Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: The official "Put Sh!t on Ricky HERE" thread

Suity, we went down in golden point to the Warriors and just got pipped by the Premiers. To that extent I think it's a bit rich to say that we are not having a dig too.

No I don't like losing either, but it's f**ked up how our fans turn on the players and staff when we lose a few. We string a few together and the same merkins are posting like nothing happened.

This is Parramatta.
We are f**king last, fans turning on the team??? It's a wonder the club has any fans left after the last 6 years of shit offered up. But you keep having digs at people who have the temerity to be sick of the shit this club has been offering year after year. We are the laughing stock of the NRL but for some reason people just don't want to believe it.

No, they just have better players.
Which is why Ricky went there to begin with.
Better team??? They were tipped to run and last, they had a few decent signings but nothing to turn them into a top 8 team. Everyone was talking up our squad preseason and most tipped a top 8 finish ( I tipped us to struggle) now the squad is crap and not he coaches fault.

:lol: still don't rate Ricky as a coach and am glad he is gone. Don't think much of the bloke who replaced him either. You can't deny they look a better knit and coached team than what our trundlers are offering up ATM. Doesn't mean I want him back. Cute that you bothered to go chasing a post from two years ago to prove a point.

To reply to Gronk, pretty much this.
I'm sick of seeing us on the bottom of the table but still on the back page of the tabloids every second day.
I've shared your faith and defended the club for years Gronk, but there comes a point where one just gets sick of it.
I reckon I'm at that point.
It's not just the results, it's the politics and the car crashes and the drug tests and everything else. The place is a shambles, and I have every right to say it and feel pissed off.
And when things improve, I'll give credit where it is due.
But right at this point in time, we ARE the laughing stock of the NRL, and have been for years.

Kornstar

I'm sick of seeing us on the bottom of the table but still on the back page of the tabloids every second day.
I've shared your faith and defended the club for years Gronk, but there comes a point where one just gets sick of it.
It's not just the results, it's the politics and the car crashes and the drug tests and everything else. The place is a shambles, and I have every right to say it and feel pissed off.
But right at this point in time, we ARE the laughing stock of the NRL, and have been for years.

Agreed.........and we deserve to be the laughing stock too.......i think that is what hurts the most because when people constantly remind you, like people like to, you can't argue with them!

Incorrect

Sadly, I have to agree whole-heartedly with Suity's post... A sixth straight year not making the Finals coming up... every other team has played Finals footy in that time and the accepted concensus is that in the cyclical nature that is the NRL these days, 3 consecutive years without a Finals appearance is about as long as any team should miss the finals while they undergo rebuilding abnd re-generation... All the other clubs seem to be doing it right. We seem to have little to no clue about how to get it done... Foran and Scott might part of the answer for next year, but to me there are still many unanswered questions about how we turn things around...

Great post mate, and I agree with it 100%

Not disputing that we are bit of a laughing stock (we are), and despite the win/loss record, I think we've been consistently more competitive this year (and with a thinner roster). In previous seasons some of the big clubs have wiped the floor with us. This season that has not happened. One shocker v the GC, and a very poor 1st half in first Warriors game, but otherwise we've been in every other game for a good proportion of the match, and we have lost close ones.

The constant other shenanigans is friggin annoying.

Not disputing that we are bit of a laughing stock (we are), and despite the win/loss record, I think we've been consistently more competitive this year (and with a thinner roster). In previous seasons some of the big clubs have wiped the floor with us. This season that has not happened. One shocker v the GC, and a very poor 1st half in first Warriors game, but otherwise we've been in every other game for a good proportion of the match, and we have lost close ones.

We're coming last. Again. Still.

Noise

Being in games means stuff all when you're losing. All that matters are wins and losses.

OK. So if you're just as happy losing by 50 every week good luck to you.

The competitiveness of the games is a fair signal of how far you are away from improving sufficiently to win. Not a perfect signal by any means, but I know what I'd rather.

Yeh I know. I don't think that necessarily contradicts any thing I said.

I don't mean to and wasn't being condescending Baz, but frankly, I've had a gutful of years of underperformance and mismanagement. And I was going to Cumberland Oval in the mid 70's, so I've seen a bit.
I've really lost interest in the club and the idiots that run the place.
Funny thing is, I've probably been to Parramatta stadium more in the past 2 years than I had for the 5 years before that.
I'll never miss a minute of the Eels performances, but they can get f**ked if they think that people will continue to spend their hard earned year after year watching this circus. Foxtel is my choice of viewership these days. They've lost me on game day, and I say that with a heavy heart, but there's only so many years I can pour thousands of bucks into following them not only at home, but interstate as well and on merchandise.
I've given them the best part of my life. It's a two way street.

