Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: The Olympic thread

et

Yeah that Greek hurdler was butch as, and she's improved 4 seconds or so in a year!

And their walker was deadset sprinting into the stadium - what happened to the red cards. I wish Saville had finished second:
Tsoumeleka paid tribute to Greek sprinters Costas Kenteris and Katerina Thanou who withdrew from the Games in bizarre circumstances after missing a dope test.

"I firmly believe they did nothing wrong," Tsoumeleka said. "They gave me great strength. :lol: Katerina comes from my home town in northwestern Greece."

http://www.reuters.com/newsArticle.jhtml?type=sportsNews&storyID=6043733
And a different walker from the last Olympics:
A Greek race walker will miss the Sydney Games for steroid use, and a cyclist could be left off the Olympic team depending on the outcome of another drug test.
Alexandra Tziouti, who holds Greece's 10-kilometer walk record, was excluded from the Olympic team because she twice tested positive for nandrolone.

gunnamatta bay

The security at the Olympics is going great guns. A greek security guard has been shot dead by his colleague while playing russian roulette because they were bored.

My best friend used to be that black line on the bottom of the pool aswell
me too ,um well the roof was my mate .
4th under 9's 100 backstroke state championships. 1980
bronze 100 backstroke state high school 1982
never got a gold at state level.
but I heard I still hold a backstroke record at my primary school.Woo Hoo!!

then puberty hit everyone but me and I was racing grown men .

Olly_Rings

Just saw something on the Fox show Backpage which in a way puts paid to cries of tall poppy syndrome

Our own Shane Gould has just given Liesel Jones an almighty spray about her BAD ATTITUDE. That makes it tall poppy to tall poppy.

Anyone hear Hadley on the radiola this arv getting stuck into Athletics Australia about our underachieving in track and field. yeah I know he's a wanker and all but he did point out we have no men in the 400 hurdles, no high jumpers and no long jumpers - no one got to the A Standard for Olympic qualifying. Pretty piss weak in an affluent, sports mad society.

The differenc ebeing Mr Olly, is that no other countries really give a toss about swimming.
Even the US, hardly give a toss about swimming.

It is a sport dominated by Australia, agaisnt a minority of countries, with a minority of poulation participation.

Track & feild a whole new story.
Now why would a kid who is good at the 400m hurdles, give his life up, on the possibility that he may get into the top 20 in the world?
Ask OZ track & feild guys, it doesnt pay.

Olly_Rings

Yeah really?

Then shouldn't it be up to someone to make it pay? The bit about Hadley's rant that I didn't mention was how we are going backwards. I doe no who won what when in the past but he rattled off a heap of names from 50s and 60s where we at least competed and in some cases won some metal wear.

that'd be nice, just to be in there competing

but we dont qualify.
In the early days, we were just up against the economies of scale. i.e. the bigger the population, the more chance of freaks.
Now we are up against that, & the powers of their chemists.

gunnamatta bay

I was very impressed with Shane Gould and would not have described her comments on Jones as a 'huge spray'. Gould made a lot of sense, got a little bit cosmic, a throw back to her hippie days, but had the other panelists enthralled. I was amazed that she retired so young at 16 years of age.

How good is this country

Today's medal tally
1 U.S.A. 25 27 19

2 China 24 15 12

3 Japan 15 8 9

4 Australia 14 9 14

Sydney 2000
1. United States 39 25 33

2. Russia 32 28 28

3. China 28 16 15

4. Australia 16 25 17

5. Germany 14 17 26

6. France 13 14 11
15. Japan 5 8 5

Hopefully we're in with a shot at third, those lousy Japs have come from nowhere, hopefully they drop off soon enough

Olly_Rings

Well we got another gold in the cycling last night and we mighta gotten a bronze too, not sure.

If we had some T & F athletes up to standard we would get third I reckon Shire Shark

Been a good games overall though :)

Surely

blacktip-reefy said:
The differenc ebeing Mr Olly, is that no other countries really give a toss about swimming.

It is a sport dominated by Australia, agaisnt a minority of countries, with a minority of poulation participation.

Now why would a kid who is good at the 400m hurdles, give his life up, on the possibility that he may get into the top 20 in the world?

Tell that to the white guy from the states who won the 400m.

I can tell you if we had an athelete who won the 100, 200, or 400, he would not have to worry about money !

I'm sure Pittman doesn't have to worry about the money either.

As for the guy who may just get into the top 20 ... I'm sure it would pay more than a trolly boy at coles.

Surely said:
blacktip-reefy said:

Tell that to the white guy from the states who won the 400m.

I can tell you if we had an athelete who won the 100, 200, or 400, he would not have to worry about money !

I'm sure Pittman doesn't have to worry about the money either.

As for the guy who may just get into the top 20 ... I'm sure it would pay more than a trolly boy at coles.

Umm. whats your point?

cheese

The shire claimed another gold the other night with grahem brown in the 4k pursuit. He's going for another tonight in the maddison.

3 of the 14 gold from the shire aint too shabby

Anyone else noticed the worryingly large number of Dimitris participating in these olympics ???

Athens seems to be full of the buggers.