Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Parra FireHouse

Tony Bongo

You seem in love with this firehouse. The board has done very little to improve the financial viablity of the leagues club. they sold a bunch of assetts to pull themselves out of the red last year and are calling this "profit".

So you don't think that creating a quality restaurant bar, in the best possible location, where 100% of the profits go back to the club will improve financial viability?

Parra

So you don't think that creating a quality restaurant bar, in the best possible location, where 100% of the profits go back to the club will improve financial viability?

You'd have to wait and see.

You might go off on promises. Wiser people will judge on results.

Tony Bongo

They admitted it in their Annual General Statement last year, or if not it was in the new board's report into the Eels season 2010 review. One or the other.

It may be a good restaurant. But a lot of people in here seem to be commenting on the fact that Sterlo's Bar used to be a nice place to sit down and have a quick cheap beer with mates before games, or to watch away games, but now they are charging restaurant prices for a beer which is an extra $1.70 per drink which is disgraceful. So you win a few customers, yet you lose a lot. Care to comment on that?

Yes my comment is that I am glad that one of the next projects is a decent sports bar with beer prices in line with such a venue.

born an eel

if there was one thing parramatta was missing is a good Italian restaurant, there are to many places already offering a good cheap place to have a beer with friends :roll:

eel4life

They admitted it in their Annual General Statement last year, or if not it was in the new board's report into the Eels season 2010 review. One or the other.

It may be a good restaurant. But a lot of people in here seem to be commenting on the fact that Sterlo's Bar used to be a nice place to sit down and have a quick cheap beer with mates before games, or to watch away games, but now they are charging restaurant prices for a beer which is an extra $1.70 per drink which is disgraceful. So you win a few customers, yet you lose a lot. Care to comment on that?

Yeah used to be champ, USE TO BE !!!! previous management took the tab out of the sports bar, which was useless and it has been that way for a while and now it has been updated.

if they get 500 members a week getting a feed which they will this will be a whole lot more than 20 getting 1.70 beers.

this is a WINNING move by the current board ...

Tony Bongo

You'd have to wait and see.

You might go off on promises. Wiser people will judge on results.

Unless the pictures and menus posted here along with the testimonies of those who have gone there are all an illusion, then I judge them to be promises delivered and therefore results.

Parra

Unless the pictures and menus posted here along with the testimonies of those who have gone there are all an illusion, then I judge them to be promises delivered and therefore results.

After one day. Well judged Tony Bongo.

At least you chose a name that suits.

Tony Bongo

After one day. Well judged Tony Bongo.

At least you chose a name that suits.

No I gave it two days. There were 70 bookings for tonight which isn't bad for a Thursday with no footy on.
At least you didn't bother to choose a name that suits.

mickdo

What a pack of whingers. Worse than the $150kers bitching about their f**king welfare cheques.

Maroubra Eel

Cmon it's gotta be an improvement on Sterlos bar. Looks good in the pictures.

A nice sports bar where you can have adrink without poker machines would cap it off nicely.

Cmon it's gotta be an improvement on Sterlos bar. Looks good in the pictures.

A nice sports bar where you can have adrink without poker machines would cap it off nicely.

Yep, you know there are those undercover parking spaces next to the mainentrance where the club officials park. A great spot for a sports bar for a club struggling for room to expand.

Yes I would hope so. But the club has to cater to a lot more markets. Parramatta Leagues doesn't have as much space to work with as other clubs, so while this is a good move, they still need an area with cheap beers, a large screen, a no pokie noise, a TAB, and pool or snooker tables. All they cater for at the moment is people that want to eat or play the pokies where other clubs other much much more.

Yes my comment is that I am glad that one of the next projects is a decent sports bar with beer prices in line with such a venue.

Agreed.

Yeah used to be champ, USE TO BE !!!! previous management took the tab out of the sports bar, which was useless and it has been that way for a while and now it has been updated.

if they get 500 members a week getting a feed which they will this will be a whole lot more than 20 getting 1.70 beers.

this is a WINNING move by the current board ...

How is that improving things? A lot of people loved the TAB and 3P promised they'd put it back. All it means is that those people who currently eat at Tingha or in the Bistro will eat at this new restaurant instead. So in some ways they're stealing their own customers.

Parramatta Leagues should look at Wenty Leagues as to how to run and develop a leagues club. They have everying Parra Leagues does already but so much more.

The Roosters (my territory) opened The Italian Bar & Kitchen last year.

A review is below. It's obviously more up market, but they poured a stack of cash into it.

