Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Parramatta NRL club sack Daniel Anderson as coach at emergency board meeting

Do you support the Board's decision to sack Daniel Anderson?

• Yes

Votes: 30 19.7%
  • No

Votes: 101 66.4%
  • Impartial

Votes: 21 13.8%

TBH I think Daniel Andersons fatal flaws were re-signing Robson over Tim Smith and re-signing Matt Keating too early which cost us any chance of retaining Kingston. We would have had a controlling halfback and a good dummy half this season and I'm convinced we would have finished in the top 8. I also think letting go of Mateo will be a decision the Eels will regret next year (even though alot of fans insist he is lazy which is very exaggerated anyway).

It was Hagan who let Tim Smith go at the start of '08. And Matt Keating was re-signed early in 2009 prior to Kingston (A Hagan signing by the way) even playing a first grade game for Parramatta. So your line of thinking there makes absolutely no sense at all.

FFS we punted a coach who got us to TWELFTH!!!!
TWELFTH!!!!!!!

Yes, to the GF last year - after we had to win every game since Mid july. So in 2 years we had 3 good months.

The 3P were voted in because we have been underachieving since 1986. They were voted in to make tough decisions that Fitzy was to stupid to do.

I'm not necessarily excited about Kearney. But I know another season under Anderson and the following happens:

• Hindy loses any chance of winning a premiership
  • Jarryd Hayne never gets the tuition he needs to finally nail everything about being a fullback (or a pivot)
  • Morts golden future will become a myth.
  • Horo, Mannah et al will see they big pay days elsewhere.
I am sick of Parra coming 12th and being labeled as the chronic underachievers that they have almost every years since 1986!!!!!!!!!

And if you lot vote Fitzy back in in April you deserve the mediocrity that you so crave with Anderson.

ParraAds

Ashamed of what? It's not like our team cheated the cap!! Or committed a crime.

Fair dinkum it happens all the time in every code.

If this was a standalone incident I’m sure it wouldn’t have generated such a response from the fans. The fact is that this is the final straw for a lot of people on here, this new board is sneaky, agenda driven, egotistical and completely out of touch with the people. Unless you are one of them of course. People are fed up, I hope the 'jobs for the boys' brigade enjoy their last few months in power.
Good Riddance.

Not happy with the way this whole situation has been handled
But very disappointed in Anderson's coaching this year. You could barely tell this team had a coach, with lack of structure and game plans, and seeming lack of passion and motivation ... and it shows in the evaluation reports brought forth.

He had one poor season and got our team to a grand final in the other.

Correction, he had 1 and a half poor seasons, and his arse was saved by a freakish turnaround in form by Hayne for the other half. Even Anderson himself was quoted as saying last year he couldn't put his finger on why there was a change in the teams form.
Yes, he himself said that. As did Hindmarsh as well.

I think he did alot of good things at the club and I will never forget that magical run we had to the grand final while he was in charge.

A lot of good things????? TBH, the only really good thing I see during his tenure was his toughening up and punting Finch.

Casper The Ghost

Ding Dong The Witch Is Back............. Alive and now fully entrenched.

In the sacking of Daniel Anderson, what a disgrace you all are 3P.

shiznit

every coach wraps there assistant.

Dont believe the hype about DA being a bad man manager

HOw long has it taken the warriors to recover. How did his former team do. 5 grand finals with 3 teams in 9 years of coaching. The guy really cant coach

dont make me laugh. This is agenda driven & was started from last year when rumours of kearney & osbourne were starting.

He has never been given a fair go
bullsh*t mate... there were massive question marks over his man-management skills...

The Warriors randomly release on of the best players in the NRL Ali Lauititi mid-contract??

Then theres the fact that Stacey Jones randomly retired from International RL while Ando was in charge... only to magically come out of retirement when Bluey took over from Ando.

then theres his infamous halftime 'talk' in the 02 GF....

but like i said... he came back from England a more experienced coach.

and stop talking bullsh*t about his record... of those 5 GF's 2 of them are legit... the other 3 were with a St Helens team already made and running rampant in the EPL... infact... ever since Ando took over St Helens they slowly started to slide downward.

Hellsy

the other two members of the review were Ossie and the new board member Paul Duncan. None of them 3P candidates from the election. Duncan seems a strong enough character IMO. Some of the snippets about what the review is supposed to have found that have been in the press havent painted Ando in a good light IMO

Yeah I was going to point that out too but I thought people would say that Ozzie was hired by them and Duncan was appointed by them so they must all be in cahoots :lol:

lucablight

It was Hagan who let Tim Smith go at the start of '08. And Matt Keating was re-signed early in 2009 prior to Kingston (A Hagan signing by the way) even playing a first grade game for Parramatta. So your line of thinking there makes absolutely no sense at all.

I know Hagan let go of Tim Smith because he requested it. However when Smith wanted to come back Osborne said in a media release that Mortimer was a better option and the Eels weren't interested in him

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...ome-says-osborne/story-e6frexnr-1225754697501

Also Matt Keating's re-signing was announced in April.
http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2009/04/17/2546119.htm
Daniel Anderson would have been the coach at the time. I realise Kingston hadn't played first grade at the time and hindsight is 20/20 but I'm sure a different decision would have been made if it was between the two later in the season.

Well said.

He had to go. Kearney already has the job so the board is not amatuer.

The think that nailed it for me is Anderson leaking the story to Hadley. Proves there was no loyalty from him to start with. F*ck him. He was a failure with a lucky golden run that showcased where our club would be. We have the best attacking forward and best attacking back in the comp. We also have the best defender in the comp. And we ran 12th.

Thanks Ando. Nathan Brown went with far more dignity. F*ck off and lets actually become the top 4 club we are supposed to be and actually win the f*cking thing!

FFS, you are starting to sound like a broken record.

Where does the sh*t end now. If the new coach fails is he punted after a year or 2???????

My son's local footy club is run better than this disgrace of a club.

3P piss poor performance.

so does that mean you're not a member?...

mate, i'll probably go to te leagues club for lunch tomorrow if I see you on your Pat Malone with your placade i'll make sure I'll pop down and say hi..

ParraAds

Yeah I was going to point that out too but I thought people would say that Ozzie was hired by them and Duncan was appointed by them so they must all be in cahoots :lol:

The simplest explanation is often the right one.

Lol at the bunch of pretentious wankers judging anyone for voicing their ire at this decision with their feet...I don't think anyone, bar maybe pete, as suggested they will stop supporting the FOOTBALL SIDE. Just the inmates who are currently running the asylum. I for one will still support the boys who pull on the jersey and actually give a sh*t about this club...but I won't be paying a single cent to do it that might make it's way to supporting these morons.

Forty20

Government was disolved by the GG and a new election was held.
Gough LOST.
Sorry.

Don't need to champ and yes he did lose. The GG had to call an election after he sacked the Gov and Gough lost it with Fraser being voted in and that was the end of Gough. Oh, and the GG stayed on, Fraser didn't remove him.

I only use champ with friendly connotations, so sorry if I sounded snippy but I do stand corrected.

*EDIT* Also just to be a prick (in good nature I promise, I don't like cyber-fighting,especially when proven wrong) calling a double-dissolution is tantamount to getting the flick but unfortunately in Anderson's case he doesn't have the luxury of another chance via an election

Still as a rough analogy it is vaguely correct as Whitlam got f**ked over by the authority that stood over him (the merits of Kerr's decision are questionable). Also as an asides, why would Fraser move to sack the man who helped him? Kerr eventually stood down due to the public backlash of his actions, which may very well yet form a parallel to our current situation.