Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Parramatta Eels Juniors

Forty20

Harold Matthews Trial – Parramatta Eels (12 Tries) DEF Western Suburb Magpies (2 Tries)

The Eels produced a clinical performance in their final pre-season fixture to rout the Magpies on a scorching Saturday afternoon. Cambell Byrd got top billing on the scoreboard with three tries while Jandamurra Stewart and Justin Dalby nabbed two apiece. Braith Aspin, Tyler Field, Jed Edwards, Casey Sioli and I believe Nicholas Fonua rounded out the try-scorers.

David Hollis was extremely impressive in the front row, building on the solid game he played last week against the Panthers. The Magpies had little answer for his bullish charges from kick-offs (and bizarrely, kept kicking it to his side) while he showed some nice ball skills before the line for the second week running. With Sam Hughes out of action with a fractured finger, Henry Hall made a timely return for the Blue & Gold. A product of Scone, Hall seems to fit the workhorse profile after turning in a busy game in both offence and defence.

While Hollis and Hall thumped the Magpies in the ruck, Trey Mooney emerged as a potent weapon for Parramatta on the right-edge. The dynamic backrower was a handful for Wests all day and set the tone for the Eels’ dominance from the early exchanges. His combination with his outside men in Penioni (Ben) Tohi and Braith Aspin shredded the left-edge of the Magpies and it will be exciting to see how they perform together in regular season.

Caleb Tohi (cousin of Ben), Justin Dalby and Callum Scott rounded out the stand out performers in the forward pack, with the trio of backrowers getting constantly involved throughout the game with and without the ball.

Cambell Byrd played a textbook game in the custodial position, earning his hat-trick with stellar supporting play. He was equally impressive in his kick positioning and was busy organising the defensive line throughout the game.

Jandamurra Stewart was the other outside back that jumped out. Stewart is far from slightly built but he definitely plays bigger than his billed size, bringing some fiery passion onto the field. He showed plenty of class to finish off the second try for the Eels, diving and contorting his body over the left sideline in an effort that would make any first-grade winger proud. He would later go on to truck a defender while rucking the ball out of his own red zone and converting the tackle break into a 50m bust.

With the likes of bookends Christian Wahongi and Albert Etuai-faavae and backrower Jayden Skinner scheduled to return in Round 1 the Eels look set to make a strong start to the Harold Matthews campaign. Beyond that there is still plenty of class sitting in the injury ward with Sam Hughes and halfback Charlie Murray due back later in the season.

SG Ball Trial – Parramatta Eels (22) DEF. BY Western Suburb Magpies (30)

With temperatures soaring close to 40 degrees Celsius, the Eels and Magpies played a high-scoring affair in decidedly testing conditions. Parramatta started off strongly, racing out to a 22-point lead before the Magpies over-ran the Eels in the second half to finish 30-22 victors. While a loss is obviously an undesirable result, the Eels opted to expose their core players to the elements in an effort to get some important mileage into the team before Round 1. Vallance Harris, Dennis Maitaia, Dylan Brown and Harry Duggan were the try-scorers in the loss with Brown converting three of the four tries.

While his playing stint may have only been brief, it was incredibly encouraging to see Ethan Parry push through his 20-odd minutes in his return from a long-term leg injury. Usually a common sight at wing or centre, Parry lined up at fullback for the Eels in the first quarter of play. There were no particularly flashy plays to speak of but was moving fluidly throughout the hit out.

Vea Tapa’atoutai, henceforth Vea Tapa, was lively in the first half. Tapa showed off a marked improvement in his ruck vision, spying out a poorly defended short-side and springing loose to put Dennis Mataia over. He would later add a line-break to his name after splitting the defensive line wide open from a scrum win in mid-field.
Prop forwards Mark Tepu-Smith and former-backrower Vallance Harris were stout in the middle, with Harris scoring from close range. They were deputised by Harry Duggan and Bruce Wakeling, who both toiled hard for extended periods in the grueling heat. Backrowers Jesse Cronin and Matt Doorey had their moments with the former laying on a couple of stiff shots in defence while the latter made a big break down the left-edge.

Like their junior counterparts in the Harold Matthews, the SG Ball are expecting considerable reinforcements for Round 1. Stefano Utoikamanu will add plenty of size and athleticism to the front row while Kyle Schneider will further augment the forward pack with his wily play at hooker. The outside backs will welcome back William Kei and there are also potentially a number of SG Ball eligible players currently training in the Holden Cup that will drop back for the opening fixture against the Bulldogs.