Italian Kitchen & Bar

109132023.jpg

Wobble: The panna cotta

209132023.jpg

Italian Kitchen & Bar

309132023.jpg

Photography by John Fotiadis
Chef David Magill

Too much of a good thing is never enough when it comes to panna cotta at Easts Leagues Club. Simon Thomsen reports.
I've heard complaints there's too much panna cotta on Sydney menus. C'mon, get real. There's no such thing as too much of a good thing and the panna cotta ($12) at this new Italian trattoria in Easts Leagues Club is very, very good indeed. It hits 11 out of 10 on my iPhone's wobble-o-meter app. It sits at one end of a long rectangular plate, as pale white as the heroine of an English bonnet drama, with freckles of vanilla bean seeds and a long tail of rhubarb and strawberries. It's wondrously fragile, yet richly creamy, the fruit offering a sharp, tangy contrast.
If the Roosters played like consultant chef Danny Russo's team cooks, they'd already be in the Grand Final.
The gnocchi ($17) is equally impressive. I've tried it in too many restaurants where it's like dropping the ball after crossing the tryline, but here it's dreamily light and silky as it evaporates in the mouth. It's part of a fine vegetarian mix of peas, artichoke and mint with salted ricotta and parmesan.
Lots of little things impress in this venture by the Dedes Group, who gave us Flying Fish in Pyrmont and Deckhouse in Woolwich, recently reviewed in this column.
OK, so you have to sign in first, before climbing the stairs past the Vespa (unless you weave through the pokies to the lift). However, join the club and you score a $5 drinks voucher to spend on the large bar side of this cavernous space. It's not blessed with much atmosphere, despite good lighting, chocolatey brown colours and large Italian portraits along the back wall.
There's a long, dark timber communal table, and others, generously spaced along banquets that break up the room, but really it still feels like a food hall. That's no matter, because the floor team is sharp, eager to please and child friendly, with pencils and paper to entertain.
Chef Russo's most recent venture was the Beresford Hotel in Surry Hills. Italian Kitchen & Bar follows along similar lines, with the menu cover featuring a photo of an elderly Italian signore scooping snails from a big pot. Russo is joined by his former Beresford sidekick, David Magill, who's head chef.
Russo's food always has blended a respect for Italian authenticity and simplicity. Sunday lunch is a $45 a person shared, four-course family meal. We begin with a few nibbles, including arancini, $6, seven mouth-sized fried balls of rice laced with mozzarella and tomato, both crunchy and soft and warmly comforting. Among the antipasti, calamari fritti, $17, on brown paper with lemon and parsley, is another oldie and rather goodie, just like the eggplant involtini, $14, Sicilian-style rolled fingers of fried eggplant stuffed with tomato, pine nuts, currants, oregano and four cheeses, including smoky provolone, to create a sweet-and-sour effect.
Fettucini with braised goat with salty olives carries the sting of N'duja (pronounced nadoya), the chilli-hot Calabrese salami. The housemade pasta is cooked in the braised liquor.
It's a gruff, hairy-chested dish, the dark goat meat not the softest, but you're not shortchanged on flavour.
If I have one complaint, it's $12 for a bottle of mineral water. At least the interesting wine list is mostly priced less than $50 and there is a wide selection of beers.
Chickpea and mussel soup is a peasant dish from down on the heel of Italy's boot, which is smartened up by the addition of pan-fried snapper fillet, $26, to make a main course with a thick broth fragrant with braised fennel. It manages to be both hearty and delicate at the same time, yet there's no doubt which side of the line braised lamb shoulder on parsnip puree, $25, falls.
The meat, cooked on the bone for eight hours, is soft and sticky, ringed by roasted brussels sprouts with small chunks of Italian bacon adding further appeal. This is food that speaks to the heart with rich, pleasurable and enormously satisfying flavours. That it is found in a footy club makes it a credit to all involved. Italian Kitchen & Bar kicks goals from all over the field.
How it rated

The food: 14/20
The staff: 8/10
The drink: 4/5
The X factor: 3/5
The value: 7/10
Total out of 50 - 36
Italian Kitchen & Bar's details:

Address: Easts Leagues Club 93 Spring St, Bondi Junction; ph 9386 3217
Food: Italian
Drink: A great range of Italianstyled and Italian wines at decent prices.
Hours: Lunch Tues-Sat noon-2.30pm & Sun noon-5pm; dinner Tues-Sat 6-9.30pm
Chef: Danny Russo & David Magill
Owners: Easts Leagues, Dedes Group & Danny Russo
Wheelchair access: Yes
Parking: Paid street or shopping centre parking
Price guide: Pizza $17-$19; Entrees $6-$21; Mains $24-$29; Desserts $12-$15
Snapshot: If Jack Gibson became a chef rather than a legendary footy coach, I reckon this would be pretty close to the result: gutsy, straight shooting, simple and compelling. Italian Kitchen & Bar goes to the top of the ladder of footy club restaurants.

Attachments

• 286929_286529_sign_1_.jpg
    286929_286529_sign_1_.jpg
    37.1 KB · Views: 1
  • 286936_286534_bar5_1_.jpg
    286936_286534_bar5_1_.jpg
    34.1 KB · Views: 2
  • 286942_286536_bar8_1_.jpg
    286942_286536_bar8_1_.jpg
    34.9 KB · Views: 1
  • 286963_286547_large_1_.jpg
    286963_286547_large_1_.jpg