Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Pack of whining no-fans

Did I ever say that people can't express an opinion?

Most of my mates are Parra fans. We like certain players, hate others. We banter about who we would play where. Some like Brian Smith, some don't, others are giving him the benefit of the doubt. So we drink beer and have good old debates.

But if any one of my mates, every time he opened his mouth, used whatever was going on as an excuse to bag Brian Smith, he'd get told to pipe down pretty quick.

And there are absolutely people on here, who cannot find anything but criticism and personally, I just have found it very tiresome and I haven't even been participating. Hence my post. I reckon if I've said the same thing three times, if I haven't made my point by then, I'm a pretty useless communicator. Saying the same thing over and over again doesn't make for good debate, or an exciting forum, it makes for boredom.

Personally, I believe if Smith doesn't get Parra to the finals this year and we play respectably in the final series, I think he should go. Its a pretty firm rule in the corporate world that if you miss three budgets in a row, your gone and I think it should be the same with Smith, three misses in a row your out. But my post had nothing to do with the merits of Smith or how we're going. I simply hoped that some people might read my rant and think twice before they write the same whine they've written 20 times before.

There are anti-Smith people on here, who have my respect because they're prepared to argue their point with logic and concede points when they've been out debated. But I do believe there are people, who are more concerned with being proved right, than wanting the club to succeed.

And yes, I do struggle to come to terms with the fact of what enjoyment someone gets out of following a team if all they can find is faults. But yes, saying people wen're a real fan was obviously a bit much and I don't have the right to say that. But what can I say, I like to tip the applcart occasionally.

parra pete

booligal bill said:
TKBK is spot on the money. I don't mind hearing SOME criticism of our team in a constructive way, but there are some people on this board who are serial whingers. Every post they write they are having a gripe and bitch about something, and find it absolutely impossible to find a glimmer of hope with anything.

I sure know I would hate to be living with some of these people, how depressing that would be.

GROW UP and go back to England, because obviously with the amount of whinging and whining that goes on they must be Poms!

I don't know if Suity is a Pommy...But he's a whinger...and knocker.
He told me that he was Steve "Knocker" Norton's brother.. remember him the old Pommy lock who played with Manly. I actually think he is Murray Farquhar, the bad judge :lol: :lol: :lol: No offence, Suity.

theykilledbrettkenny said:
Did I ever say that people can't express an opinion?

You didn't have to - if someone expresses their opinion, and that opinion just happens to include the phrase, "I am sick of Brian and his [insert problem here]," then that person is immeditaely shot down or labelled a 'fake' fan.

Most of my mates are Parra fans. We like certain players, hate others. We banter about who we would play where. Some like Brian Smith, some don't, others are giving him the benefit of the doubt. So we drink beer and have good old debates.

"Hate" players? And you complain about people bagging players out? You may DISLIKE players (which is completely fine), but HATING players? Gee man - that's no better than bagging players.

But if any one of my mates, every time he opened his mouth, used whatever was going on as an excuse to bag Brian Smith, he'd get told to pipe down pretty quick.

Exactly - because like many other people, blaming the coach (although it is his friggin' job) is not an excuse. Look, facts are facts - there are perfectly logical arguments saying he is a good coach; likewise, there are perfectly valid points negating that statement.

And there are absolutely people on here, who cannot find anything but criticism and personally, I just have found it very tiresome and I haven't even been participating. Hence my post. I reckon if I've said the same thing three times, if I haven't made my point by then, I'm a pretty useless communicator. Saying the same thing over and over again doesn't make for good debate, or an exciting forum, it makes for boredom.

Well, mate, if you are sick of Brian-bashing and team-bagging - DON'T READ THE THREADS. They're kinda hard to miss, with titles like, "Please go, Brian - we've had enough" and the like.

One thing many people seem not to realise about the Smith bashers (I don't consider yself a Brian-basher or supporter; quite frankly, I've been far from impressed with his 50% win ratio two locks gameplan and his persistence with players who don't perform; however, he will have my support until he leaves the Eels) - they, and they have the right to be, are FRUSTRATED. We aren't talking about a team whose best player's name is Walker or Gidley. We have a very good team, and a coach who, a lot of the time, seems to know what he's doing. SO WHY ON EARTH DO WE STRUGGLE? The most common denominator is the coach. HE introduces the gamplans; HE is in charge of motivation; HE selects the team; HE trains them. Naturally if things don't work out, you turn to him for answers.

Personally, I believe if Smith doesn't get Parra to the finals this year and we play respectably in the final series, I think he should go. Its a pretty firm rule in the corporate world that if you miss three budgets in a row, your gone and I think it should be the same with Smith, three misses in a row your out. But my post had nothing to do with the merits of Smith or how we're going. I simply hoped that some people might read my rant and think twice before they write the same whine they've written 20 times before.

