Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Parramatta Stadium Rebuild and other stuff

Is the main line between Westmead and Parra still at walking pace? It's been a while but I always remember that being as slow as a Sivo play the ball.

Depends what train you get but it wouldn't matter tbh. Any train at any time can just turn to a snails pace.
The trains are nice, quiet and comfortable and well air-conditioned. However, the system is a shambles and an embarrassment for a proper world city.
That's why the metro is a game changer. We are finally catching up to proper world city transport systems like Paris and London and Moscow, as well as Tokyo, Singapore, Berlin, Munich, Stockholm, Hong Kong and so on.
The more lines we can convert to automated driverless metro, the better.

horrie hastings

Half the shit Bakers delight dish out is garbage.

I have never been a fan of them.

The Classic bakery at Winston hills you could get 2 long fresh bread rolls for a total of $1.40 so 70c a roll.

Throw in some treat for morning tea if you want and you are paying around $4.90 for 2 bread rolls & lamington/donut/vanilla slice whatever you want.

A couple of decent sized sausage rolls for $6/7 so $3/$3.50 each and they werent small they were a large size.

You go to coles and woolies you have get 6 bread rolls in a pack at a time your paying shitload more and you having stale bread rolls 2 days later because you have to finish off the bag. Half the time there not even ready at 7am when they open anyway.

The bakery has there bread & that ready to go at 7am whenever i walked in when its opened up.

Your not wrong about a lot of the stuff at Bakers Delight being garbage, there is one next door to where i work at Marrickville Metro and when it was working through the tougher stages of Covid they were churning out what they would usually do pre pandemic but seeing the charities couldn't pick up the excess food at the time there were 8 to 14 garbage bags of bread and bread rolls just being thrown out each night, i thought to myself why don't they just produce less and if they sell out well bad luck, so much better than absolute wastage, not that i went there very much before but i boycotted it from that point after seeing all the wastage.
Funny the one in the centre is closed for renovations for a couple of weeks and one of my customers were upset thinking it was closed for good and i just said unfortunately not.
I call it Wasters Delight now.

T.S Quint

I went to Penrith Stadium for our finals game in 2022.
It was one of the worst experiences getting into a stadium I've ever had. Massive lines to enter the gate, then having to shove past a massive crowd (who were either lining up for drinks/food or just standing around for no reason) to get to our seats which were on the other side of the stadium.

They definitely needed some sort of upgrade, even if they weren't getting a whole new stadium. Better facilities, more entrance/exit points and a shittier football team are what Penrith really needs.

King-Gutho94

Better then what they currently have.

I like @T.S Quint went to the 2022 semi final at Penrith. Only time I have been to the ground.

It's a fair dinkum joke trying to get in and out of the joint. One exit through a tiny little entrance and exit area.

We got there 45 mins before the game started and missed the first 10 mins lining up for a drink for nearly an hour.

TheRam

What a pathetic looking stadium after $309m upgrade. A real wast of money. Just so underwhelming and a real wasted opportunity to have had it moved to the better location and much closer to the train line which would have made a world of difference. Which in my opinion is even more important then the quality of the stadium.

Location, location, location.

Doesn't look much different to the old/current one... what's the point?
So they can't have a better stadium than us !

giphy.gif

JokerEel

Governments are so f**king dumb....

300 million to upgrade from shit to shit but it will blow out to 400million when a new stadium could have been built for what 500-600 million...

Better then what they currently have.

I like @T.S Quint went to the 2022 semi final at Penrith. Only time I have been to the ground.

It's a fair dinkum joke trying to get in and out of the joint. One exit through a tiny little entrance and exit area.

We got there 45 mins before the game started and missed the first 10 mins lining up for a drink for nearly an hour.
A new 3 bedder is always going to be better than an old 3 bedder, but at the end of the day it's still a 3 bedder and it will cost $300+m.

1706133472002.png1706133481113.png

Are we living in an episode of Utopia right now ?

1706133722821.png

King-Gutho94

A new 3 bedder is always going to be better than an old 3 bedder, but at the end of the day it's still a 3 bedder and it will cost $300+m.

View attachment 83628View attachment 83629

Are we living in an episode of Utopia right now ?

View attachment 83630
I dont agree with the move.

I am just saying the design is better then what they have.

I think the whole penrith stadium debacle has been a joke to start with when that wanker Stuart Ayres got it across the line in his own seat.

What other tenants are going to be using the ground.

There is no A-League team there.

Are yawnion going to have the waratahs play some games out there.

Otherwise what else is it used for other then 11 Penrith home games a year.

JokerEel

I think the whole penrith stadium debacle has been a joke to start with when that wanker Stuart Ayres got it across the line in his own seat.

Honestly if they had a stadium like we do they would be able to attract a lot more sporting games as well as concerts out there.

NRWL team
Union matches
Soccer A/W league games

Cleary could get his Girlfriend to bring soccer games out there!

Yeah interesting points for you and Jokereel.

I remember the debacle when he was throwing ideas around and had the quote "Make Penrith Great again, or make western Sydney great again" something along those lines and supposedly there was a 20,000 stadium, similar design to the new soccer ground in Victoria, get rid of the trotting track, build apartments, shopping centre, a sports centre which included AFL, cricket and union, I mean the whole thing looked like a mess.

As for games apart from the Panthers, who knows. Ive only noticed the last few years other tennants have been using the current ground. They did play a Matildas game there not too long ago and got a full crowd, perhaps like Jokereel said, Fowler could convince them to take games there. Not sure if the Wanderers or any A League team will play there, could play their "magic round" there or whatever its called lol. Maybe the Waratahs would take a game there but I'm sure they would prefer Commbank if they take games to the west.

Thank you Mr Walker.
We will remember your legacy and what you did for Parramatta.
So happy you were able to see your vision for Parramatta Square come to fruition.
May you Rest in Peace.

Vale Lang Walker.

Sydney property billionaire Lang Walker dies

By Matt O'Sullivan

Updated January 28, 2024 — 11.16amfirst published at 11.02am

Sydney billionaire and philanthropist Lang Walker, who built a property empire across Australia, has died, aged 78.

His property developments ranged from high-rise office buildings in Sydney, Melbourne and Adelaide to suburban housing estates including in Sydney’s outer west.

A spokesman for Walker Corporation confirmed the businessman had died, and both his family and company would be releasing statements later on Sunday.

Walker, AO, was ranked 16th on the Australian Financial Review’s rich list last year with an estimated wealth of $5.81 billion.

He was renowned for taking big calls on the direction of the property market and backing his judgment, a strategy that helped cement his business and wealth.

His company Walker Corporation developed the $3.2 billion Parramatta Square precinct, and has also been behind major developments at Western Sydney University’s new $340 million Bankstown campus, Melbourne’s Collins Square and the $2.5 billion Maroochydore City Centre on the Sunshine Coast.

Walker and his father Alec founded A&L Walker in 1964, specialising in earthmoving, excavation and quarrying.

They later moved into residential property and their fast-growing company was renamed Walker Corporation in 1973, branching into the development of apartments, industrial parks and commercial centres in Sydney.

More to come.

https://www.smh.com.au/national/nsw...ionaire-lang-walker-dies-20240128-p5f0jc.html

1706410299560.png