Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Our Coaching Structure

Incorrect

I heard a thing about BA today which I found interesting. A mate of mine knows one of his colleagues. He disclosed that BA is a person who lives, breathes, and thinks nothing but footy. And all he talks about is footy. He is a workaholic, which is an honorable trait but constant focus to just one single thing cannot be healthy. Another independent source of mine told me he is a great bloke but sometimes just way too intense who due to his incredible work ethic cannot seem to switch off.

Maybe a guy like this needs more influential assistants that can take some of the burden and expectation from impatient fans like me. It seemed to work with the addition of our new recruitment manager when he took some responsibility away from Arthur. Methinks and I'm only speculating, that maybe he is a bit of a control freak which could be his ultimate undoing. I hope I'm wrong because I'd like to win another premiership before I get dementia.
Sounds like McGregor. After their loss to the Dogs, he was interviewed and asked what he was going to do, would he consider walking away and he said, "No way, I'll go home and watch video until 3am and then be up again for recovery session at 7am and get stuck in again"... If all of that was actually true, maybe it was time to do the opposite. Take a few days off and get away from footy. Re-charge and clear both coaches and players heads

My favorite coach of all time was Brian Smith. f**k I loved our team under him. Anyway he had an incredible work ethic. Arthur is similar just less competent. I hear he also rings his assistants at all hours of the day and night to discuss ideas. Smithy at least only used to text. Ricky used Textas.

IFR33K

What might also be insightful, from a coaching standpoint, is Moses' form last year compared to this year.

Per game:
Runs
2019: 5.23
2020: 6.71

Tackle breaks
2019: 1.85
2020: 1

Line breaks
2019: 0.27
2020: 0.21

LBAs
2019: 0.69
2020: 0.29

Try assists
2019: 0.92
2020: 0.36

I dare say his try assists of last year would of consisted of a lot from kicks.

IFR33K

My favorite coach of all time was Brian Smith. f**k I loved our team under him. Anyway he had an incredible work ethic. Arthur is similar just less competent. I hear he also rings his assistants to all ours of the day and night to discuss ideas. Smithy at least only used to text. Ricky used Textas.

#bringbacksmithy

Wouldn't hurt to try something like that ahead of next week's game.

Hindmarshisgod2

I heard a thing about BA today which I found interesting. A mate of mine knows one of his colleagues. He disclosed that BA is a person who lives, breathes, and thinks nothing but footy. And all he talks about is footy. He is a workaholic, which is an honorable trait but constant focus to just one single thing cannot be healthy. Another independent source of mine told me he is a great bloke but sometimes just way too intense who due to his incredible work ethic cannot seem to switch off.

Maybe a guy like this needs more influential assistants that can take some of the burden and expectation from impatient fans like me. It seemed to work with the addition of our new recruitment manager when he took some responsibility away from Arthur. Methinks and I'm only speculating, that maybe he is a bit of a control freak which could be his ultimate undoing. I hope I'm wrong because I'd like to win another premiership before I get dementia.
This makes sense. I reckon he has made the game unenjoyable for everyone around him due to his footy OCD

The players look broken and arguing with each other. A team coming third should not display this kind of behaviour.

T-Boon

Has Steven Murphy been in charge of our attack since BA got here?
If he has it is time for a change.

In the modern game has there ever been a coaching change where the team has just ended the coach’s tenure until the end of his contract, said thank you and moved to a new coach? Brian Smith was the last one with us in 2005 when Fitzy made the call and Smithy kept coaching until he quit himself during mid 2006 when Taylor got the gig.

Every sacked coach this year got punted before his contract expired.

Gazzamatta

I believe this 100% and have so for years.

T-Boon

I think so. Peter Gentle was definitely the defence coach when he was here.

Thanks. If we have had the same head coach and attack coach for 7 years and only 1 of those years have we had an attack that is better than 8th then there has to be change.

Last night was embarrassing and boring.

Gazzamatta

Our for and against every year regardless of our position on the table says a lot. How many games till BA wins 50%?

Did you not see Moses giving it to fergo, or Gutho giving a spray to fergo and Waqa? This has been going on for weeks.

I guess your not really watching games. If you did you wouldn't be defending an inept coach.
I think that’s just human nature. The poor bastards are living in this bubble and all they can do is be at home, train and play footy. BA loves it but the players might not.

Hindmarshisgod2

I
I think that’s just human nature. The poor bastards are living in this bubble and all they can do is be at home, train and play footy. BA loves it but the players might not.
I understand your point, but I don't see the other top 8 teams arguing.

I think there might be some unrest between players that looks concerning. I have a feeling that Arthur is treated like a mate, rather than a coach, and its a bit of a boys club with no real leader.

Moses seems to me that he is toxic.

lucablight

I

I understand your point, but I don't see the other top 8 teams arguing.

I think there might be some unrest between players that looks concerning. I have a feeling that Arthur is treated like a mate, rather than a coach, and its a bit of a boys club with no real leader.

Moses seems to me that he is toxic.
I highly doubt that Brad Arthur is one of the boys. He dropped Fui and denied him a farewell game, let him of Nathan Peats to be able to play for points again and dropped a long time servant in Tim Mannah. Say what you want about him but he has shown he’s willing to be make the tough decisions as brutal as they may be.

murraymob

I have gone back and watched the game over and noticed your boys are still being coached to jam the hands all over the ball and keep them there in defence to slow the ruck down under the 6 again that’s costing you heavily.There where many times you got away with it .Your defensive coach needs to look and change this