Clicky

Forty20

There is an element of mystery to our 2017 Holden Cup squad with Luke Burt and the club keeping their cards very close to their chest as far as the extended squad is concerned. Fortunately, I have a slight advantage in having followed the progressions of most of the squad over the last few years!

After turning over a number of their senior players from 2016, the Eels will be fielding a quite a young squad this year. Usually that would indicate a down year for nearly any club in the Holden Cup, where the difference between 20-year-olds, 19-year-olds and 18-year-olds can provide a heavy impact to your placement on the ladder. In the case of the 2017 Parramatta Eels however, I am actually relatively optimistic that they can mount a serious push for the post-season.

The Eels have of course augmented their Holden Cup Squad with a number of external signings but until we have official confirmation of precisely who has joined the club for 2017 we will instead focus on the returning and promoted talent already at the club.

Outside Backs

Anthony Layoun (Fullback/Utility) – Layoun is has struggled for game time in the Holden Cup purely because a string of bad luck with injuries. Primarily a fullback, Layoun has played at wing and centre for the Eels in the NYC while also spending time at five-eighth in the Ron Massey Cup. Now entering his senior year in the competition, Layoun is expected to feature heavily in the backline for the Eels and is in prime contention to assume the custodial duties.

John Fonua (Fullback/Wing) – Fonua is one of several SG Ball eligible players that will form the young nucleus of the squad in 2017. An extremely well-balanced player, particularly at fullback, perhaps the ‘jack-of-all-trades’ moniker is apt for Fonua. Equally at home at running the ball or chiming in on either edge, Fonua simply does everything extremely cleanly – even if he doesn’t jump out as brilliant in any one particular field. Given his youth his ceiling in honestly intriguing. One to monitor.

Dane Aukafolau (Centre/Wing) – Easily one of the most impressive physical specimens in our Holden Cup backline, Aukafolau is set to make a massive leap forwards in 2017 after spending a full pre-season with the first-grade squad. Whereas most athletically superior outside backs in the NYC build a name for the explosive ability in offence, it is his potential in defence that has earned him plaudits from those that matter. Given how aggressive the club has been in prioritising development over results it would not surprise me in the least to see Aukafolau spend considerable time in the Intrust Super Premiership (ISP) this year.

Tui Afualo (Centre/Half) – Bold words incoming. There are few players as enjoyable to watch across any club as young Afualo. Another one of our SG Ball eligible players, the only thing stopping Tui from being a 4-year tenured NYC player is an eventual promotion to ISP or beyond. I can see him drawing comparisons to NRL wrecking balls Konrad Hurrell and Solomone Kata in the near future but there is an understated elegance to his brutality that may let him surpass either. One area Afualo will be looking to improve on is his ability to read the game in defence. Willingness is far from the problem as Afualo is one of the most enthusiastic (and hardest hitting) defenders I know of but he will need to pick and choose him moments on the edges better in 2017.

Ethan Parry (Wing/Centre) – At this point it is becoming increasingly clear that the Eels have a pretty handy backline at their disposal this year. Yet another SG Ball eligible talent, Parry possesses elite measurables and is a heck of a footy player to boot. His 2016 campaign was derailed by a nasty leg injury and it has taken until the weekend only just past for him to make a full return to the game. Equally effective at wing or centre, just which position he ends up calling home will be one of the interesting story lines in 2017.

Noel Aukafolau (Centre) – The younger brother of Dane Aukafolau and would you know it? Another SG Ball eligible player. It is a real theme of our Holden Cup squad this year. Noel isn’t quite the same athletic prospect as his big brother but he doesn’t lack for size by any means. Surprisingly powerful through contact and tidy otherwise, Noel is the sort of back that will rarely let you down.

Haze Dunster (Wing) – Another winger who possesses ideal length and athleticism for the flank, Dunster’s big advantage in the backline logjam is his speciality as a winger. Like N.Aukafolau, Parry, Afualo and Fonua – Dunster is also SG Ball eligible. We will find out in two weeks’ time just how the Holden Cup backline will shape up when the Round 1 SG Ball team is named.

Halves & Hookers

Troy Dargan (Half) – 2016 was an interesting year for Dargan. His play through the first three-quarters of the season deservedly earned him plaudits and ultimately a spot in the Holden Cup Team of the Year but a late season lapse in form culminated in the Eels crashing out of Week 1 of the finals. Dargan had his share of woes in defence and his aggressive play-style in attack backfired at times in that home stretch last year but he has rebounded positively this pre-season.

Entering his final season in the Holden Cup, Dargan will be looking to elevate his game through greater consistency of play. Like Dane Aukafolau, I would not be shocked if he got a healthy run in the ISP. One of the key members of the squad without a doubt.