Yes - except itwill have been 8 or 9 CONSECUTIVE misses by now. Granted, his early work was focused on re-building the club (and a fine job he did, too). But it is not unrealistic to expect that for the past 4 or so years we should have been regular finalists and given the Premiership a real shake. And we haven't.

And your post mentioned, in a sarcastic light, how nobody knows his long-term plans (whatever they may be, it is time to put them into action, no?) or what he plans to do with the team. Nothing, given the past couple of years, seems to be the natural answer.

There are anti-Smith people on here, who have my respect because they're prepared to argue their point with logic and concede points when they've been out debated. But I do believe there are people, who are more concerned with being proved right, than wanting the club to succeed.

Agreed.

I just don't understand. I stand on the middle of the road RE: Brian Smith; I neither love him nor loathe him. But I am perfectly able to understand both sides of the argument; why can't others?

And yes, I do struggle to come to terms with the fact of what enjoyment someone gets out of following a team if all they can find is faults. But yes, saying people wen're a real fan was obviously a bit much and I don't have the right to say that. But what can I say, I like to tip the applcart occasionally.

Fair enough, mate.

I, too, think that people who only criticise have no merit. That is what pisses me off about Petersen-bashers.

Although he has been in ordinary form compared to last year, he has had some good games, and yet nobody mentions them - just because he stuffed up a try or let in a couple.

At this point, I'd like to say I HOPE Brian changes the team and we get back on track. We have the team and the staff to do it.

And we have the fanbase.

EVERYONE - LET'S GET OUT TO PARRAMATTA STADIUM NEXT WEEK TO SUPPORT THE BOYS! IT WILL BE A GREAT BOOST FOR THEM TO SEE A LARGE CROWD BEHIND THEM!

No offence??

You've been trying to knock me for weeks.
Your'e going to have to try a bit harder though.
Is this your best material??

Nikki

:clap: :clap: :clap: I say well said Eelamentary. My only point is, "REAL" fans should be the ones that are allowed to bag the club if all is not well coz we are the ones who are there week in and week out paying our hard earned $$$ to watch half arsed performances like last week. Its the fans that get up and walk out of games (like those who left at half time last week) that have no right bagging the club as far as I am concerned.

parra pete

Bit touchy eh Suity.
I'm doing the same as you. Instead of bagging Brian Smith, like you. I'm bagging you.. It gets to you after a while doesn't it. Why don't you put energies into supporting your team instead of bagging it all the time.
You know, and I know, Brian Smith is one of the elite coaches in the NRL and there is no way he deserves to be sacked --or Will be sacked, so why don't you lay off him. Your constant knocking and bagging becomes a little wearisome. Are you a TRUE Parra supporter, or a PLANT. If you are a plant, get rooted. (get it) :lol: :lol: :lol:
"Inflexibility is the hallmark of a tiny mind" ;-) ;-) ;-)

booligal bill

Quite frankly Suity, you're a bloody bore. imagine waking up to you every day, it would be like being sentenced to life in a morgue

booligal bill said:
Quite frankly Suity, you're a bloody bore. imagine waking up to you every day, it would be like being sentenced to life in a morgue

Bill,

You are entitled to your opinion.

Suity.

para-keet,

parra pete said:
Bit touchy eh Suity.

If you think so. Read my comments and take a deep breath.
I don't think so.

parra pete said:
I'm doing the same as you. Instead of bagging Brian Smith, like you. I'm bagging you.. It gets to you after a while doesn't it.

Read my replies properly keet.
I'm not losing any sleep if that's what you think.

parra pete said:
Why don't you put energies into supporting your team instead of bagging it all the time.

This is the quote that amuses me the most.
OK. You have been following the Eels since 1958 or whatever.
So, I have been following the Eels since the late sixties. I'm a regular, sitting on my dad's shoulders on the North West hill in the Thornett era.
Queuing up outside Cumberland Oval in the 70's, using my Schoolboy "free pass" to gain instant admission, and racing around to the old Cumbo Grandstand to save seats for my mum and dad. Watching ALL three grades from 75 till 88. Me mum spent days sewing up the old "Ray Price Stand" sign that sat under the old scoreboard for several years.
Don't ever tell me to put my energies into supporting the Eels.

parra pete said:
You know, and I know, Brian Smith is one of the elite coaches in the NRL and there is no way he deserves to be sacked --or Will be sacked, so why don't you lay off him.

