Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Parramatta take battle for the west all the way to Bollywood

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...t-all-the-way-to-bollywood-20100222-orsk.html

Parramatta take battle for the west all the way to Bollywood
February 23, 2010

Trailblazing club have opened up a new front in the struggle for memberships, writes Glenn Jackson.

Paul Osborne is staring out of a 24th floor hotel room overlooking Mumbai Harbour when an eagle flies past his window. This is not where he expected Parramatta's membership drive to reach. ''This is surreal,'' Osborne concedes.

He is in India spruiking membership of his club. As you do. You read right - he has spent the past few days in Hyderabad and Mumbai attempting to convince a Bollywood star to spruik rugby league to potential Parramatta fans. Which means that after signing Jarryd Hayne, Osborne's next signature has been Nandamuri Balakrishna, the new face of rugby league in the west. Way west. In India.

The plan has worked. In the next few months, Balakrishna will travel to Sydney to sell the sport of rugby league to thousands of people of Indian heritage living in the Parramatta district. The idea occurred to him after witnessing thousands converge on Parramatta Park for a concert last month. Data showed many of them lived around Harris Park, Guildford and Parramatta, which makes them all potential members.

''The last thing I wanted to do was fly halfway around the world for three days, but this is a great opportunity for us,'' Osborne says. ''It was a big decision to make. I missed the trial against Penrith. But long-term, this is just going to be enormous for us.''

And others. Closer to home yesterday was South Sydney chief executive Shane Richardson, but spreading the same message. Richardson was at the Murwillumbah races, where he came across a man who introduced himself not by his name, but by his member number - 9508.

Membership was important to this man, and it is equally so for Richardson. He does not respond to emails, phone calls or even fans on the street unless they can quote their member number.

''If you're not a member, I don't want to talk to you,'' he says.

What's all this about? Where did this membership craze come from? And how has it left one chief executive responding to emails from a hotel in Mumbai and another refusing to do so in Sydney? It is, according to both, the new lifeblood of Sydney clubs.

''I think there'll come a time when we'll get nothing from poker machine revenue, but that doesn't frighten me,'' Osborne says. ''We've got to start relying on our membership. I think it will ultimately be what makes or breaks any club.''

For Richardson, membership has paid for much more than two coffees.

''It's absolutely crucial,'' Richardson says. ''The TV money's not going to change until 2013. It's tough in the marketplace corporately. Membership is the biggest growth area there is. We've gone from making $300,000 a year off membership to $2.5 million.''

All Sydney clubs are locked in a battle to reach 10,000 ticketed members first, with the prize being a $50,000 advertising package. Souths lead the way, with St George Illawarra snapping at their heels and the Bulldogs creeping ever closer. It is serious business. Yesterday, the NRL told the clubs the numbers would be audited to ensure all memberships were genuine.

It is also a PR battle. Richardson boasts his club has members from ''garbos to Kerry Stokes''; Parramatta has sprinter John Steffensen, (bizarrely) Brad Fittler, Australian-born TV star Simon Baker (Bollywood to Hollywood), and through its new Indian connections, billionaire businessman Dr M.V. Ramana Rao (who set up the meeting with the Bollywood star and is attempting to garner support from cricketer V.V.S. Laxman).

Souths are the pioneers of the movement among the NRL clubs, beginning their push about four years ago, but the fact is this is an old story in most other sports.

Richardson has taken ideas from National Football League club Pittsburgh Steelers (specifically players hand-delivering membership packages) and the Green Bay Packers, the latter boasting a season-ticket waiting list with more than 81,000 names - which means a 30-year wait. ''Green Bay fans are no more passionate than sections of the Rabbitohs fan base,'' co-owner Peter Holmes a Court says.

The AFL has led the way in this country. Richardson visits Collingwood and Hawthorn biannually, and has taken ideas from both those clubs. He has also taken a membership manager from the Sydney Swans - Paul Grzanka, who was with the Swans for seven years, has a bird's-eye view of the membership-driven AFL.

''For the Rabbitohs to be sitting on 10,000 ticketed members - they haven't been successful over the past 25 years, they were kicked out of the comp … it's a credit to our supporters,'' he says. But this so-called race to 10,000 is possibly a misnomer, because that suggests the combatants will be stopping. ''We're a long way behind the AFL,'' Grzanka says. ''We're 25 years behind.''

He hopes for a day when all Sydney clubs boast memberships of between 40,000 and 50,000. ''People now get it, and that's a great thing,'' he says.

Those people include Bulldogs boss Todd Greenberg, who says the membership was run by the club's receptionist when he took over the club. Now there are four in the department.

''We had to culturally make some changes,'' Greenberg says. ''If you go to Melbourne, when you get off the plane the first question they ask you is, 'Who are you a member of?' In Sydney, it's more like, 'Who do you support?' They're similar but different. I think that's changing.''

This is why Richardson doesn't believe in this talk of war with the AFL. League can learn something.

''We've had the Swans in our backyard,'' Richardson says. ''Some people like Hungry Jack's and some people like McDonald's. But if Hungry Jack's is there it's going to attract people to McDonald's too.''