Dean Matterson (Half) – One of the quiet improvers in 2016, Dean Matterson really came on in both temperament and play-style last year. While the younger brother of ex-Eel Ryan Matterson doesn’t share the same freakish build of his big brother, he is still well built for a half and takes on the line well. Matterson played nicely off Dargan last year and gave him a reliable foil to work with. Look for their partnership to flourish in 2017 with Matterson perhaps taking on a greater responsibility.

Michael Doolan (Half/Fullback) – Doolan had his position in the halves usurped by Matterson in 2016 and faces an uphill battle to wrest it back into his grasp this year. There is little denying his talent, backed by an ideal frame to excel and even dominate games with, but Doolan has failed to establish himself as a consistent force in the Holden Cup to date. Talent obviously isn’t a question with Doolan but does he have the drive to force his way back in?

Denzal Tonise (Hooker/Lock) – One of the returning mainstays for the Eels, Denzal Tonise is a fascinating extension of the hybrid hooker/lock position we have seen in the NRL in recent times. Tonise is a high motor player with the ability to lay the wood in defence while providing clean service from dummy half. Perhaps one criticism of his play at hooker is a lack of a running game but given how heavily the team has leaned on him in that hybrid role it can be excused. A senior player and one of the true leaders of the team, expect a big campaign from Tonise in 2017.

Reed Mahoney (Hooker) – Mahoney joined the Eels as a mid-season acquisition in 2016. If Tonise is the hammer that bludgeons the opposition, Reed is the dagger from the bench – cutting our opponents up with incisive darts around the ruck. Look for Mahoney’s role to expand this year, which is to be expected given his lack of a pre-season with the team last year.

Clicky

Forty20

Forwards

Steve Dresler (Prop) - Dresler was a blockbusting tour de force in the 2016 SG Ball. His ability to offload and the threat he presented in the red zone made him a nightmare matchup in the ruck for every team the Eels played. His late-season transition to the Holden Cup wasn’t seamless though and he ended up playing a handful of games from the bench where he didn’t quite have the same impact. Props are one of the biggest beneficiaries between seasons in the Holden Cup and I am of the thinking that Dresler will be hungry to hit the ground running in Round 1.

Frank Salu (Prop)
– Salu is one of the real project players in our system. He earned a call up to the Holden Cup team in 2016 during the latter parts of the season but if he has pieced it all together in the pre-season, 2017 could be a legitimate break out year for him. Salu possesses the prototypical size of a modern prop and is powerful even for his robust frame.

Filia Utoikamanu (EDGE) – The first of our SG Ball eligible forwards, Filia Utoikamanu is a veritable powerhouse on the edge. The young backrower is a hardnosed line-runner that often requires a committee of tacklers to bring him down. Never one to shirk his workload in defence, the eldest Utoikamanu (with younger brothers Stefano and Nuku [sp] also in our system) brings immense physicality to every facet of his game. You needn’t worry about Filia falling behind in the new era of limited interchanges either, this young bull can play all day.

Salesi Faingaa (EDGE) – Salesi Faingaa, pencil the name down folks…he is one worth keeping an eye on. Faingaa was a scratch for the entire 2016 SG Ball campaign with a long-term shoulder injury but he seems hell-bent on making up for lost time in 2017. He has returned from the setback in career best shape and will be looking to terrorise opposition edge defenders. A natural-born wrecking ball in attack, the biggest question mark will be if he can hold his own in defence on the edges. If he proves to be competent in that regard we might just be sitting on a good’un.

Sean Keppie (Lock/Prop) – A tireless presence around the ruck with the ability to push up into the engine room, Keppie possesses both the size and character to feature prominently in the middle for the Eels. 2016 was a breakthrough year for Keppie as he filled out his frame and subsequently elevated his game (MC4020 over here spitting fire), capping off his year with selection in the Australian Schoolboys team. Keppie now has a great chance to continuing building from 2016 by becoming a core player for the Eels this year.

Beni Valu (Lock/Prop/EDGE) – Valu was a standout performer for the SG Ball squad last year, utilising terrific footwork and strength through contact to plunder teams through the ruck. I feel that Valu’s best position may be lock but he possesses the build and athleticism to play right through the pack in a pinch. A starting calibre player but given his versatility, Valu could be genuine weapon from the bench for the Eels.

Jye Challenor (Prop) – Like Mahoney, Challenor was a mid-season acquisition for the Blue & Gold in 2016. Challenor only played 8 games for the Eels and will obviously be looking to add to that in 2017. A no-nonsense bookend that plays a tough North/South game, Challenor will be a solid presence in the ruck for the Eels.

