Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Parramatta to NOT move Dragons blockbuster to Homebush

TBH Im starting to get the sh*ts with this pressure to shift every game to ANZ that looks like a full house at a suburban ground. The Traitorgraph alledge that 30k will miss out. Give us some proof you twats - have we sold 60k tickets yet?

I guess if the game was judged to attract 25k, it would be better to play it in a cavernous void? Or put the full house sign up, soak in the atmosphere at the best suburban ground in the world, and cop the Tele's whinge?

If anything, Ozzy jumped the gun. Yet to his credit he admitted his potential hypocrisy if they didn't move to ANZ. And still, even Gaba's deformed mind had a proviso that the weather had to be fine. And if it isn't?

I reckon our best days are when suburban grounds are packed. Saints did it against the Sharks about 10 months ago. Wests getting 17k to Leichhardt is always fantastic. And a packed Parra stadium will have 1000 times the atmosphere of ANZ. I still maintain that if both grounds were full - Parra has the better atmosphere.

Besides, lets shout the News Ltd's hypocrisy. They are the ones reducing crowds by scheduling games on Monday and Saturday night. Sunday arvo at the footy is a rare pleasure - and that needs to be increased way before some twat journo and his dog Gaba start telling clubs where to play.

This is great news!!

Parramatta are guaranteed to thrash the merged scum!

Half the tickets are already purchased to the game at Parra stadium by Parra members and the merged scum will be playing in a more hostile atmosphere.

Why has phil rothfield never demanded his sharks move a game to ANZ?
Do we really need to answer that? :lol:
TBH Im starting to get the sh*ts with this pressure to shift every game to ANZ that looks like a full house at a suburban ground. The Traitorgraph alledge that 30k will miss out. Give us some proof you twats - have we sold 60k tickets yet?

I guess if the game was judged to attract 25k, it would be better to play it in a cavernous void? Or put the full house sign up, soak in the atmosphere at the best suburban ground in the world, and cop the Tele's whinge?

If anything, Ozzy jumped the gun. Yet to his credit he admitted his potential hypocrisy if they didn't move to ANZ. And still, even Gaba's deformed mind had a proviso that the weather had to be fine. And if it isn't?

I reckon our best days are when suburban grounds are packed. Saints did it against the Sharks about 10 months ago. Wests getting 17k to Leichhardt is always fantastic. And a packed Parra stadium will have 1000 times the atmosphere of ANZ. I still maintain that if both grounds were full - Parra has the better atmosphere.

Besides, lets shout the News Ltd's hypocrisy. They are the ones reducing crowds by scheduling games on Monday and Saturday night. Sunday arvo at the footy is a rare pleasure - and that needs to be increased way before some twat journo and his dog Gaba start telling clubs where to play.
While agree with the point you're trying to make, I have to disagree that "a packed suburban ground has 1000 times the atmosphere of ANZ".

I've been to a gazillion games in my life and the most intense and charged atmosphere I've experienced was the 74k at ANZ in that semi last year. Nothing's come close IMO. And I was at the packed Kogarah match last year when Saints played Sharks and us. It was just missing that big-match occassion that ANZ sometimes can provide.

yadamisha

Why has phil rothfield never demanded his sharks move a game to ANZ?

Has happened in the past with the first Super League game. The crowd to that game was larger than Toyota (cap 22500) could hold so it was moved to SFS despite being against an out of town team.

Besides at Toyota your on top of the game because like Parra it is a rectangular ground with the sides close to the sideline thereby creating atmosphere unlike ANZ and some other local suburban grounds which aren't rectangles but ovals better suited for AFL and hence have poor viewing.

There are only a couple of suburban grounds (Toyota, Parra and Energy Aust) which are capable of holding over 22,000 people and all those grounds rarely get filled during the regular season to warrant any moving of games and thereby loosing home ground advantage. Finals is an exception when two Sydney teams are involved.

So why would you move a game from a good rectangular stadium like Toyota with over 22,000 capacity to ANZ which is crap for watching league and your miles from the game and miles from your core supporter base? ANZ is bit like the AFL shaped Kogarah really, sh*t to watch from which helps explain why it has trouble selling out 17000 during the season!

the thing that makes me laugh is that you lot have been so caught up in the media hype that you actually thought the match was moved, the facts remain that the Ossie showed a desire and investigated the move to the stadium, I can't see how he went off half cocked when it wasn't him that broke the news but the media themselves and when it did and the dust settled the decision was made within 48 hours and 2 days before tickets became available to the general public NOT to move the game...decision made! lets move on.

yada, I wouldn't class Toyota or Parra with EAS... Toyota and Parra's capacity tops out both around 21k from memory, EAS when complete early next year will be close to 30k. Completely different stadia.

yadamisha

yada, I wouldn't class Toyota or Parra with EAS... Toyota and Parra's capacity tops out both around 21k from memory, EAS when complete early next year will be close to 30k. Completely different stadia.

Probably right with EAS given its upgrades. Toyota's capacity was 22,500 (before southern stand built so might be more now), ground record 22,300ish against the merged steelers on Anzac day 99.

