Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Other games 2025

Girds89

Easily the most open comp in a lomg long time.

Dogs and raiders have been standouts.

I really like some of the youmg guns at the raiders. I think they are probs 12 months away from being a real premiership force but i get penrith vibes off them with some of their young guns atm.

Dogs i still think lack a bit of class and size in the pack but they are playing with belief which is huge.

Storm are just struggling with massive injuries in the backline.. but no doubt bellamy will be really disappointed with their season so far..

Chooks have been a suprise packet. I thought theyd be close to last but some of their finds in the backline and young forwards have been really good and they too will get better as the year goes on.

Tigers are a much better team.

Warriors back to being a threat.

Broncs and us have no doubt been the biggest disappointments of the year. Two teams that should be fighting for top 4 and both will be fighting to make the 8.

If we cant beat the knights we may as well not only kiss this year goodby but have a bit of a clean out.

Soro, eiso, henry, geyer, luke, jesse mclean, riki, sommerton, schnieder, laurie etc etc should all be moved on.

Replace them with rookies save a bit of coin and look to sign two young guns. A prop and 2nd rower.

Chins

Madge has built a whole career on the NRL conspiring for Souths to win the 2014 premiership. What a myth

Somewhat agree.

I believe Maguire relies too heavily on the power game, big forwards isolating one or two defenders to create mistakes and then the flashy players can take advantage.

At the moment the Broncos flashy players are full of mistakes because they try to hard, more than likely trying to justify their pay packet.

We, unfortunately have very similar problems. No grunt through the middle and too many mistakes after any good work. It's obvious certain players we've lost did it better than the replacement players we've kept.

betcats

Madge the drill seargent will he be the first coach sacked this year??
Tbh the fact that he is just known as a drill sargaent and not much else should warn clubs about the guy, he isnt a head coach he is a head of high performance at best, probably just your run of the mill trainer tbh.

There are a lot of people who can come in and flogg and a footy at training and get super fit. Coaching is about so much more than that. All you ever hear about Madge is how hard he trains the players and how intense he is, that is a shit environment to be turning up to work everyday. I know they are pro's etc but human nature is human nature, if you arent happy to be somewhere you wont do your job as well as someone who is happy to be there.

betcats

Wouldnt surprise me at all to see Blaize reach burtons level. Not saying its a sure thing by means but burton isnt playing at some super high level, he is what 4th choice for the halves in nsw? He might not ever get picked in the halves if cleary and moses win this year, he has galvin and katoa putting pressure on him now also, he could easily slip down behind them in the next couple years.

Burtons very good half playing in a very good team, he isnt playing at a superstar level yet. Blaize has talent to get to that level no doubt, just needs to work hard and stay fit and hope we get our mojo back.

Pomoz

Tbh the fact that he is just known as a drill sargaent and not much else should warn clubs about the guy, he isnt a head coach he is a head of high performance at best, probably just your run of the mill trainer tbh.

There are a lot of people who can come in and flogg and a footy at training and get super fit. Coaching is about so much more than that. All you ever hear about Madge is how hard he trains the players and how intense he is, that is a shit environment to be turning up to work everyday. I know they are pro's etc but human nature is human nature, if you arent happy to be somewhere you wont do your job as well as someone who is happy to be there.
If it’s true, Madge would drive you crazy and not in a good way. A constant high pressure environment would be debilitating. In every field of athletic endeavour, athletes do not train hard all the time. The body and the mind can’t cope. You have to have easier periods to allow the body to recover and the mind to destress.

It’s not even open to debate. There are numerous scientific papers on the principles of periodisation and the benefits of easier training cycles. I think the Panther’s conditioning staff have been experimenting on this over the last five years and it is one of the reasons we went from playing all our SOO players after every game, to resting them. The hard thing is working out when to ease up and when to go flat out so you peak in time for the finals. But first you have to qualify for the finals……….

Munky

Madge's style is built for Rep tournaments.

Get the best players, tell them you need three or four games where nothing is left on the pitch.

His game one selections were an abomination last year since he went for perceived 'Madge' players like McInnes rather than the best players available and getting buy in.

betcats

Burton gettin smoked by Katoa right now. Burto is a gun but he might only the 3rd best half we’ve lost the last 5 years after Romey and katoa, incredible really.

Fangs

Burton gettin smoked by Katoa right now. Burto is a gun but he might only the 3rd best half we’ve lost the last 5 years after Romey and katoa, incredible really.

Just said that to a mate. Of the 4 he is last. He stays in his lane far too long and his asset is a bomb. Luai and Katoa offer a point difference and Burton doesn't.

And I rate him as a footballer quite a lot. It just so happens that he is better suited to left centre. And what is wrong with that? He is fantastic there.

Come back to Penrith Matty. Wear the 3 the same way Girds did. Tago can have the 4. And he helps Tailagi out with long kicking its not like he is banned from kicking at centre.

Sime_11

Burton v Brown both 6's that havent kicked on as well as liked

Katoa looks a helluva player

Just said that to a mate. Of the 4 he is last. He stays in his lane far too long and his asset is a bomb. Luai and Katoa offer a point difference and Burton doesn't.

And I rate him as a footballer quite a lot. It just so happens that he is better suited to left centre. And what is wrong with that? He is fantastic there.

Come back to Penrith Matty. Wear the 3 the same way Girds did. Tago can have the 4. And he helps Tailagi out with long kicking its not like he is banned from kicking at centre.
And he can transition to 13 when Yeo moves to the front row to play 50 mins a game.

Fangs

And he can transition to 13 when Yeo moves to the front row to play 50 mins a game.

Yeah he could. I just think it moves him away from his biggest strength which is running game. Cleary and Tago have good rapport in attack. I think Tailagi and Burton could do even better potentially.

I'd be more inclined to try him one in backrow much later on. The middle is tough work. He still has plenty of years ahead out wide.

chrisD

As an ok responsibility-less five-eighth with an elite boot he's worth more than he is at centre, so that's what he'll be. He's not physical enough to play in the backrow, frankly Cartwright is(was?) better than him in contact.

It's a bit of a weird one, does he have no brothers? Three older sisters and an absent Dad?