Oregon Kaufusi (Prop) – The seventh and final SG Ball eligible player in this preview. Wowza. Kaufusi was a revelation for the Eels in the SG Ball and he stands a very good chance of making a noticeable impact in the Holden Cup this year. The young tearaway runs with intent and is relentless on both sides of the ball.

Michael Tupou (Lock) – Tupou is disturbingly light on his feet for a man of his size and build. He is a constant threat around the ruck as a result, picking off retreating defenders and slipping through arm-tackles with ease. Tupou is a genuine point-of-difference forward and a natural fit for the bench.

Tangi Hokai (EDGE/Lock/Utility) – To finish up this preview we have one of the most interesting forwards in our young stable in Tangi Hokai. Hokai is not too dissimilar from the likes of Filia Utoikamanu and Salesi Faingaa in his single-minded philosophy of running into the defensive line as hard as he possibly can, as often as he can. What sets Hokai apart is his ability to cover some surprising positions, including hooker in a pinch. The Eels have often favoured two genuine hookers in the Holden Cup but the versatile backrower might be able to mount a convincing case to claim the utility spot for his own.

That will do us for today and likely until we have an official squad list for the Holden Cup, at which point I will revisit the 20s and begin to piece together a team in another post. There is a Holden Cup trial next weekend but unfortunately it clashes with the Auckland Nines and the subsequent coverage that TCT will running over said weekend. From there on though, it is non-stop junior footy action with the District Representatives kicking off and the final trials of the Holden Cup taking us home to their Round 1 kickoff.

Clicky

Hey forty already read, was brilliant.
For the dummies, like me. Who do you pick as first graders. My guess from reading is that centre and dressler

History tells us that even if you pick the top ten from each age group, half of them won't ever make their NRL debuts. Of the other half only one or two (from each age) will go on to become legit first graders.

Just going on their achievements to date I would only put money on Afualo and Dressler playing more than 20 NRL games in their careers. Though statistically there will be a couple more out of the rest of the bunch. The dudes who watch them play will obviously have a better idea, which is probably why you asked them and not me.

Forty20

Hey forty already read, was brilliant.
For the dummies, like me. Who do you pick as first graders. My guess from reading is that centre and dressler

Tui Afualo, Dane Aukafolau, Ethan Parry all could be potential NRL players in the backline. Auafolau and Parry have the prototypical size of a modern outside back while Afualo is a player that just jumps out in his ability to impact games.

Troy Dargan is the best chance in the halves to kick on. Has all the tools but he needs to find consistency and tune his defence up.

The forwards are tricky as there are a stack of young players there so we are yet to see their physical ceilings and how they handle the grind of a longer season. You and Pou both already picked out Dresler but the other ones I am looking at are Salesi Faingaa and then the real young guys in Filia Utoikamanu and Oregon Kaufusi.

As Pou pointed out, in any given junior class only a handful of players end up as career first-graders. We have made massive steps forwards in our junior identification, retention and recruitment so maybe we can tweak the odds our way a little bit but scouting is a damn tough business.

Well I enjoy reading about our juniors coming thru and seeing which ones develop. Of course it is hard to pick. I feel like we haven't produced much quality since Hayne. Bevan - Tepai could be the start of some better juniors.
How do you see Twal and Morris as far as the future goes? I was impressed by Twals big engine and thought if he adds 5-6kgs he will be very good. I only saw Morris 1-2 games and he did not stand out for me.
Fuimanno always looked good times I saw. Fingers crossed thou on Morris and Twal.

History tells us that even if you pick the top ten from each age group, half of them won't ever make their NRL debuts. Of the other half only one or two (from each age) will go on to become legit first graders.

Just going on their achievements to date I would only put money on Afualo and Dressler playing more than 20 NRL games in their careers. Though statistically there will be a couple more out of the rest of the bunch. The dudes who watch them play will obviously have a better idea, which is probably why you asked them and not me.

You have guys like Alvaro who I had not heard of thru the juniors system - Was he ever rated highly?

Even the great Guss gould and Ivan Cleary told Matt Moylan to look elsewhere. A few injuries and he got a chance. And he took it.
Not sure how true this is but I had heard Ronnie Palmer was the guy who said give me an off season with him and ill turn him into a first grader or have his body ready to play first grade. Club was going to cut him.

Obscene Assassin

Who Do you guys think will progress to the 20s system after SG Ball finishes in may.?

Not sure if we'll have any of the SG ball squad playing in the NYC as we have quite a large squad but there's a couple that will be playing for the Owls in the Sydney Shield maybe even RMC in the case of Cronin, Seve and the other players turning 18 this year.