Keet,

the post you quoted from me the other day precisely explains what I thought of Brian Smith. A hero of mine for years. I hung on his every word on the ABC with Wilko.
But.......................that doesn't mean that I see him as perfect. I'm not perfect. Other's might, dare I say it, suggest that you might not be perfect.
It does not mean that I should not, or cannot change my opinion.
When Brian Smith first came to Parra, I was excited as anybody could be.
But now, I feel as though his time has passed us by. Why is it so wrong to feel or say that???

parra pete said:
Your constant knocking and bagging becomes a little wearisome. Are you a TRUE Parra supporter, or a PLANT. If you are a plant, get rooted.

This is where I believe you have selective posting.
You fail to mention my "Adam Dykes - stop knocking him" post, and fail to quote ANY posts where I am praising the likes of Dykes, Hindmarsh, Grothe Morris, Hopkins, Widders, Thorman, and others. You even quoted a post of mine that was in the majority praising Brian Smith.
I have never bagged Petersen.......in fact, I constantly come to his defence. You just never seem to READ these posts or comment on them.
You never seem to answer or reply to the questions that I ask you.
And, if you read this board in total, I think you would find that at present, there might be one or two other people here who aren't quite happy with the way we are playing or the way the club is run.

So, all in all para-keet, I'd suggest that you take another HRT pill, read through my 700 odd posts here and 3500 on the Parra board properly, and then come back with a considered opinion, instead of senile old waffle.

Misty Bee

I reckon if you still support Brian SMith after 8 fruitless years, you can't be real keen on seeing Parra win a comp.

I also reckon that when a team is underperforming for so long, you will expect some anger among the board membership. That has to be expected.

To insinuate that people who don't support the coach are not true supporters is utter tripe, and inflammatory. We don't support the coach because we want out team to do better, and he isn't facilitating it. Whats wrong with having a passion for seeing Parra on top? Is it a crime? Should we stop cheering wins?

As Colonel pointed out, this board is all for freedom of opinion, not like the official one. Having such freedom allows the possibility of opposing views. Opposing views sometimes leads to arguments, and over a long term usually divides opinion. I'm sure if Parra were actually winning, and Smith coaching decently, such divisions would cease. See and divisions withing the Broncos or Chooks fans? You certainly didn't see any division with us in 2001. But division is here. Accept it, because this place is a home for vibrant discussion. And if a moderater decides to agree witha Tiger fan's assessment of our recruitment, good luck to him!

No one here is constantly negative. Sometimes people keep getting bagged for questioning Smith's actions - and they have a right to defend themselves. A lot have the habit of jumping on the anti Smith sentiments with the zeal of a kamikazi pilot. Sometimes this causes arguments. We all regret when it happens, but to proclaim that there are people here who contribute no positives to the board is an utter lie, and indicative of an author who is forsaking their attention of the boards for their own personal vendettas.

Do not mistake lack of happiness at Parra's situation as lack of passion. More likely the most dissapointed fans ARE the most passionate, because they feel the most pain when things are not going well.

Liking a coach that has failed after 8 years might be admirable. I certainly doesn't make you a better fan. And being a better fn than anyone else is not the issue. We are all Parra fans - passionate enough to put our hearts into print and let them be exposed to the cruel world. That needs to be respected - first and foremost. Sadly, in the massive rush to belittle someone, that gets lost.

I look on Parra supporters as a family. We are united in our love of the Blue and Gold. This is the Family message board. TKBK, rather than attack us for not sharing your views, I think you should respect that. We are just as passionate as you. We all have a right to our opinion. We all have a right to express that opinion. that is what happens in a free messageboard.

If you don't like that, there is always the non-free one.

Misty Bee

parra pete said:
I'm doing the same as you. Instead of bagging Brian Smith, like you. I'm bagging you..

Unless this forum is entitled "Suitman", maybe you need to stop bagging posters and start discussing the team a bit more.

That's what gets me about attitudes of certain people. Someone bags the coach, and then the Smith lovers bag them inccessently, because 'how dare they bag somone'? And they fail to see the irony......... :?

Misty Bee, I'm sorry to say you lost me when that fool Tigers supporter came on here and started hacking out our recruits and rather than stick up for some of our boys who have been absolutely sensation like Grother and Stapleton you say: "Good call".

You then went on to call all our players "crap" except for Hindmarsh.

So you supposedly follow a team where all the players are crap, bar one and the coach is a fool. Why exactly do you follow this team?

Oh, and when was your last positive post??

And how could anyone possible describe 2001 as fruitless, we won a minor premiership, broke every record in the book and sure, we lost a grand final, but I couldn't even measure the joy I got out of that year. If we could reproduce 2001 every year, I wouldn't complain for a second!