I don't mean to and wasn't being condescending Baz, but frankly, I've had a gutful of years of underperformance and mismanagement. And I was going to Cumberland Oval in the mid 70's, so I've seen a bit.
Funny thing is, I've probably been to Parramatta stadium more in the past 2 years than I had for the 5 years before that.
I'll never miss a minute of the Eels performances, but they can get f**ked if they think that people will continue to spend their hard earned year after year watching this circus. Foxtel is my choice of viewership these days. They've lost me on game day, and I say that with a heavy heart, but there's only so many years I can pour thousands of bucks into following them not only at home, but interstate as well and on merchandise.

That's all fair enough mate. I didn't suggest that you or anyone else had to feel the same as me.

They f**king piss me off too ( for the benefit of my blood pressure I have to just walk away sometimes).

IFR33K

Suity I feel your pain as we are all suffering. But I recall in 2010 I'd get bashed pillar to post about certain decisions the club had made. You were constantly chasing me about any negative posts I made. I've copped it deluxe from rival fans, friends and randoms. Till this day we are struggling because of certain decisions made several years ago. But, I can't change my team nor will I turn my back on them. Yes the past few years have been testing, which will only make the good times more rewarding. Stick solid with your team bro, better times are just around the corner.

Noise

OK. So if you're just as happy losing by 50 every week good luck to you.

The competitiveness of the games is a fair signal of how far you are away from improving sufficiently to win. Not a perfect signal by any means, but I know what I'd rather.

We got touched up a few times last year and still could have made the 8 in the last round. This year we haven't had any huge floggings but are coming last. How have we improved? Which season would you prefer?

Give me 10 wins and 10 losses with a few floggings any day rather than a season of competitive games where we lose most of them and finish last.

Suity I feel your pain as we are all suffering. But I recall in 2010 I'd get bashed pillar to post about certain decisions the club had made. You were constantly chasing me about any negative posts I made. I've copped it deluxe from rival fans, friends and randoms. Till this day we are struggling because of certain decisions made several years ago. But, I can't change my team nor will I turn my back on them. Yes the past few years have been testing, which will only make the good times more rewarding. Stick solid with your team bro, better times are just around the corner.

I'll always stick solid mate.
Better times ahead? I'm sick of hearing it.
As I said, I'll watch every minute of the Eels. Never miss a result or any bit of news. But I'm not wasting another cent on them either at the same time.
I'm just sick of the same old crap year after year.

1986. It's been too long for what is supposed to be a powerful club. Powerful my arse. Shambolic is a better description.

IFR33K

I'll always stick solid mate.
Better times ahead? I'm sick of hearing it.
As I said, I'll watch every minute of the Eels. Never miss a result or any bit of news. But I'm not wasting another cent on them either at the same time.
I'm just sick of the same old crap year after year.

1986. It's been too long for what is supposed to be a powerful club. Powerful my arse. Shambolic is a better description.

Mate, you couldn't make up the shittt we've been put through. It would make a great movie if we happen to take out a premiership over the next few years. There isn't a quick fix soloition to all this. We will get there again.

emjaycee

In all seriousness, apart from the size of the juniors we have, why are we supposed to be a powerful club?
Is it our financial position, our solid board, our experienced management, our elite coaching staff?

I am not sure that the expectation of us being a powerful club is deserved to be honest and hasn't been for a bloody long time (if ever). The successes we saw in the 80's were the result of some good local talent, some smart recruitment and loyalty from players in an era long gone now. But although we won 4 premierships in one decade we have actually only been strong on the field for 1 in 7 decades since coming into being.

That is not a powerful club.

IFR33K

In all seriousness, apart from the size of the juniors we have, why are we supposed to be a powerful club?
Is it our financial position, our solid board, our experienced management, our elite coaching staff?

I am not sure that the expectation of us being a powerful club is deserved to be honest and hasn't been for a bloody long time (if ever). The successes we saw in the 80's were the result of some good local talent, some smart recruitment and loyalty from players in an era long gone now. But although we won 4 premierships in one decade we have actually only been strong on the field for 1 in 7 decades since coming into being.

That is not a powerful club.

Potentially we are or can be the most powerful club in the country. Great leagues club, massive juniors, huge fan base nation wide with a rich history. Sadly the results haven't helped, both on and off the field.

Had we jagged 01, 05 and 09, would this even be a discussion????