Well I enjoy reading about our juniors coming thru and seeing which ones develop. Of course it is hard to pick. I feel like we haven't produced much quality since Hayne. Bevan - Tepai could be the start of some better juniors.
I should point out I doubted Hayne and French would be as good as the have become, after others raved about their performances in the lower grades. In hindsight I should've known Hayne would be great - he was dominating reserve grade at 17. I'm still surprised at how well French went last year and expect massive second season syndrome this year (hope I'm wrong). I knew Moeroa would be a first grader after seeing him play one game in under 20s.

How do you see Twal and Morris as far as the future goes? I was impressed by Twals big engine and thought if he adds 5-6kgs he will be very good. I only saw Morris 1-2 games and he did not stand out for me.
Fuimanno always looked good times I saw. Fingers crossed thou on Morris and Twal.
I reckon Twal will become a first grader but no rep player. I doubt Morris will ever become a first grader but he might play a couple of games over the next two years.

Ok so the club saw something in him?
The club saw something in him and before that the Broncos did too - they poached him from Mittagong. The player is on record as saying he was homesick for NSW. Possibly just to cover getting the arse from Brisbane but don't forget he has gone on to play 22 NRL games, so he's doing far better than most kids from the NYC.
Where do you see Alvaro as far as future goes? I love his attitude but feel he lacks punch.
Not every middle forward needs 'punch' (and don't forget he's scored a couple of excellent solo tries). Most middle forwards are just there for their defence (specifically their workrate).

How do you reckon a team would go with Vave, Matagi and say, Kasiano, Junior Paulo and Shannon Boyd as their middle forwards? I reckon they would be a good chance of running last over 24 games. These guys all rely on much harder working forwards to carry them in defence.

T-Boon

We have made massive steps forwards in our junior identification, retention and recruitment so maybe we can tweak the odds our way a little bit but scouting is a damn tough business.

For some reason our district just does not produce juniors that go on to become good first graders anymore. Thankfully we have recognised that and are back to trying to bring in talent like Ethan Parry from the country. Is that a thing of the past though? I thought the NRL brought in a rule that you cannot contract kids under 18.

I should point out I doubted Hayne and French would be as good as the have become, after others raved about their performances in the lower grades. In hindsight I should've known Hayne would be great - he was dominating reserve grade at 17. I'm still surprised at how well French went last year and expect massive second season syndrome this year (hope I'm wrong). I knew Moeroa would be a first grader after seeing him play one game in under 20s.

I reckon Twal will become a first grader but no rep player. I doubt Morris will ever become a first grader but he might play a couple of games over the next two years.

Im not sure French did anything that involved luck to think he would suffer from second year syndrome. Just fast and great awareness. I recall Barbas magic debut season and balls just bounced his way. I felt French created his own luck thou.
I was always saying mortimer was just lucky.And turned out true.

Tbh i never followed or heard of Hayne till 18 and debut.

Twal i cant tell. Big engine and has size so do not see any reason why he cant become very good if adds some weight and muscle . Morris only seen once and looked nothing special but not seen enough to judge. Could become a Josh Jackson style.

Tepai i thought same thing Pou. I was watching him with a mate and we went to see Pauli. My mate said Pauli is lazy, done nothing this other second rower looks miles better.
But in 10 mins Pauli destroyed the team laying on 3 tries.

Im not sure French did anything that involved luck to think he would suffer from second year syndrome.
What does luck (or the loss theerof) have to do with second season syndrome? It happens due to increased expectation and defensive scrutiny, not because they were lucky in their rookie year.

Just fast and great awareness. I recall Barbas magic debut season and balls just bounced his way. I felt French created his own luck thou.
I was always saying mortimer was just lucky.And turned out true.
I don't think Mortimer or Barba were lucky. If Mortimer was lucky it's because he played in the perfect system for his talents (hard work and anticipation make him an excellent support player).

Tbh i never followed or heard of Hayne till 18 and debut.

Twal i cant tell. Big engine and has size so do not see any reason why he cant become very good if adds some weight and muscle . Morris only seen once and looked nothing special but not seen enough to judge. Could become a Josh Jackson style.

Tepai i thought same thing Pou. I was watching him with a mate and we went to see Pauli. My mate said Pauli is lazy, done nothing this other second rower looks miles better.
But in 10 mins Pauli destroyed the team laying on 3 tries.
Guys like Pauli look great against shitty defences, and his own weaknesses in defence aren't properly exposed until first grade. That's why so many NYC stars fail to become first graders.