Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

our main problem

oldmancraigy

i mentioned this before. Not saying that he isn't or won't become a good coach, just that it's obvious at the moment he has a single style and is trying to make players fit that style and at present moment it seems a bit square peg round role with our current squad.
Once he get's the players to fit his style i'm sure we will go well but i'd prefer to not rely on that

Actually I'll completely disagree with you.

Look at a squad with the worst back 5 in the NRL (Burt, Morgan, Horo, Smith, Hicks) - and then look at the guys missing injured, they aren't much better (Atkins, Loko)

You're going to tell me that you reckon some other system would be better for the club? Would see us twice lose to Manly on the final siren; have the same thing happen against the Storm and Broncos, beat the Cowboys and draw with the Dragons????

Those are the top 5 teams in the comp mate - and if you want more, how about a win over the Warriors (number 6) or the Tigers (number 7) or even a 2 point loss to the Knights (number 8).

With our backline we've got no business even being IN those games, let alone damn near winning most of them.

The game plan we're using allows us to compete with the best teams in the comp. We've had 2 "bad games" against top teams - the Dragons (round 8) and the Storm (round 5). Those came early in the season while we were still adapting to the new style. Since round 11 we've executed the game plan, and even with our rubbish cattle, we've been in every game.
The Souths game is the exception - but natural for a team to have a 'we give up' game late in a season when they've tried hard for weeks and lost on the bell 3 times in a row.

The system is working fine - the problem lies in the cattle.
You replace
Burt, Morgan, Horo, Smith, Hicks
with
Hayne, Tonga, Tonga, Loko, Burt
and we go from having one of the worst backlines ever, to having a very strong set of outside backs - AND THEN having the luxury of a real halfback and 5/8.

But there's not some better system that could've been used to compete with the best teams in the comp. I don't see any other team in the bottom half of the draw having had better results than we have against the top teams.

What makes this topic look bad is that even opposition fans can see that the roster is the big problem. How anyone thinks our roster can compare to most other teams is beyond me. Some Eels fans even think this roster should have made the eight! I'm starting to think their agendas are getting in the way of logical deduction.
People posting on here with Agenda's Boxy??? Well i'm shocked i really am........

Western_Eel

From what I see we are cracking under pressure, We seem to get on top and then once the opposition builds up pressure we are making too many SIMPLE errors which cost us the game.

Most of these little errors are coming from our younger inexperienced players, Maybe were are asking too much from them? or maybe its because we don't have a proper reserve comp

Western_Eel

Also to add to the thread title it could be the coaches fault by adding pressure to these young guys,

Just remember you cant start blaming the coach until the end of next year

spiderdan

i think the style of play kearney has the side mainly play is what suits the strengths of the playing group as a collective, which isn't much. we have a pretty good forward pack, a very talented fullback/stop-gap pivot, ordinary halfs and a very ordinary backline (i am 50/50 on burt these days, when he is on he is a great player but when not isn't anything special).

our forward have had a year of playing simple footy, hopefully next year they start to add some offloading into their games and get some 2nd/3rd phase play going, and get sandow, roberts and hayne some space to show what they can do.

with the current squad there is only so much kearney could do this year. if he doesn't deliver a decent season next year though then start commentating on his ability as a coach.

Western_Eel

i think the style of play kearney has the side mainly play is what suits the strengths of the playing group as a collective, which isn't much. we have a pretty good forward pack, a very talented fullback/stop-gap pivot, ordinary halfs and a very ordinary backline (i am 50/50 on burt these days, when he is on he is a great player but when not isn't anything special).

our forward have had a year of playing simple footy, hopefully next year they start to add some offloading into their games and get some 2nd/3rd phase play going, and get sandow, roberts and hayne some space to show what they can do.

with the current squad there is only so much kearney could do this year. if he doesn't deliver a decent season next year though then start commentating on his ability as a coach.

Agree 100% But with Burt I think he is suited on the wing

MrT

Actually I'll completely disagree with you.

Look at a squad with the worst back 5 in the NRL (Burt, Morgan, Horo, Smith, Hicks) - and then look at the guys missing injured, they aren't much better (Atkins, Loko)

You're going to tell me that you reckon some other system would be better for the club? Would see us twice lose to Manly on the final siren; have the same thing happen against the Storm and Broncos, beat the Cowboys and draw with the Dragons????

Those are the top 5 teams in the comp mate - and if you want more, how about a win over the Warriors (number 6) or the Tigers (number 7) or even a 2 point loss to the Knights (number 8).

With our backline we've got no business even being IN those games, let alone damn near winning most of them.