TBH Im starting to get the sh*ts with this pressure to shift every game to ANZ that looks like a full house at a suburban ground
Hear, hear.

And good to see that hardly anyone here is demanding that Parra shift their home game.

And Stagger... don't move on, stay angry. It improves oxygen consumption and is good for the blood flow.

St. Linnane

So the question is do Parra come out of this with good press or bad press; and if it is good press did Osborne know the likely outcome when he made the outlandish statements on Wednesday? Call me a cynic but....

started with somewhat good press, i think the tele will try and play Parra Stadium trust as the bad guys tomorrow though.

Hear, hear.

And good to see that hardly anyone here is demanding that Parra shift their home game.

And Stagger... don't move on, stay angry. It improves oxygen consumption and is good for the blood flow.

believe me Willow, personaly this decision thrills me to bits despite my personal connection with ANZ stadium, I can now go to the footy, and enjoy it! ;-)

IFR33K

so it was always about the money not the fans , unlike doust who thought about the fans and not the money when he stayed at koragh

I enjoyed a great f**king off season, on these forums. And then I read your sh*t.

Please tell me your new years resolution was/is to stop talking sh*t all the time. Please.

Springs

Alright this is an okay decision because I doubt the game would have got more than 30,000, but seriously how selfish can some people be if they would rather rob 30,000 people of the opportunity and the experience of watching the first game of the year between the Eels and Dragons? It would have a great atmosphere anywhere, don't be so selfish as to say 'you 30,000 people can't see this game because I want to 'soak up the atmosphere''.

Selfish fools.

Where does that 30,000 figure come from though Springs?

The 30,000 is a figure dreamed up by the Telegraph to get more click and sell more papers. The true reality is maybe 10-15k more... in which case it's probably not viable as the PS trust plan on whacking a hefty fine on the club for moving a game away from there.

Hindyscrack

Me and a bunch of mates had grand plans to head along to a big Sydney blockbuster, most of us as neutrals. We'll now be funding Sydney's evening entertainment industry instead.

I am in Aus from the UK for March... Had started investigating flights to Sydney for the game.

I'll still go if I can get tickets at short notice (due to needing to stay in Brisbane to sort out visas) but may not have the chance.

How can someone say that a move back to Parra Stadium is in the best interests of the 'fans' if many of them have to sit at home and watch it on the box?

Well done for investiagting the option, however I can see why the stadium trust would be unhappy and asking for compensation for a move at such short notice.

Springs

Timmah I wasn't saying that there wouls be 30,000 more. if you read the whole post you would see that I said that I thought there would be less than 30K at the ground. I was referring to fans on this site being perfectly willing to lock 30,000 fans out of the ground so the other 20,000 can have a slightly better experience, while the other 30,000 get no experience at all. Understand?

Being from the country and only being able to go to Yenda or Griffith to watch local sides play, you city boys should be happy with going to ANZ Stadium or Parramatta every week. When I go to an NRL game I'm just happy to be able to watch my favourite side play live, I don't care where it's at.

And with the atmosphere, I've been to Eels vs Tigers games at both Parramatta and SFS, Parramatta was sold out, SFS had 34,000 in a 45,000 capacity stadium. Even with the empty seats, guess which game had the better atmosphere?

Hindyscrack

so it was always about the money not the fans , unlike doust who thought about the fans and not the money when he stayed at koragh

how about both the fans and money go hand in hand... locked out fans, how is that good 'for the fans'

more money brought to the club only enhances the 'fans' experiences in the future.

more big crowds like this game potentially had the stronger the NRL becomes. all 16 clubs win!

Timmah I wasn't saying that there wouls be 30,000 more.
It would have a great atmosphere anywhere, don't be so selfish as to say 'you 30,000 people can't see this game because I want to 'soak up the atmosphere''.

Selfish fools.
Looks like you did to me. Yes, I know you mentioned your doubts about getting many more to the game - benefit of the doubt I guess
if you read the whole post you would see that I said that I thought there would be less than 30K at the ground. I was referring to fans on this site being perfectly willing to lock 30,000 fans out of the ground so the other 20,000 can have a slightly better experience, while the other 30,000 get no experience at all. Understand?
Well if there isn't an extra 30k wanting tickets, it isn't a f*cking issue is it!!!! FMD if that match attracted 60k anywhere it would be like winning lotto. The NRL would be more surprised than if Cronulla won the comp.
Being from the country and only being able to go to Yenda or Griffith to watch local sides play, you city boys should be happy with going to ANZ Stadium or Parramatta every week. When I go to an NRL game I'm just happy to be able to watch my favourite side play live, I don't care where it's at.

Here we go. The old 'I have to travel therefore you city folkes should be pleased with what you get' crap. One moron on here reckons 5 Sydney clubs should die because there is only 1 club withing driving distance from him - why should Sydney be differet? BTW he lives in Western Queensland - where you drive 2 hours to see your neighbour.

It's the old "Get Sydney syndrome". Funny that the same toerag of a paper wants the GF moved to a smaller ground so 30k can miss out ffs.