining and related infra-structure projects $140B

2. Business investment spending is expected to grow by 15 per cent this year and another 15 per cent next year. – Ross Gittin

3. Australia in good shape if another crisis hits, says IMF – 8/8/11

4. BHP Billiton $80B Olympic Dam copper/uranium/gold mine in South Australia creating 6000 jobs during a decade-long construction phase, 4000 ongoing jobs at the mine and 15,000 indirect jobs.This is despite the Resource Tax

5. The strength of the nation’s markets during the Global Financial Crisis was highlighted by the World Economic Forum, which in 2009 ranked Australia as the world’s second-best financial centre after the UK. Australia was the only country in the top 20 to improve its ranking.With around A$1.7 trillion in assets under management, Australia is the largest funds management market in Asia, and the fourth-largest in the world. Australia has one of the highest levels of managed funds per capita in the world, with total investment fund assets in Australia projected to reach A$7 trillion by 2028.

6. For dealmakers Down Under, 2011 will go down as a vintage year for inbound M&A activity, according to the latest data from Dealogic.So far this year, Australia has attracted a record US$59.9 billion of total inbound deals, already surpassing US$55 billion achieved in the whole of 2010, according to the data provider. READ MORE

7. The figures show September quarter spending on exploration for coal up 12 per cent to a new record high of $227 million, spending on iron ore exploration up 9 per cent to a new record high of $235 million, and spending on onshore petroleum exploration up 33 per cent to a new record high of $249 million.

8. The ABS figures follow Tuesday’s Bureau of Resources and Energy Economics forecast of record energy and minerals export earnings of $206 billion in 2012. If realised, they will boost government revenue, making its forecast surplus easier to attain. The bureau says capital expenditure by resource companies stands at a record high of $232 billion.

9. Bloomberg has done a survey and found that Australia is the 5th best and easiest place in the world to do business after HK, Netherlands, USA and UK. Read More

QUESTION FROM THE FLOOR WITHOUT NOTICE. ( a curious old fart I am )

Quick questions here for those that have been actively following this rivetting thread. Its a Quigs strawpoll

1 - Do you still buy the papers regularly?

2 - Do you get your news online?

3 - Are you really interested in Politics Federal and State?.

4 - If you buy the papers is it only for the sport section?

5 - Do you believe what is written in the papers?

6 - Do you hate Stain George and the Hartleys of Brookvale.

I am interested to know.

-------------------------------------------------

1 - I only buy the sunday rag here in qld for the TV program. Have not purchased a daily rag for zonks.

2 - I get my news online....

4 - I get my footy goss from in here and follow my learned posters links to other sites.

5 - Re my politcal news gathering, I get my facts off Reefy ... LOL oh and spide. I love politics.

6- What do you reckon !!!!!

How many of you still buy the papers.
No

How many get their news online.
Online mainly smh.com.au and nytimes.com

Are you really interested in Politics Federal and State.
Yes and internationally

If you buy the papers is it only for the sport section.
No

Eion

1 - Do you still buy the papers regularly?
Hardly ever. Don't even buy the Sunday paper since my tele had a built in program, which I used to every week. (Helps I can jag one at Nth Cronulla surf club after nippers too...)

2 - Do you get your news online?
Mostly just sport, but will dip in at work hardly ever at home.

3 - Are you really interested in Politics Federal and State?.
Moderately.

4 - If you buy the papers is it only for the sport section?
Online for sport.

5 - Do you believe what is written in the papers?
hahaha

6 - Do you hate Stain George and the Hartleys of Brookvale.
x2

redback

1 - Do you still buy the papers regularly? Yes

2 - Do you get your news online? Yes News, SMH and Daily Telegraph

3 - Are you really interested in Politics Federal and State?. Yes

4 - If you buy the papers is it only for the sport section? No

5 - Do you believe what is written in the papers? Not always

6 - Do you hate Stain George and the Hartleys of Brookvale. No, just the Bulldogs.

spider

Another great day in depressed Australia.
The countdowns are well under way.
Countdown 1 the end of Juliar
Countdown 2 Wall to wall coalition across Australia.

Good times.

I'm still laughing at her rolling over on Wilkie

All of Australia saw it coming except him - haha

It will prove to be the biggest win/win for the coalition after 07 rolls her for revenge

I'm still laughing at her rolling over on Wilkie

All of Australia saw it coming except him - haha

It will prove to be the biggest win/win for the coalition after 07 rolls her for revenge

I've just been informed by unnamed sources, and a few insiders, growing number of unnamed lab backbenchers, unnamed caucus members, unnamed ministerial staffers and three unnamed ministers that .......

all is well and its steady as she goes.

Record low interest rates, (remember interest rates will never be lower than what the Noalition can deliver ... KFC Hockey promised us that) and another rate drop next month or so.

Pensioners to get their payrise soon ($250 bonus)

Yep but what about the Polls, what about the Polls. 18months out +5 goodguys and -5 Noalition over the past three months.

Its a melbourne cup race ... not 1000mt sprint. Crikey we haven't even looked for the whip yet.

Spide, you're not Michelle Gratten are you ?

spider

No mate, I'm not - you can vouch for that.

But your stance on interest rates is swiss cheese captain. Even those with no economic back ground understand our rates are not low as a result of australian federal fiscal management.

Rates were high under a coalition govt due to growth.

No mate, I'm not - you can vouch for that.

But your stance on interest rates is swiss cheese captain. Even those with no economic back ground understand our rates are not low as a result of australian federal fiscal management.

Rates were high under a coalition govt due to growth.

OI!!

I'm the only capt' in here buddy.

Did Spides info come from an unnamed source?

Its alright Capt' the tory mob can spin anything around to suit their needs.

I'll probably read it in the Telecrap next... so it might be true.

FUGG!

I just had a terrible vision

spider
redback

Are they related?

aaaarrrrggggghhhhhhh