Maybe the real battle ground stretches further than Sydney's west. As far as India.

Ron Jeremy

maybe we should try and the target the Kumars at number 42? i reckon the grand mother is kinda sexy tbh..

grapeape

its great to try something new. sounds like this kid just got out of marketing 101 at TAFE and wants to take on the world.

i'll eat my own sh*t if i see more 10 indians at a game this year.

even asians are more likely to come.

No doubt an untapped market, but I have my doubts that the indian culture would embrace the sport. I hope it's not costing a heap to bring this pelican out.

Maybe they need to have a bollywood theme at the stadium one home game and get Nandamuri & Brett Lee to do a number at half time. Looking forward to some tandoori chicken in naan with a kingfisher beer.

It would seem that Nandamuri is their dancing version of Tom Seleck BWT.

3951208867_872c60968e_o.jpg
BrettLee_384x180_470488a.jpg

It's good to see the club is willing to try something, not just whinging about a
pokie tax.

Noa

No doubt an untapped market, but I have my doubts that the indian culture would embrace the sport. I hope it's not costing a heap to bring this pelican out.

Maybe they need to have a bollywood theme at the stadium one home game and get Nandamuri & Brett Lee to do a number at half time. Looking forward to some tandoori chicken in naan with a kingfisher beer.

It would seem that Nandamuri is their dancing version of Tom Seleck BWT.

3951208867_872c60968e_o.jpg
BrettLee_384x180_470488a.jpg

Youd be suprised how many Indians turn up to Storm games in Melbourne, decked out in gear too. I dont know why, maybe they see more people the same colour as them playing for the Storm and in the crowds and feel more comfortable, but theres plenty there.

TheRam

Top story, finally it seems that the focus of the club CEO's is where it should have been all along, on the team fans, NOT on the pokies. This new mind set by all the clubs will be seen as watershed moment for the clubs.

Converting tens of thousands of fans into bonafide new paying supporters will mean tens of millions of dollars down the track for all the clubs and ultimately for the game. There is no doubt really and I just don't get how there are people out there who still have doubts or can't see that.

Great to see that the bench mark is for 40-50000 members. It should be at least that. Go Mr Richardson you're right on the money champ, and Ozzie is doing beautifully also. The more he tries the more chance we have of success. Gotta keep on working it people. This sitting on our hands is the way of the Dodo bird, not of evolutionary survivors who become the apex species of their world.

Brad Fitler a member...fantastic, but you have to laugh...:lol:

Kinda reminds me of the Full Page ads our club put into the Local non-English speaking papers a few years ago.

Who was the CEO at the time? ? ? ? ?

Get them interested in the game first and then the club, and them make them members.

You know what else I find hilarious, is the Memberships numbers last year. Yeah we had a tick under 4000, the Sea Eagles on the other hand, WON THE PREMIERSHIP the year before and have a tick over 3000, and this year are about 800 down, That is just outstanding.

Also when we the fans wrote the infamous report, we held up Wests Tigers as a pro-active and forward thinking membership team, that offered great benefits to their members and actively sort them. They had 4,000 members, and this year are about 500 down.

There is one article though that sticks with me, a few years ago when I was working on the Grave yard shift, I used to read the local rag to put me to sleep during the day. There was an Eels section in the Western Weekender, it had a column from Luke Burt, and all the results and photos and stats, It also had "Eels fan of the Week", the one that sticks in my mind the most was an Indian Bloke in an Eels jumper who had cared so much about the team he had his photo taken and sent into the paper.

There were a series of questions for the fan, and one of them was, How many games do you go to a year?

This Indian bloke's response, Simple "I watch them on TV when ever they are on Channel 9".

So the bloke doesn't have foxtel, and doesn't turn up at the games, yet he was the eels fan of the week, I thought that typical of Eels fans in particular. We are the ultimate in singing when we are winning.

Members 2008 after a GF Qualifer 2007 - 5450
Members 2009 after a sh*thouse 2008 - 3750.
Members 2010 after making a GF 2009 - 5950 and rising.

While it is all well and good to get them, if you consider the Magic Run we had last year, and it has inspired another 10% rise so 2008 members, but they all fall away if you don't win on the field. Most will tell you it is voting with their feet, but I still maintain voting with your feet, can do more in the long term to hurt your club then help it.

Kinda reminds me of the Full Page ads our club put into the Local non-English speaking papers a few years ago.

Who was the CEO at the time? ? ? ? ?

Get them interested in the game first and then the club, and them make them members.

Are you talking about that bloke that said we weren't going to be around in 5 years time??

The same, and it seems that quote will go down in infamy, but I am sure we will all have a huge party when we are competing in the 2014 premiership as Parramatta the stand alone entity, just to stick it to Fitzy.

Still, that same bloke was doing a similar thing to Ossie, just not to Ossie's extent (flying to India) and I remember the Mixed feelings over the Ads. Some calling them a waste of money.

Haynzy

There are mixed feelings over this too...from earlier in the thread.

As much as many, many people were disatisfied with Fitzy, i don't recall anyone saying he never did anything good...

The change has come, lets move on and discuss this CEO and his efforts, wins and losses.