Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Parramatta Eels preparing $2.1 million raid for Penrith Panthers forward Luke Lewis

Tony Bongo

Ray Price was just interviewed on the Triple M Grill Team. He said he'd only like to see Parra sign Lewis if he retired from rep footy. Went on to say that Lewis plays well in Origin but wasnt producing for Penrith. WTF! Great thing to say now that you have a gig at the club and we are trying everything to sign the bloke...

:-$

Poore was decidely average before he hurt is knee, and it's been all downhill from there. The fat sook never wanted to leave the Gong, very similar to Dykes.

Frailty

So Parramatta are prepared to spend 1.2 Million per year on two players - and that doesn't even include Hayne?

No wonder Parramatta has fallen by the wayside.

Cronulla has done the same thing previously... Paying outrageous amounts of money for players, but it doesn't bring success...

Ray Price was just interviewed on the Triple M Grill Team. He said he'd only like to see Parra sign Lewis if he retired from rep footy. Went on to say that Lewis plays well in Origin but wasnt producing for Penrith. WTF! Great thing to say now that you have a gig at the club and we are trying everything to sign the bloke...

We shouldn't be "trying everything to sign the bloke". We should offer what we think is fair and we should be up front about our expectations.

Luke Lewis is just one player, and his current club are coming second last with him in the roster. Clearly they expect to do better without him.

You people need to get it out of your heads that a massive signing (or a massive sacking) will turn our club around. What lifts us will be a whole of team effort.

SDM

So Parramatta are prepared to spend 1.2 Million per year on two players - and that doesn't even include Hayne?

Cronulla has done the same thing previously... Paying outrageous amounts of money for players, but it doesn't bring success...

Oxymoron alert.

To me this article confirms we are no chance of signing Lewis. I though SK and Nolan did everything in secret?

This is all about the Board trying to look good.

100%

Kearney and Nolan have lost the board. Hopefully the fans get rid of them anyway.

If they can't stick to their guns they don't deserve re-election.

#ShitLeadership

natheel

Mate have you thought of who is coming in 2014? Will hoppa. Who is a fullback/centre. On good money. Is it a coincidence we get him when hayne goes off contract? Honestly I'm not sure if Haynes heart is all there. Yes he's a great player but we will get by if he leaves. He's apparently already in contract extension talks but I wouldn't be surprised if he left

The depressing part of this is despite the fact that we are offering Lewis ridiculous money he more than likely won't come to Parra. A once great club has become the joke of the competition.

Because we weren't a joke in '98, '99, '01 and '05?

When were we great exactly? 2006, 2007 and half of 2009?

Agent Mulder

Geez this is depressing, Its like the bad old days in the '90's when we couldn't even sign players like Nigel Roy.

Mate have you thought of who is coming in 2014? Will hoppa. Who is a fullback/centre. On good money. Is it a coincidence we get him when hayne goes off contract? Honestly I'm not sure if Haynes heart is all there. Yes he's a great player but we will get by if he leaves. He's apparently already in contract extension talks but I wouldn't be surprised if he left

This.

Manly and St George won the last two premierships without a player as good (or expensive) as Jarryd Hayne.

There's more to winning comps than just having the best player.

Geez this is depressing, Its like the bad old days in the '90's when we couldn't even sign players like Nigel Roy.

Are you kidding? There's a salary cap now. We have signed three players from a club that is in line to defend their premiership.

Hopoate, Tonga, Sandow - all big name, quality players. We've got the stars. Now we just need to fill out the squad around them.

Delboy

Got to love the press saying , Eels are down the bottom, why would anyone sign for them , they need to pay up for players. When Many started that about 6 years ago, Bulldogs about 4 yrs ago and Souths perennially, it was seen as a good move to become competitive and no criticism

The media is such a b*#ch and lovefest for the Dogs