The game plan we're using allows us to compete with the best teams in the comp. We've had 2 "bad games" against top teams - the Dragons (round 8) and the Storm (round 5). Those came early in the season while we were still adapting to the new style. Since round 11 we've executed the game plan, and even with our rubbish cattle, we've been in every game.
The Souths game is the exception - but natural for a team to have a 'we give up' game late in a season when they've tried hard for weeks and lost on the bell 3 times in a row.

The system is working fine - the problem lies in the cattle.
You replace
Burt, Morgan, Horo, Smith, Hicks
with
Hayne, Tonga, Tonga, Loko, Burt
and we go from having one of the worst backlines ever, to having a very strong set of outside backs - AND THEN having the luxury of a real halfback and 5/8.

But there's not some better system that could've been used to compete with the best teams in the comp. I don't see any other team in the bottom half of the draw having had better results than we have against the top teams.

as always, great post

ParraAds

Rebuilding year.... learning on the job.... implementing his 'structures'.

We've heard all the cliches. Fact is, this year has been a disaster, many players have gone backwards, our most creative player has gone away from his natural instincts and our mental toughness seems even weaker than in previous years, something we thought wasn't possible.

More importantly, from an enjoyment viewpoint, watching Parra has become a chore, we are the most dull team in the comp.

For all the Kearney love on here, and in the Parramatta office means he'll get the benefit of the doubt this year, but next year there will be no excuses, though I'm sure the do gooders will still try and find some should we languishing near the bottom of the ladder.

Parra

Apparently the Eels are only building and being used as a coach development platform in 2011. So there is no problem.

What a crock.

yy_cheng

Most of these little errors are coming from our younger inexperienced players, Maybe were are asking too much from them? or maybe its because we don't have a proper reserve comp

Don't Agree here.

- Last game against Manly, Hayne did a stupid pass which Manly scored.

- Another game, Hayne attempted a field goal in a bad position which led to us losing in Golden Point

- Penrith Game, Luke Burt tackled on the 6th which led to a Panthers turnover and try

- Another close game, Casey gets sucked in by Lockyer and comes out of the line to go for
him which left a gaping hole in which the opposition scores the winning try.

- Another close game, Casey again comes out of the line which left a gaping hole in which the opposition scores the winning try.

It's not the youngsters. It's because we don't have an ONFIELD BRAIN who will not crack and make the correct decisions.

Kearney could very well turn out to be a good first grade coach. The question is whether he is the right coach for our club at this time. When you need a complete overhaul, it's often best to use a coach with experience in doing so. Not someone who is 'learning' as Jodeci put it.

Brian Smith was the best signing our club ever made. Sure, he outstayed his welcome and become stale, but his experience and management turned us from continious celler dwellers to regular premiership contenders starting in just his first season.

Far Canal

I've never been a fan of SK but the roster is the biggest problem.

Our backline is probably the worst in the competition + we have no real offloaders in our forward pack other than FFMM.

What makes this topic look bad is that even opposition fans can see that the roster is the big problem. How anyone thinks our roster can compare to most other teams is beyond me. Some Eels fans even think this roster should have made the eight! I'm starting to think their agendas are getting in the way of logical deduction.

That included you before the season started Boxy. Some people have short memories. Maybe you should consider that before accusing other people of having "agendas" so to speak.

jason taylor

Don't Agree here.

- Last game against Manly, Hayne did a stupid pass which Manly scored.

- Another game, Hayne attempted a field goal in a bad position which led to us losing in Golden Point

- Penrith Game, Luke Burt tackled on the 6th which led to a Panthers turnover and try

- Another close game, Casey gets sucked in by Lockyer and comes out of the line to go for
him which left a gaping hole in which the opposition scores the winning try.

- Another close game, Casey again comes out of the line which left a gaping hole in which the opposition scores the winning try.

It's not the youngsters. It's because we don't have an ONFIELD BRAIN who will not crack and make the correct decisions.

The Burt thing was very suss. They shouldn't have stopped the clock. If the refs play by the rules we win.

spiderdan

The Burt thing was very suss. They shouldn't have stopped the clock. If the refs play by the rules we win.
there was nothing wrong with stopping the play given the ref that called time off deemed we were wasting time. the big problem with it was that when burt cleaned up the kick the 2nd (aka useless) ref was calling out that it was the fifth (should have been saying it was the last) so burt would have thought we had one more play to go.

having two refs on the field was meant to make things better but all it seems to have done is create confusion.

on a side note though i do think that anytime play stops the clock should stop. 80 mins of play should be just that, not 80 mins broken up by refs giving really bad scrum lessons.

Maroubra Eel

That included you before the season started Boxy. Some people have short memories. Maybe you should consider that before accusing other people of having "agendas" so to speak.

I lol at all the short memories in here.

p.s. I knew all along we'd get the spoon.